We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled in the Homtini”
Review of Homtini Guest Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homtini Guest Farm
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in the couples luxury tented accommodation. The view from the wooden deck is amazing and tranquil. Homtini pass runs past the farm, so there is occasional vehicle noise, but nothing unbearable.

It is tented accommodation, so if it is windy at night, expect to be kept awake. The tent is very tidy and the bed was very comfortable. The self catering amenities were adequate. Out gas braai did not work, but fortunately we were provided with a gas skottel skaar.

It is close to Millwood Forest reserve and a short drive to Knysna. Great if you don't want to be in Knysna, but in close proximity to the attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 94 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in the two safari tents. Extremely comfortable and everything one would want for self catering option. Our Dutch friends especially commented on the bed linen. The views wonderful. Early morning seeing the sun rise and the evenings spent watching the sunset sipping a glass of wine on the deck. The walks were also a good exercise!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tini H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I'm not sure that any other cabin accommodation can beat this! Neat, clean , well equipped, comfortable bed and spectacular views with total privacy. Great pool to cool off ..... Definitely would go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have been visiting the Homtini Guest Farm with my wife since about 2003, almost 10 years. We always come up for the Knysna Oyster festival to part-take in the sports events.

This year was different as my wife was travelling in France. I went up to part-take in the Big5 and study. I rented a cottage that would normally be for 4 people, so I had plenty space.

I always find the farm welcoming and homely. Its a bit of a drive from Knysna, but the position overlooking the Homtini forests is exquisite!

This time I even extended my stay for an extra 2 days, which meant I stayed for a total of 12 days. The rates were affordable and service was brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feedmymedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I booked a couples tent for my wife and I as part of our honeymoon, we arrived later than planned , around 6pm but Jeremy the owner lives on site with his wife so that was not a problem. We got to the tent at sunset, the views were INCREDIBLE! The tent was fantastic, kitted with everything you need and more. We nipped to the supermarket in Knysna to get 2 days worth of food and drink as we didnt plan on eating anywhere but at Homtini, as the tents are equipped with gas BBQ's. A word of warning, these tents are located on the edge of the bush, you will see creepy crawlies every now and then - if you are not into that (as my wife wasn't!!!) then you may want to get a cottage, which are only a fraction more in cost.

Jeremy, once my wife discovered the creepies, was more than understanding and moved us into a cottage, which had just as spectacular views but included a TV and DVD player. Jeremy went above the call of duty helping us and was not even asking for anymore money as a result.

I could go on for hours about how great and chilled this place is - just go and stay there, its magic!!!!

Room Tip: If you are not a fan of bugs, then get a cottage - still stunning!!! If you can though, get a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I spent a few days here. There were things to do on the farm- the forest walk and lots of tourist things around the area too. The info guide in the room, helped us a lot, because we kind of decided to go to Knysna last minute. The information given to us by the owners on where to go around the area for certain activities and which places are the best to get food at, were a great help.
We booked the secluded tent. It had great views and was truly a great place to stay.
It was so relaxing that you forget about everything else. We used the pool and sauna all the days we were there. I loved this place; the owners have really done a great job at making it a working farm and the way that they try and keep the place "green" is a big thumbs up in my book.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

There are various options to choose from for accommodation. We stayed in the Tented Lodges - Family Tents(of which there is only two). This was our kids first introduction to camping/roughing it, although you can hardly call this roughing it. The tents are well accommodated and does have a toilet, shower and basins. It also got a very good double bed, and a bunker bed for the kids. Each tent has it own utensils and a fridge and kettle. Each tent has its own 'braai' with enough wood supplied. There is an communal kitchen and a central fire place. The tents are so spaced though that you don't see you neighbor tent and that you do have your own privacy. The views from the tents are incredible. There are lots of options for the outdoor type to keep them busy for a week.

Only negative thing was the noise made by a close by community center at night. It did not go on to late though.

We already plan to come back with some of our friends and their kids and book out both the Family Tents.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajarForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rheenendal
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
10.5 mi away
Footprints of Knysna
Footprints of Knysna
#20 of 107 in Knysna
166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
169 reviews
4.5 mi away
Forest Valley Cottages
Forest Valley Cottages
#3 of 6 in Rheenendal
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nieu-Wherry Meadow
Nieu-Wherry Meadow
#1 of 2 in Rheenendal
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homtini Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homtini Guest Farm

Address: Farm Portion 185, Leeuwenbosch | End of Rheenendal Road, Rheenendal, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Rheenendal
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Rheenendal
Price Range: $45 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homtini Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homtini Guest Farm with its stunning views of the Outeniqua Mountains is a 90Ha working farm nestling in the indigenous forest overlooking the Homtini pass. It lies along the old Seven-pass Route between Knysna and George and is very close to the Millwood Forest Reserve and gold mine. Accommodation consists of three luxury, self-catering cottages, privately situated all with their own tree-top veranda's one family bungalow and four secluded tented lodges:All cottages have stunning views and offer a great deal of privacy and tranquillity. It is a 20-minute drive to Knysna, 5 minutes from local shops and 15 minutes to the nearest beach. We are surrounded by several Nature Reserves whilst being situated in a friendly rural community.Two family lodge tents (each sleeping family of 4) on a secluded site with a campfire and a separate shared rustic kitchen but your own braai, fridge and tea-making facilities.Two private & fully self-contained luxury tents for couples, in the shade of the indigenous forest, looking down the Homtini river valley. Tents are on a large, secluded site, with en-suite bathrooms and a wooden verandah.Located on the edge of the forest with beautiful views, each tent is equipped with a fridge, double bed, a dining table, a wooden cupboard, with cups, plates and utensils. All linen and towels are provided, as well as an electric kettle for your cup of tea in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Homtini Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing