We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Find!”
Review of La Bona Pasta

La Bona Pasta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 623-935-2233
Mass
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What A Find!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband & I just moved here from Massachusetts about a month ago. After trying a few "chain restaurants" in the area, we had given up on finding an independently owned "little gem" to call our own. I read a review about La Bona Pasta but was hesitant to try it, as we were used to the great food of Boston's North End Italian district and we were also blessed enough to have made 3 trips to Italy. What could a little restaurant tucked away at the end of a strip mall offer us? Well, let me tell you! This is one of the best Italian restaurants ever and so affordable! We have been four times already and each time the food gets better than the last. But, sad to say, we have not seen very many folks there when we go. Please go, try for yourselves and support this restaurant in town. If it's successful maybe it will draw more restaurants like it to the Litchfield Park area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a surprise, authentic and warm with good food.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

La Bona Pasta is a small family operated place with a great menu and great food. What a surprise to find a family operated venue in the heart of chain restaurant monopoly. Great pasta dishes! For once fresh cooked to order and served at the perfect degree of firmness. The baby clam dishes are treats, the marinara sauce is great, sausage is excellent, prosciutto is world class. You can find just about every combination of ingredients in the menu. They do a pretty good business with an open-kitchen layout. I'm not sure if that is an artistic design or default of the layout. At any rate it gives the restaurant a quaint atmosphere, like eating in ones house. I will be a regular patron.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNoFearFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hidden little gem of a restaurant!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Probably only seats 40 people, but a great little family-run restaurant. Some very different, unusual dishes, not necessarily expected at the typical Italian place, but really, REALLY, good! And everyone who works there is extremely friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunnidancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian Cuisine!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

After living in New York City for 5 years and two lengthy trips to Italy, we've become sort of snobbish about Italian food. Boy, were we surprised by the quality and variety of dishes served up at this little restaurant. The fresh-baked bread was a delightful beginning. The Caesar salad was perfectly balanced, cold and crisp. Their velvety soups - cream of asparagus and clam chowder - came from a whole family of soups that we can't wait to test! And the specials of the day - parmesan cream chicken lasagna and mushroom ravioli - were absolutely some of the best Italian dishes we've ever had.

Most of the pastas ran $10-12, and main courses cost $13-16... and they include soup or salad. This is the real deal!

They're right across from the Litchfield Park post office, but they're tucked away in an obscure corner of a strip center. This place is definitely worth finding!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMapDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bona Pasta also viewed

Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 

Been to La Bona Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing