We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure we will come back, in 2011 it will be for the 8th time”
Review of Eikendal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eikendal Lodge
Ranked #7 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Eikendal Lodge is best place to stay in the winelands. Situated at the foot of Helderberg in the middle of the Eikendal wineyard. Close to Stellenbosch, Strand, Winery Road, Helderberg Nature Reserve and 4 great golf courses within 10 minuttes drive.
The staff headed for the 6th year by Leonie Fourie is outstanding, one do not meet service and hospitality comparable anywhere in the World.
This was our 7th time and all of the 8 family members with us loved the place.
Thank you and be sure we will be back - next year.
Tom Jacobsgaard

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamiamia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Eikendal Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 294 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

The stay was very beautiful and we enjoyed it very much. The peole was very helpful and friendly, they were personally engaged, we had preferred to stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muma52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The location was great- beautiful surroundings with plentiful fresh air.
We were warmly received by very gracious and friendly hosts- Leonie and Elsje .
Our room was pristine and bedecked with fresh flowers- nice touch!
Breakfasts were superb and unhurried and always served with a smile.
Our hosts were attentive but not invasive and very helpful with regards to booking dinners and other information.
All in all a fantastic place to be for a rejuvenating get away!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregduffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Nice setting of lodge surrounded by vineyards. Charming rooms with heater (yes we needed it). A reservation in a close by restaurant was made on our behalf for dinner. Excellent and affordable food there.
Tour of cellar and tasting that followed was great and inexpensive. Wines to be recommended.

Nice option in the Stellenbosch region.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel5522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

A warm welcome on arrival. Staff very friendly and efficient. Very good accommodation. Excellent view of vineyards and mountains from our patio. We were a little disappointed that the restaurant was closed on the two nights of our stay because of private functions, but staff said we could order food from the restaurant to be served in our room. They also recommended local restaurants and offered to book for us. Food served in our room was of very good quality. We would certainly recommend Eikendal Lodge to our friends and would return for another visit ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwropes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We had two recommodations for a stay in that lodge and we were very happy with them.
The lodge has very nice rooms and supply a tremendous breakfast.
Most of all we were happy with the staff which gave us such a warm welcome that we really felt like visiting friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecrow69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

My wife and I have been regular visitors to Eikendal Lodge (8 times since 2001) and have taken family and groups of friends to stay there on several occasions. We have always been very well received and looked after by the Lodge Manageress, Leonie Fourie, and her friendly and helpful staff.

The Lodge is well situated for exploring all the local vineyards and other attractions of the Stellenbosch area, with easy access also to Cape Town, Franschhoek and the other wine areas.

Being situated in the middle of the Eikendal Wine Estate, the Lodge offers a very relaxed atmosphere, with excellent, beautifully furnished, comfortable and affordable accommodation both within the Lodge and suites in the adjoining block, which have stunning views across the vineyards up to the Helderberg Mountains.

Walking around the vineyards is a really good start to the day, so that you are ready for the excellent and varied breakfasts on the terrace, which are a pleasure to look forward to. Complimentary drinks and nibbles are served at 6pm, so you can have an Eikendal wine tasting session every evening, whilst enjoying a convivial time with fellow guests. Regular visits by young cheetah cubs from 'Cheetah Outreach' are always a highlight.

Evening supper platters are also available, which can provide an occasional relief to dining in the many excellent restaurants nearby, bearing in mind you may well have already enjoyed a very satisfying lunch, after a 'big' breakfast!!

Nice gardens and swimming pool area complete all a visitor's requirements for rest and relaxation, in fact it's so inviting, we've already booked again for 2011, which will be our 30th trip to South Africa since 1992. In that time, we have visited very many lodges, B & B's, hotels etc. all over the country and Eikendal Lodge really is one of THE best.

You should try it - you won't be disappointed. Why not look at their new web-site to see what you are missing?

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvantheOrgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,874 reviews
5.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
8.9 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
5.5 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eikendal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eikendal Lodge

Address: Eikendal Vineyards | R44, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $116 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eikendal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an authentic Cape Winelands experience, blended with superior wines and true hospitality! Eikendal Lodge is uniquely situated amidst prized vineyards and a working winery near Stellenbosch. The property also offers a wide range of activities, from grape picking to a fly fishing clinic with experienced professionals. Our philosophy is focused around the personal preferences of our guests with each visit specially tailored to ensure a flexible Winelands experience. We strive in making every stay a memorable one with exceptional yet unpretentious, personalised service and a homely atmosphere, giving each guest a sense of ownership. Eikendal Lodge offers an idyllic Winelands retreat, and comprise of nine spacious, en-suite bedrooms. Each room has a private terrace opening directly onto amazing, panoramic views of the Helderberg Mountain, our beautiful garden and lusciuos vineyards of Eikendal. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Each room is individually decorated and appointed with air-conditioning, satellite television, direct telephone, safe, fridge, and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eikendal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing