We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I liked all 18 holes, but not the course...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wigwam Golf Resort

Wigwam Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the country's premier golf resorts, this complex offers three championship courses (Blue, Gold and Red), two of which were designed by renowned architect, Robert Trent Jones.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“I liked all 18 holes, but not the course...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Cons: Staff was mediocre, starter was non-existent, very bunched routing of the golf holes, no rough. Again, if you take each golf hole and play it as if nothing else is visible, the course is great. When you take 36 with tees next to greens/greens next to several tees and so many signs that are required to make sure you don't end up on the other 18 or a different hole, you completely lose me.

Pros: greens rolled extremely well (9-10 on stimp), fairways were in great shape, pace of play was quick, nice practice facility, military discount. I have fun and will return to play a course that always has nice greens- this one did. The design of each hole was fantastic.

Overall: I would return to play here only after I finished playing all the other notable courses in the area. It's parkland golf (which I love) and am a big fan of all RTJ Sr's projects. If this course could have just got the hole routing right, I would call it a gem. I just cant get past that...

Helpful?
Thank hatfieldj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    50
    19
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun, challenging golf course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Played Gold Course. Fast, very firm greens. Course in great shape.

work on your bunker game BEFORE you play.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fishbait1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Classic and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed 3 nights at the resort. Played golf there one day at the Heritage course. We had a delightful time. The architecture of the establishment has an old world charm that is hard to match. Adobe cabins spread over 400 acres with pools and other features around. Everything was well done. Excellent breakfast in casual lounge to fine formal dining at their restaurant in the evening. Just very special.

Helpful?
Thank TMBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A must do if your in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nothing to dislike. Beds are great, the grounds are beautiful, food is good, the staff is excellent. Very organized at check in. Absolutely the friendliest most helpful staff you will ever encounter. You don't really need to be a golfer to enjoy this resort. The pools are great, tennis courts and just a very quiet peaceful place. Activities at night if you want a more livley evening. It is pricey, but if you watch you can get some great rates.I don't recommend going if you can't find a discount rate, but then I rarely do.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Osobad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Good "Munie"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice course but not the 1st rate resort course that I was expecting. Greens were true but very thin and blotchy. The course plays very long so beware seniors and shorter hitters.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rgmugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wigwam Golf Resort also viewed

 
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 

Been to Wigwam Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing