We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated dining in a state of the art winery”
Review of Tokara Restaurant

Tokara Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 250 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Leading contemporary South African restaurant located atop of the picturesque Helshoogte Pass outside Stellenbosch, included on the 2014 Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice SA Fine Dining Top 10 list.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sophisticated dining in a state of the art winery”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good and knowledgeable service (quite rare in the Cape!) An interesting menu with well-judged flavours and textures. I had a smoked trout baked Alaska which worked! The mushroom salad starter just missed approval by being a bit bland. Main courses were spot on. Nice, rare springbok with interesting fruity jus and my partner had an Asian take on kingklip coated in black and white sesame seeds with coconut rice balls and lime foam. It was all well presented and the wines were excellent. Tokara need to be commended for being forward thinking and offering a special place to visit, great art and lovely deli too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eatyourgreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    247
    87
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting for great food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

When visiting Cape Town, you have to allow for at least one day trip in the wine region. Franschhoeck is adorable and has great restaurants. All the wineries around have developed great restaurants as well, where they try to foster young talents in normally quite outstanding venues.
Tokara is one of these.
First of all, the winery is stunning. Very modern and high up on the hills with fantastic modern arts dispersed all around. There is a great bar/tasting area and a very nice dinning room. Tables of two are set right up to the window where you have the most beautiful view over the vines.
Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable about their wine (of course!) but wine in general. We tried both their white and red and both are very descent wines.
The menu is very much in keeping with the overall movement in cuisine nowadays. Lots of Asian influence, Japanese and Korean, with interesting mixes such as beef tartar and sashimi, etc
The plates are very well presented and tasty. We had wonderful springbok, very well cooked. The desert was a bit more style than substance, lemon and mascarpone mouse, beautiful white plate of food but not much taste

It is not cheap with average price of a main at 130 rands but I believe it’s worth the money. This will definitely enhance your day out in the wine region.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margauxhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Among the high standards generally of restaurants in South Africa, Tokara is definitely one of the best. We went for a late lunch, and ordered off the a la carte menu (dinner is a set tasting menu). The views are amazing over their vineyards, and the service was impeccable.

Food was amazing, and t seems like the chef is a big fan of Asian flavours as there were hints throughout the menu - udon noodles in sme dishes, Tom yum broth in others. Every dish was well prepared. And price wise, it was reasonable with mains around R150.

If I'm ever back in the area, I'll definitely be going back to Tokara.

Helpful?
Thank dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
377 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Small menu but delicious food. A nice treat”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The restaurant leads onto the terrace with scenic views of the vineyards and mountains. The menu is small with seasonal choices. Prices lean toward the high side but portions are adequate.
The plates are busy with a multitude of ingredients, each carefully chosen. The asparagus with goats cheese, confit mushroom and artichoke hearts was delicious, beautifully decorated with orange segments, sunflower seeds, pine nuts, a selection of salad leaves, all so fresh. The prawn ravioli was also good but the ravioli paste was slightly tough, that was the only thing we could fault. Sesame coated line fish, today kingklip was a hit as was the free range chicken with crayfiah sauce. The best chicken my husband has eaten in South Africa. Firm and tasty he declared. A good selection of wines by the glass, yes slightly pricy but you do have lovely surroundings, not just a street or car park to look out onto. Staff are helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable, nothing was too much trouble.
Would we go back, yes, but will wait for the new seasons menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, wonderfull decoration and view.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a wonderful evening with first a nice apperative at the outside terrace with stunning sunset view. After this a superb dinner with beautiful wines. Exciting tastes and combinations, superb waiters who know what they serve. In one word a fantastic experience !!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokara Restaurant also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Tokara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing