We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveler rating
967
330
88
37
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
330
88
37
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoasis poolred door spagolf coursewig wambocce ballhistoric resortbar and grillwater slidesbeautiful groundsping ponggreat resortphoenix areamain poolwalk in closetresort feebell staffbusiness meeting
Filter
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights and golfed three times in the middle of November. Had a fantastic stay. Everything from the arrival to the room quality to the golf was excellent. Our room was off the first fairway of the Patriot course, and from the comfy patio chairs out the back of our room we looked across the fairway to the driving range and practice facilities. Room was in top condition as it was recently renovated. The older closet shelves and kitchenette area cabinet spaces appear to be original dating back to the early days of the resort, but they are in fine condition and recently refurbished and repainted. The bed was very comfortable, the furniture relatively new, big flat screen TV, and the bathroom had all new sinks, shower, and other amenities. Wi-fi service was free with a very strong signal. As for the golf, other than the greens being rather slow and probably more tricky than usual due to recent reseeding and the need to not cut them too short quite yet, the courses we played were in great shape. We played the Heritage and Gold courses, preferring the Gold course of the two. David Keller, our reservation contact, also got us a tee time at The Raven at Verrado, which was an excellent recommendation and our favorite course due to its location, immaculate course condition, and the gorgeous views of the valley and downtown Phoenix in the far distance. We dined each morning before golf at the restaurant next to the clubhouse, and the food was good, with great service. Overall, this was an excellent facility with everything you need for a couples or friends golf vacation. A lesson or two with Shane LeBaron at the Plane Truth golf facility is also highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choices range from fairway locations to poolside to more secluded. Our fairway location was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfCouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

How wonderful it is to hear that your stay at The Wigwam was a fantastic experience. We are pleased that everything from your accommodations and dining to playing golf on our three courses was enjoyed by you. Thank you very much for your descriptive review and many kind comments. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at The Wigwam this year while attending the wedding of a family member in Phoenix. We had a family reunion there many years ago, and fondly remembered the ambiance and beauty of the resort. It has not changed - it remains the beautiful, historic inn that it has been for decades.

The lodging is scattered about the very large property in a series of mid-sized buildings - each having perhaps 12 rooms - generally in two floors. Our party had both a larger upstairs room and a more compact first floor room. Both had their attributes: the second story featured front windows and a rear patio through glass door, while the first floor room had a small kitchenette and a small patio in front.

The main building is large and spacious, with a Spanish-style design throughout. In addition to serving as the lobby, it has a couple of restaurants, meeting rooms, several sitting rooms, etc. Very tasteful, historical and comfortable. I thoroughly enjoyed their historical displays; the Wigwam has a very colorful history dating back a century.

The resort is noted for its golf course, and during our stay offered very generous multi-day packages for golfing. It features multiple pools with different attributes; a bar at the largest one. Many poolside areas for sunbathing. The grounds are large and beautiful for strolling, having grassy areas, the obligatory Phoenix palm trees, paths. The setting was beautiful enough that I found myself taking quite a few pictures of the grounds and buildings.

Room interiors are rather typical for a resort of this standing, with the bathrooms being notably large in our second-story room.

While we did not interact with the staff much, those that we did were very friendly and we could see the staff maintaining the grounds throughout our stay.

On season is of course expensive, but we enjoyed both mild temperatures and very reasonable prices during our "shoulder" visit in early October. We did book our rooms through an internet-based, discount service.

Room Tip: Do ask the staff about the room choices -- there are many different locales and room styles as the buildings were built over a long period of time. You may want to preview a couple?
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRicaBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We can't thank you enough for your detailed review of your stay. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their impressions of The Wigwam with us. We are thrilled that we could welcome you back and provide you with another wonderful experience. Thank you so much for your many kind comments. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great place with nice touches.
The only problem we encountered in the week we were there was the restaurant staff were not equipped to handle our large group which resulted in longer usual waits to get served, though they knew we were coming.
All in all they have reat staff, unbelievably beautiful grounds and facilities. Exceptional place. Make sure you walk out by the golf course and see the amazing roses. Great place. I'd hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us at The Wigwam. Thank you for your many kind comments regarding our resort property, staff, and amenities. We would like to offer you our sincerest apologies for any delays encountered while dining with us and hope that it did not have an impact on your overall experience. Please visit us soon as it would be a privilege to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We recently stayed at The Wigwam and loved it! The grounds are beautiful and relaxing. Our room was nice and spacious as was the bathroom. The lodge was gorgeous, beautifully decorated understated elegance. We ate on the grounds for almost every meal, all of the food was delicious. We especially loved eating outside at the Wigwam Bar. We had breakfast in the morning there, it was so nice and relaxing. The red chile pork dish was great! We also went to happy hour there one evrning, it was wonderful, they have several fire pits around that you could sit by snd enjoy your drinks. Loved it! We ate at Litchfield's Wine Bar one evening, it was very nice, we really enjoyed the live piano music. On our last morning we were walking to breakfast towards The Wigwam Bar, as we went by the bellman station outside he offeted us a ride on a golf cart to Red's Bar by the golf course. We agreed since we had not eaten there, it was nice, we sat on the patio overlooking the golf course and the food was great! The Oasis pool was nice and relaxing. The Red Door Spa was amazing, it is beautiful, my treatment room wad huge. I won't go into too much detail as to spoil surprise. I have been to a lot of spas and I think this wss the nicest one. While my husband and I went to celebrate my birthday, it was s romantic place. However it would also be a great place to go with a group of family or friends. We love going new places but agreef we would go back here.

Room Tip: Our room was in the Garden Court, it was nice. Out the front door was the large garden lawn and out the back door was a patio with tables and chairs facing the front lawn. It was very quiet we never heard people on either side. From there we loved walking all around the grounds.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Happy birthday! At The Wigwam, we want our guests to enjoy a carefree experience, especially while visiting our resort for such a special occasion. We are beyond thrilled to learn that you had such a great time at our resort. Thank you for sharing so many wonderful comments; we’re delighted that your dining experiences at our various restaurants and spa treatments at Red Door Spa were enjoyed by you. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Wigwam was a pleasant surprise. We chose it because we wanted a top notch hotel that was close to the Phoenix Raceway as we were attending a Nascar Race. It looked nice on the website and the location was perfect so we booked an Adobe Suite. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. The suite was lovely with a fireplace, beautiful seating area, VERY comfortable king bed, and huge bathroom. It was extremely quiet and convenient to the main building. The landscaping and grounds were immaculate, and the service was excellent. We also really enjoyed the bar and restaurant with fire pits near the pool. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night so there was live entertainment both nights and a very nice relaxed atmosphere. We also enjoyed Litchfield's restaurant, sitting outdoors under the heat lamps, admiring yet again the beautiful landscaping and lighting within the inner pool/courtyard areas. The food was fantastic and again...the service was awesome. Great stay...highly recommended !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfgirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation of The Wigwam. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us while visiting the area for the NASCAR Race. We are delighted that our location, accommodations, services and amenities all helped to create a memorable experience. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews