We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prickly Pear Margaritas!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Pueblo Cafe

Old Pueblo Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Osawatomie, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prickly Pear Margaritas!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Sat outside and had a great meal but the best part were the margaritas!! You won't be able to have just one and why should you??

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank TammyandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    37
    21
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
403 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Mild flavored Mexican food worth every penny!”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Normally, we like our Mexican food to be strongly flavored--robust and bold. The flavorings in the food we had at Old Pueblo Cafe were much more subtle than what we have normally been served, and the subtlety made quite an impression on us both.

My wife is gluten intolerant and our waitress did a very thorough job of consulting the chef to determine that everything she was considering was gluten free. After discovering that many of her considerations contained gluten, she decided to try the chicken tacos. The flavor was wonderful, and the portions of all white meat chicken were extremely generous.

I had the spinach enchiladas, one with green sauce, the other with red. Again, very subtle and mild spicing, but still very flavorful. These were enchiladas where the spinach was a major flavor, not drowned out by sauces. I started with the red sauce enchilada and had it half finished before i realized i had ignored the green, being so satisfied with the red that I thought the green would be a disappointment.

Wow, even more delicious paring that the red sauce! These were by far the best spinach enchiladas I have ever sampled. The two cheeses featured with the spinach blended harmoniously with the sauces and the spinach. Truly a wonderful dish!

I loved the authentic rice, and we both loved the refried beans. While waiting, we sampled a basket of near perfect tortilla chips-- thin, crispy and lightly salted. The freshly made pico de gallo salsa was a wonderful compliment, especially mixed with the hot sauce they served separately.

With drinks, our total was just $21 for lunch. Decor was pleasing, especially for those who appreciate the history of the Vally of the Sun. Lots of memorabilia on the walls.

Staff was attentive and efficient. I can't say enough for how great a job our waitress did of checking to be certain everything my wife was presented was gluten free.

It has been only 4 days since we ate there. I am already in the mood to go back for more of the spinach enchiladas.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tuc7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place.....”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The food at Old Pueblo is some of the better mexican food in Phoenix......which, honestly... isn't saying much.
Mexican food in Phoenix all tastes the same. LIke frozen entrees....but if I had to go eat Phoenix Mexican, it would be at Old Pueblo.
Tacos are good. Salsa is good but has an entire bottle of garlic salt per bowl in it.....or at least it tastes that way.
Plan on tasting the garlic salt for a few days if you decide to eat it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyTwinsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice little Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Enjoyed the chips, salsa (pico di gollo is great), fish tacos, rice beans, and beer on tap. Yumm!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelintuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We Loved Dining Here !”
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We found this jewel in the desert while walking around Litchfield Park. It is directly across the street from The Wigwam and the food and service here was outstanding ! My wife and I agreed that we will return often just to savor one of their Sonoran enchiladas and margaritas.
The best in the Southwest ! Again, we loved it !

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaSanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Pueblo Cafe also viewed

Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
Avondale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Old Pueblo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing