We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winery hotel beneath mountain”
Review of Eikendal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eikendal Lodge
Ranked #5 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great winery hotel beneath mountain”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A lovely place with great staff. Enjoyed the jazz evening. Running amongst the vines early mornings before breakfast was a novelty for me. Good restaurant at the winery - shame not open in the evenings but good places nearby. Enjoyed the wines too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickkerook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    41
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
149
17
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steffisburg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Eikendal Lodge is still the same nice place then 4 years ago.We are there the 2.time and
we liked again.The Rooms are very clean,big enough to stay there more then 2 Days.
The Manager are very friendly and the staff are very very nice too.
I can say go there and stay in this beautyful area and relax on the pool,he is very clean too.
The presentation from the breakfast are so perfect and you become all what you need.
For me is it hard to explain Eikendal Lodge.Just go enyoy eat and relax.
My number one in this area.
Thank you Eikendal Lodge

Room Tip: All rooms are very very nice,doesnt mather which room you take,you will love all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Best kept secret of the Stellenbosch wine route, the hottentot holland mountain range overlooking the vine valley will take your breath away. Highly recommend this place. The pool is lovely and the gardens are well kept. The rooms are stunning and each has a private area to look out in the vineyards and the mountains.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place is beautiful! Out in the country, behind the winery, this comfortable, gracious country guesthouse is spacious, clean and very welcoming. The breakfast selection was top quality with a large variety of food from which to choose. Also served hot entree. The hostess was very helpful with any requests and went out of their way in the service department.
Also served wine each afternoon with the other guests - nice touch. Loved the place and would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was me and my husband's first time to South Africa and we started our trip off with our first two nights at Eikendal. It was so easy to get there from the Cape Town Airport (20 minute, easy drive). We arrived late in the evening (6pm) after flying for 11 hours, and we just wanted to stay in and unwind. Leonie and the staff were amazing and made us a yummy tray of cheese, meats, and bread to enjoy in our room with some of their excellent wine. It was just what we needed to relax and get settle in after traveling all day.
The room and bathroom were very comfortable and spotless, furnished and cared for so that you feel right at home, even better than home.
Breakfast in the lodge is AMAZING. The offer a great array of fruits, cereals, breads, cheeses, yogurts, and MORE. And then a delicious hot breakfast prepared to your request. The place settings and beautiful backdrop of the vineyards are breathtaking. You can even take the walking trail around the whole vineyard to work off all of the breakfast you consume.
Eikendal Lodge is a gem and the whole staff are sweet as can be.
The tasting room and restaurant are also great, we had a delicious lunch out on the grass in front of the winery tasting room/restaurant.
Thanks for welcoming us to South Africa! We highly recommend Eikendal Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Eikendal Lodge is located south of Stellenbosch and is easily accessible from Cape Town (It only took us 20 minutes from the airport). Their service, friendly staff, clean rooms and wonderful location. If you stay at the lodge you also get a free wine tasting and cellar tour, which I would recommend. Would certainly stay here again in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uwe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff of Eikendal certainly knows what good quality service is all about! Great attention to detail was given to ensure our stay was at all times as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Other than the wonderful service and beautiful rooms, the picturistic surroundings added the cherry on top! Will recommend to anyone visiting Stellenbosch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liezel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
5.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
6.1 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#2 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eikendal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eikendal Lodge

Property: Eikendal Lodge
Address: Eikendal Vineyards | R44, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eikendal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an authentic Cape Winelands experience, blended with superior wines and true hospitality! Eikendal Lodge is uniquely situated amidst prized vineyards and a working winery near Stellenbosch. The property also offers a wide range of activities, from grape picking to a fly fishing clinic with experienced professionals. Our philosophy is focused around the personal preferences of our guests with each visit specially tailored to ensure a flexible Winelands experience. We strive in making every stay a memorable one with exceptional yet unpretentious, personalised service and a homely atmosphere, giving each guest a sense of ownership. Eikendal Lodge offers an idyllic Winelands retreat, and comprise of nine spacious, en-suite bedrooms. Each room has a private terrace opening directly onto amazing, panoramic views of the Helderberg Mountain, our beautiful garden and lusciuos vineyards of Eikendal. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Each room is individually decorated and appointed with air-conditioning, satellite television, direct telephone, safe, fridge, and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Eikendal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing