We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Course in beautiful condition” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wigwam Golf Resort

Wigwam Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the country's premier golf resorts, this complex offers three championship courses (Blue, Gold and Red), two of which were designed by renowned architect, Robert Trent Jones.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Course in beautiful condition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Played the Heritage course on 4-12-2014 for a tournament that included the Gold course and the courses were in beautiful shape !!! The greens were fast and consistent and considering the number of players covering both courses the course personnel were fantastic as was the luncheon afterwards!!! I have company coming in from back east that are anxious to play golf and this will be the place I take them for a round or two ! I live in N/W Phoenix but it's well worth the drive out here to play!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    50
    19
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We come down to Litchfield Park 3-4 times per year and the Wigwam is our favourite place to golf! The Staff are so friendly and they go above and beyond to really make you feel at home! Months can go by and they still know us by name, talk about impressive! They always ask how the family is and know where we're from. Service is second to none!
All three courses have something new and exciting to offer. Appeals to every level of player, from beginner to the elite. Courses are always in great shape and enjoyable to play!
The overall experience is worth the trip to Litchfield Park!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGelutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The resort is top notch. The room and decor was huge and lovely. The resort is spotless with manicured gardens and tons of restaurants on site.

Staff are friendly and definitely visit the spa. Hint- get a day pass at the spa after treatment to return the next day and use their pool and steam rooms when the resort is busy.

Will definitely return

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wilddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
243 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Old School Resort, 3 courses 3 different reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This reminds me of the golden years of Hollywood Resorts, and in the past that is who frequented the Wigwam. This is a huge facility that is well kept for its age. The golf courses vary in quality, Red is the step child, OK but not worth the fees. Blue is decent and a better track, the Gold is great and worth the extra fee. Long and wide fairways, deciduous trees undulating greens and a devilish canal that winds through the layout. There is a snack bar on the course and beverage car service. The pro shop and bag personnel are friendly and courteous. Great driving range and lots of parking, however it is across the road. Great little Mexican restaurant just down the road and since I live on the West side of Phoenix, it is a great location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank walks4653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Golf with 3 distinct options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family of 3 stayed and played at the resort for a 12 day period over the 2013 Christmas holidays. Day #1 we played the Gold Course ( cart path only restrictions ) which did not hinder our pace of play whatsoever. The Gold is in preparation for a competition - so the greens were a little slow as the crew is preparing for this event. Sand traps remained wetted all day as they are heavily irrigating this track at the moment. The remainder of the stay was focused on the Blue ( Patriot ) which is totally playable from any one of the four tee options. Greens are 90% filled in from overseed and now at normal putting speed. Faster than the Gold. The Red course (Heritage course ) is best condition of the 3 courses at the moment. My wife and 12 year old preferred the Red ( Heritage ) as it offered best best playing conditions and pace of play. Many days we extended our play to 27 holes. Pro shop staff were friendly and very helpful. Course marshals were extremely polite and friendly. Most of our rounds were completed between 3:20 - 3:40 hrs. So our pace of play was exceptionally good ( little surprised at this ) as this allowed for an additional 9 holes of play on some days. This is a great facility which I would describe as a little hideen gem ..."off the beaten track". Quality of golf at comparable level as many of the higher priced more "advertised" options offered on the east side of the valley. Its a great "golf buddy" or "family golf" option to consider, located approx. 30 minutes west of Phoenix Sky Harbour airport. If you want an off site option to these 3 courses at the WigWam ... try the Raven at Verrado. But its really difficult to find any fault at the W/W, when the courses are all in good condition and the weather is co-operating. :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhongouTong53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wigwam Golf Resort also viewed

 
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 

Been to Wigwam Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing