We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Onze Rust”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Onze Rust Guesthouse
Ranked #62 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Weekend at Onze Rust”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Literately booked last minute for 7 people. We spent most of Saturday in one of their boardrooms planning our whole year. Beautiful quiet setting, with vineyards view, around 10 kilometers outside Stellenbosch. Great value for money. We had a good experience at Onze Rust, and have already made plans to come back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvdMerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
36
4
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Friendly service, good breakfast, but average accommodation.
We stayed in their self catering unit. It was big with two large rooms. However, it needs a bit of TLC. The unit was dark and cold and it is very difficult to open curtains to let in some light. Not a romantic setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Zelamarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here whilst attending a conference at the Stellenbosch wine estate. I was in the room in the old Victorian part of the building at the edge surrounded by terrace and views out. Some nice antique and historic touches.

I did stay there in winter so at night the room was cold but they provided a heater which i put next to the bed and the room quickly warmed up. Being British a bit of cold doesn't bother me and the charm of the room definitely outweighed any desire to be in a warm airtight modern box!

Ester, who runs it was really helpful and it was easy for me to get hold of things like borrowing an iron, and getting a bacon sarnie to go due to early shuttle bus pick up and she also helped us (there were a number of delegates staying there) organise shuttles to and from the airport and for nights out in town.

There was hot water, a good strong shower. From what I recall the handsoap at the sink was missing, and the floor was glacial (a good wakeup!) but other than those minor things, a comfortable, value for money stay.

Room Tip: If you like history definitely ask for the one i was in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00Love2Travel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a very nice stay at the guesthouse. Its on a farm location, very close to cape town and the airport. In the heart of the wine lands and several activities to do in and around the area. would recommend this place to all who needs a short break of the hectic rat race life.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at Onze Rust Guesthouse for 1 Night. It is extremely relaxing, with lovely views. The room was very spacious. Includes coffee & tea making facilities and a small fridge.
It is close to Spier wine estate & several other wine farms.

Breakfast was good, includes continental & hot breakfast. Ester is very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RizzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

recently moved to stellenbosch and we stayed at onze rust for the first 2 weeks. ester's warmth and generosity was sincere and created the distinctiveness that onze rust represents. a truly special space for a one night or longer stay. 23 species of birdlife and squirrels abound in the spacious gardens and dam. the rooms - old world country charm with a feeling of space and comfort. the smallest details are exquisite. the verandah of the main guesthouse was my favourite aspect of onze rust - the peace and calm while overlooking the tranquil gardens was wonderfully restorative. onze rust, whether it be for a wedding, meeting, holiday etc - is ideal! we would recommend it to anyone coming to visit the cape winelands and needing that extra special place to stay. ester - a huge thank you for sharing onze rust!

Room Tip: all rooms are unique, and overlook the spacious gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Enjoyed the peaceful guest house. To get away from it all.... But still very close to Stellenbosch and Cape Town to go out/shop. Great service and very helpful hostess. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theana12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
2.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,824 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#6 of 112 in Stellenbosch
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Soverby Guest House
Soverby Guest House
#16 of 52 in Stellenbosch
50 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse
Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse
#75 of 112 in Stellenbosch
30 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jordan Luxury Suites
Jordan Luxury Suites
#16 of 112 in Stellenbosch
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onze Rust Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onze Rust Guesthouse

Property: Onze Rust Guesthouse
Address: Vlaeberg Rd | Between M12 polkadraai and Baden Powell R310, Vlottenburg, Stellenbosch 7603, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Onze Rust Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Onze Rust Guest House in the heart of the Stellenbsoch wine lands offers a unique nature setting. It is the perfect farm setting for you to relax and restore your inspiration. Gardens stretch over two hectares lawns, lots of trees, water and many birds. We are 25 minutes from Cape Town International Airport, a few minutes out of Stellenbosch town centre close to Spier Wine Estate. We can accommodate 24 people in 10 en-suite rooms, with extra-length beds and private entrances on to spacious verandas, free wi-fi and parking. There are 2 family units where kids can share and we offer information on the many things to do in Stellenbosch,and referrals to the good restaurants close by. Several rooms have King size extra length beds, we offer sufficient coffee and fresh milk in rooms, wide range of TV channels. Business travelers and Stellenbosch University visitors are close to the Cape Town international Airport. Our central location makes it suitable to visit Stellenbosch, Belville, Somerset West/Strand, and Saxonburg Business parks. For Capetonians attending day conferences on site, it is only 40km drive mostly against the morning peak hour traffic. We offer good food for functions, with flexible menus (e.g. "banting" functions with great feedback). For the romantics it is a perfect setting with honeymoon rooms, and weddings get nature photo opportunities. As a social enterprise we support community organizations with partial sposnsorships and vouchers for fundraising. Beauty, peace and comfort in the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Onze Rust Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing