We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent lunch, highly recommended”
Review of Tokara Restaurant

Tokara Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 250 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Leading contemporary South African restaurant located atop of the picturesque Helshoogte Pass outside Stellenbosch, included on the 2014 Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice SA Fine Dining Top 10 list.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
296 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“excellent lunch, highly recommended”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked a sunday lunch at Tokara. It was a great lunch. We first had a winetasting to select our wine for lunch and than sat on the balcony with a very nice view. Lunch was very good (we are used to european michelin standard) Verry daring combinations which worked out well. We both had 3 starters instead of a starter , main course and desert. It was a verry nice way to taste 6 different dishes. Dishes like baked Alaska with Rainbow trout, delicious, and more of these different combinations.
Will absolutely come back next time we are in the area. Tokara was this trip for a long time the best restaurant we 've been to. Only the last restaurant (the Greenhouse in Cape Town) we rated higher. Tokara is a great place to go

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    247
    87
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wine tasting ”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We went to the wi e tasting and it was not an enjoyable experience the wine was warm and small tastings... try to buy a bottle to drink there and told no.. outside the view just drive past x

Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful views & superb food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

An in demand restaurant situated in a lovely wine farm. We had drinks on the balcony overlooking the vines and a stunning panoramic view across to the Cape Flats, False Bay and Table Mt range.
We then had dinner inside but retaining the view whilst watching the sun set. Quite beautiful.
Our dinner comprised a very good steak and a tasty linefish. We were too full for dessert.

This restaurant is popular so advance booking is essential.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrispinN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spectacular in all ways”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Tokara is a spectacular wine farm with one of the best views and restaurants in Stellenbosch. Friendly and efficient staff provide superb service and the food is out of this world. You sit at half round tables drinking in the spectacular view along with the regions best wine

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maeson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Whenever we stay in Stellenbosch we always eat at Indochine at Delaire Graff estate but this time it was fully booked so we decided to book over across the street at the beautiful Tokara.

Customer service is definitely different, it felt like many of the wait staff where young students just working there part-time, who knew very little about the wines and in general did not care so much about the customer.

The food was ok, we did enjoy the steak we ordered but the starters were mediocre.

The view itself and wine was very good and worth the trip out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetset2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokara Restaurant also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Tokara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing