We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore the winelands”
Review of Eikendal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eikendal Lodge
Ranked #3 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at this Hotel at the end of our trip to South Africa for 4 nights and were absolutely delighted with the location and the rooms. My wife and I stayed in a superior room and our 3 kids had one of the junior suites, both were well appointed and very comfortable. The pool is a bit on the small side and not heated, but that didn’t bother our kids and it is a nice spot to unwind and relax. Breakfast was buffet style with the option of a cooked breakfast if you wanted it; the selection of cheese and cold meats was very good. Each night a selection of wine was put out for you to help your self to a glass (or two). The staff were all very helpful, especially Leonie, who was happy to book restaurants and suggest places to go. We would definitely go back (note, this is not a hotel, so there is no bar or reception after 7pm).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 319 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

Everything about this place was excellent. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, throwing themselves wholeheartedly into helping us celebrate my wife's birthday and our wedding anniversary. A really good place to stay if you want to chill out and an excellent centre for visiting the local attractions. We cannot praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravenbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Travelling the garden route, we also enjoyed two days at Stellenbosch. With our 3 kids, Eikendal Lodge has been a perfect place to stay. Perfect and big rooms, nice and quite area, swimming pool to enjoy and everything just some minutes away from Stellenbosch. And the top of hit: A very nice host team! They organised everything for us to make the stay perfect - even a table has been reserved for dinner tentively in advance for us at the best restaurants in Stellenbosch! Thus if you are looking for a quite place in the vineyards of Stellenbosch, where you can enjoy and relax in a perfect place after your day trips, go to Eikendal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Public1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I highly recommend a stay at Eikendal Lodge. My family and I stayed there for 9 nights over the New Years holidays. It is located in a beautiful spot in the middle of a tranquil vineyard with views towards the surrounding mountains. The rooms are big and we liked our own patio overlooking the vineyards and mountain. Everything is surrounded by a lush garden and the views are also stunning from the pool area. They serve a great breakfast and make lunch/dinner reservations for you at surrounding restaurants. The service and level of professional hospitality of Leonie, Elsje and the rest is the staff is absolutely excellent. They go "above and beyond" to make your stay a pleasant one. We felt like it had been a visit to old friends by the time we left. It makes sense that there are so many returning guests. This great private spot to explore the rest of the Cape Wine Country from will see me again.

JNN
San Francisco
California
USA

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 2, 2011

My wife and I just returned home from our three week honeymoon in Southern Africa. We stayed at a variety of tented safari camps, guest houses, and beautiful resorts. Of all the accommodations, Eikendal was the most romantic and fulfilling. The friendly, family feel of the help, and the pure luxury of a room in the heart of the vineyards was amazing. We enjoyed fresh grapes on a walk through the vineyards, five star food, including a private dinner on the veranda outside our room, a dip in the pool, and the best wine with each meal and welcoming us in our room! The rooms are beautiful and much bigger than I expected, very clean and well manicured property. A very romantic setting, or a perfect base camp to explore the rest of the area surrounding the Cape.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

an amazing place, staff are friendly and helpful, and nothing is too much for them. The Lodge is beautifully located within the vineyards. It is quiet and beautiful and is a great place to relax and enjoy the sunshine and blue skies!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We were two families spending two days and nights at Eikendal Lodge. Out of our total 12 days in South Africa, our stay at Eikendal was our best lodging. Not the most luxurious, but the most comfortable and friendly. Beautiful quiet location in the middle of the vinyard. Large room and comfortable pool area. The staff were extremely helpful and made reseravtions for us at good restaurants just in case we had nothing planned - which we did not have. Our warmest recommendations to Leonie and her staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampusHansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,033 reviews
5.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
938 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#5 of 115 in Stellenbosch
469 reviews
9 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#2 of 115 in Stellenbosch
272 reviews
5.4 mi away
Twice Central
Twice Central
#1 of 115 in Stellenbosch
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eikendal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eikendal Lodge

Address: Eikendal Vineyards | R44, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $128 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eikendal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an authentic Cape Winelands experience, blended with superior wines and true hospitality! Eikendal Lodge is uniquely situated amidst prized vineyards and a working winery near Stellenbosch. The property also offers a wide range of activities, from grape picking to a fly fishing clinic with experienced professionals. Our philosophy is focused around the personal preferences of our guests with each visit specially tailored to ensure a flexible Winelands experience. We strive in making every stay a memorable one with exceptional yet unpretentious, personalised service and a homely atmosphere, giving each guest a sense of ownership. Eikendal Lodge offers an idyllic Winelands retreat, and comprise of nine spacious, en-suite bedrooms. Each room has a private terrace opening directly onto amazing, panoramic views of the Helderberg Mountain, our beautiful garden and lusciuos vineyards of Eikendal. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Each room is individually decorated and appointed with air-conditioning, satellite television, direct telephone, safe, fridge, and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eikendal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing