We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful getaway”
Review of Blue Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Saldanha B&B and Inns
South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

In general, this is a different experience. The rooms are not designed for tall people as the roof slopes steeply. It's also not for elderly people who can't climb steps as there are no lifts.

However, the food, service and views make up for all the other deficiencies. I would go back to Saldanha and stay at the Blue Bay Lodge as it's wonderfully quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review!
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility and the service of the Lodge. Unfortunately as the Lodge is an old homestead, some of the rooms have the old corners and slopes although we do have rooms on the ground floor for people who can't climb stairs and ones that do not slope for the tall people, a bit of everything all in one! Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    88
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
68
53
2
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We went in a group and booked two chalets for 12 people. We were pleasantly surprised by the facilities, views and spacious rooms. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The restaurant venue is beautiful with a clear view of the beachfront.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you had a good time and that you enjoyed our facilities. Looking forward to having you here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms are not amazing here; they are a little small and the concrete floors a little austere. However the open and airy bar and restraunt are lovely and walking along the beach of an evening is great too. The staff are helpful and breakfast in the morning sun is faultless.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Good Afternoon.
Thank you so much for your review. The room you stayed in was the semi self catering suite, they have the concrete floors. Next time, I would suggest that you ask if we have one of the bigger Lodge rooms available, they have carpets and although all our rooms look a little different from each other (as the Lodge is an old family homestead which has been renovated) i am sure the ladies in reception will make sure you get the best and biggest room available!
Other than that, I am so happy that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the West Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Quiet remote Lodge suitable for a quiet break or an excellent place to base yourself if exploring the area. Stayed in both a remote cottage and a room within the hotel and found them both perfectly acceptable, although my preference would be a room within the hotel. The menu may be slightly limited but what is on it was well cooked & presented. The staff are very friendly and keen to help. Lovely beach to the front of the hotel and it was nice to go to sleep to the sound of the waves washing up on the shore. Generally a nice place.

Room Tip: Sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willie_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Good Afternoon.
Thank you so much for that wonderful review. I am so happy that you mentioned which one you prefer. We do find that everyone has their favourite, be it a Lodge room, semi self catering suite or a self catering cottage.
We hope to see you here again soon!
Regards
Blue Bay Lodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had booked in the lodge, about a month prior to our stay, and had requested adouble bed room and had paid up front for it. When we arrived, after waititng for about an hour for someone to help us check in, we were told that we had a room with two single beds. After they were unable to accomodate us,we had to give them suggestion of how to fix the problem. This took about 2 hours before our room was ready and we were just left to stand in the doorway waiting, not even offering us to show us the lodge, its facilities, tell us about meal times ect. Needless to say the service for the rest of the stay was incredibly poor. The manager had a snotty attitude and was not interested in heping her guests, and was often no where to be found.The rooms were neat, but had to wait a long time before the housekeepers came in to do their rounds, and the hairdryers that they place in the rooms do not work. Every morning I had to ask for one that worked as they would remove the working one during the day and replace it with a non working one. Needless to say, it was an amazing veiw, but the rest as they say is history. I would not recommend this lodge to any one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supastarmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Good Afternoon
Thank you so much for your review. All reviews are so important to us, be it good or bad. I am so sorry you did not have a pleasant experience and I will be looking into what happened with your stay to ensure this does not happen again.
Kind Regards
Blue Bay Lodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freigericht, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Unfortunately we can not recommend this Lodge to 100%. The Lodge itself must be get a 100% rating. But unfortunately the Lodge was located on a beach with a view to the industrial seaport area. Not motivated. The Lodge was great in the inside space and beds. Kitchen was OK only to little dishes. All Cottages has their own Braai. Great. 3 swimming pools. But only to little sun beds. But top pools !! Friendly staffs and receptionist.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franz030758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Good Afternoon
Thank you so much for your review. The Saldanha harbour is bitter/sweet for the locals, on the one hand it really can be an eye sore, but on the other hand there are so many jobs created in the area because of all the industry it attracts, so we are really fortunate to have all the rigs etc in the area, but unfortunately its not for everyone!
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the rest of our facilities and we hope to see you here again soon?!
Kind Regards
Blue Bay Lodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2011

we stayed at Blue Bay Lodge in Saldanha, and we had an amazing time! With a beautiful view, service was perfect and the food DELICIOUS , we had a sea facing room , we slept very well, no noise just the sea, we had some coctails on the deck.
i want to thank Blue Bay Lodge for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundari23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Good Afternoon
Thank you so much for your positive review. Its always heartwarming to hear that a client has enjoyed their stay. Most of our staff members are from the local community and have little or no training apart from the training we give them, so when we hear good reviews, there is a collective cheer among all the staff members and management!
Thank you and we hope to see you here in the near future.
Kind Regards
Blue Bay Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saldanha
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Saldanha Bay
5.5 mi away
Club Mykonos
Club Mykonos
#2 of 6 in Langebaan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
#2 of 2 in Saldanha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Athenian Cascades
Athenian Cascades
#4 of 6 in Langebaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#3 of 6 in Langebaan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saldanha Bay Lodge
Saldanha Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Saldanha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Lodge

Property: Blue Bay Lodge
Address: 48 Gracillaria Cresent | Blouwaterbaai, Saldanha, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7395, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Saldanha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saldanha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Bay Lodge offers three star beachfront accommodation just outside the beautiful West Coast Village, Saldanha. From a mouth-watering a la carte restaurant to world-class conference facilities with the capacity of up to 120 delegates. Choose from 32 B&B en-suite rooms or 14 self-catering cottages and with in-house wedding, conference and function coordinators, Blue Bay Lodge really has something on offer for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing