We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant and attached to a zoo.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dillon's KC BBQ

Dillon's KC BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $23
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dillon's KC BBQ has been a growing part of The Valley of The Sun for over 15 years- We take pride in the quality of our food and service and strive to be the best. Growing to four destination locations including: the original Peoria location, Arrowhead, Lake Pleasant(Scorpion Bay) and Litchfield Park(connected to the Wildlife World Zoo & Aquarium) as well as offering valley wide catering services.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
693 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good restaurant and attached to a zoo.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We ate here while at the zoo and had a great lunch. It was much better food than you usually get out at a theme park or location, and to top it off the food was better than many restaurants that are stand-alone. I had blackened tilapia with bbq beans and mashed potatoes and they were excellent. My wife had a good-looking bbq brisket sandwich. We all shared some of the best onion rings anywhere with great batter. If you eat on the patio, you can watch the flamingos. Good service even when busy. I would go back even if I were not going back to the zoo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    90
    29
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pgh., PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Food and portions are above average. Price is comparable to other restaurants of this caliber. Great tables next to the giant aquarium. You can watch sharks and fish swimming around. Also, great eating area on the patio watching the beautiful flamingos.
Always crowded, be prepared to wait for a table. However, there is usually no wait if you want to eat at a table in the bar area with a view of the flamingos. Plenty of free parking. No call ahead/reservation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pgh_PAGjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“M'mmmmm Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

A great variety of food at reasonable prices. Big portions for a BIG appetite. Service was fantastic. The aquarium provided fun entertainment before, during and after eating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travln4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun place for the kids. Food is pretty good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We like to come here just the two of us or with the entire family. Fun place because of the animals that you get to see during your meal. Indoors with the gigantic shark tank, bar has a white alligator display and outside on the patio with the flamingos.

Food is reasonably priced ($8-15 per plate) and the have a $2 onion ring appetizer that is really tasty. It is nice to have an appetizer that isn't as much as one of the meals. :) Lots of different options for barbecue...if that's not your thing I know that there are other options available as well (but I haven't had them)

Service was good...nothing really to complain or compliment about.

One thing I do not like is on the patio the table next to the flamingo habitat are pushed away from the wall about 4 feet...this leads to random groups of people that are waiting for their table to crowd around while you are eating so that they can see the flamingos. Not a huge deal but I was not particularly fond of having people hover over me while trying to eat and also them having mini "photo sessions" with the flamingos in the background. Maybe management could rearrange the patio a bit to accommodate everyone? Make a flamingo viewing area for people that are still waiting to be seated?

All in all still a very great place to eat and we will continue to go there for bbq. :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EverywhereAndBack01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwell, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun and great tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Four meals and four very satisfied customers. My husband said it was the best fried catfish ever! I enjoyed smoked sausage.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dillon's KC BBQ also viewed

Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 

Been to Dillon's KC BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing