We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dillon's KC BBQ

Dillon's KC BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $23
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dillon's KC BBQ has been a growing part of The Valley of The Sun for over 15 years- We take pride in the quality of our food and service and strive to be the best. Growing to four destination locations including: the original Peoria location, Arrowhead, Lake Pleasant(Scorpion Bay) and Litchfield Park(connected to the Wildlife World Zoo & Aquarium) as well as offering valley wide catering services.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

If you like BBQ, check out Dillon's. They have a variety of cuisine that will appease almost anyone. The shark tank in the dining room is HUGE!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chassi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    90
    29
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
653 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Good choice.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We ate here again today. We had good food, good sized portions and the shark tanks make for some interesting scenery. Flamingos are also fun to watch for awhile. There is a lot going on at this restaurant. Lots of families with small children, so the crowd is diverse. We will be back, not sure when.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Impala guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,116 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Great BBQ: Excellent for Kids & Bar for Adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I'm at Luke Air Force Base often and was looking for a BBQ fix nearby. I saw Dillon's which looked great but I was hesitant because it is at a zoo. I didn't want to park and have to walk a long way to find the restaurant, plus I wasn't sure if I had to pay for the zoo to get to eat. Well, I was pleasantly surprised to find that Dillon's KC BBQ is a stand-alone restaurant on the outside edge of the zoo. You can park in the lot and walk right in to eat (you can also enter the zoo from inside the restaurant with paid admission). The building looks new and the inside is immaculate.

Let me tell you, your kids will LOVE this place! There is a giant shark tank in the main dining room and lots of smaller tanks in the walls all around. I can image this place is crazy busy on the weekends with kids all over the place, but fear not, Dillon's has a huge bar area for adults to escape. I was greeted nicely on my way in but, unfortunately ignored on my way out (which is so irritating to me- take a second to say "thanks, come again"). The bar waitress was great and patient with my many questions and wanting to taste the different BBQ sauces. She kept my drink full and checked on me every so often. I got chips and jalapeño cheese dip for an appetizer- the chips were fresh, home-made and delicious. The generous portion of cheese dip was excellent. They also brought me more fresh chips to finish the dip which was nice.

I got the pulled BBQ pork sandwich with coleslaw as a side. They have 2 other pork sandwiches that come with coleslaw ON the sandwich and they cost 50 cents more. I asked if I could get slaw on the BBQ pork for 50 cents (plus the other side, like fries) and she nicely said no. I would have to buy another side for about $3. I would have even paid $1 extra for a little slaw on the sandwich. Not a huge deal, but maybe something they should consider as an option. Dillon's has 3 different BBQ sauces; I tasted the sweet-heat and the Cajun BBQ. The sweet-heat is the spiciest and was excellent. Very thick and dark, it had a little heat but nothing uncomfortable.

This is a great family restaurant and the kids will love it: a great selection of food (MUCH more than BBQ) in a unique environment. They have an outdoor dining area (w/ cooling mist and fans) with flamingos close enough to touch. I am a fan of Dillon's and will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JT_Turner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Barbaque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Have been here many times one of my favorite local places. They have really good BBQ there beans are so good. If available try the burnt ends so good. the portions are huge so come with a big appetite.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dinner and a show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Inside restaurant there is a massive tank of sharks. Inside bar area there is a fish tank and an alligator tank. Outside in patio area there are pink flamingos right next to you. The food was very tasty! I had burnt ends and loved them. My husband had talapia with a white wine sauce. Both entrees we would order again. This place had great food with a one of a kind show. Service was good and the place looked clean. Generous portions with affordable prices. Is it an elegant restaurant ? Nope but its certainly entertaining and unique!!What else could you ask for in this price range???? Oh yes I left pictures for you to see.

Helpful?
1 Thank janiemygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dillon's KC BBQ also viewed

Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 

Been to Dillon's KC BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing