We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Second stay not as impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prescott, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second stay not as impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved our first stay so much a few years back we came back to the Wigwam. We were not as impressed. The property is beautiful, food was great, front desk staff not so much. The day clerk was less than friendly and almost annoyed when we approached. Our room had several issues including toilet ran constantly, the tub leaked and we had ants in the bathroom. The room was not completely cleaned when housekeeping left. Maybe we hit a bad spell, but it was not what we remembered from our first stay....I was truly bummed out. Not sure we will return for a third stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We cannot express in words how disappointed we were to learn that your return visit did not match your first stay with us. It is always our goal to deliver exceptional service to all our guests and should we learn of any inconsistencies in the high standards we have set, we are always eager to address them as quickly as possible. We encourage our guests to share their concerns during their stay so that they may rectify any issues immediately as we wish to create an experience to inspire a return visit. Thank you for alerting us to your experience, we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust and provide you with an experience that surpasses your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    247
    70
    27
    24
See reviews for
363
296
28
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delavan, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are so thrilled with our 5 night stay at Wigwam. I would recommend to anyone wanting quiet and privacy to stay at the Adobe Terrace rooms. Ours was ground floor with a balcony as we requested. Out our balcony were the beautiful tennis courts and the Red Door Spa.The grounds were beautiful. Everyone we came in contact with was amazing. From the moment we arrived at 10pm at night and were warmly welcomed by the bell staff. They insisted on showing us to our room by having us follow them in their golf cart instead of giving us a map as most locations do. The staff that really stood out the most was Elodi the Concierge. From the moment she replied to my email questions about the resort, she went above and beyond in giving us all the events going on during our stay in the entire valley. She had asked what some of our plans were, and with that information, she really made the most memorable trip for us. One night we returned to our room after attending the Cardinals Football game to find champagne in our room with a hand written card from her thanking us for spending our anniversary with them and hoped we had a wonderful time at the game. The entire staff gave 4 star service, from pool attendants, housekeeping and front desk. The gift shop agent was sweet, they did not have the size I was looking for in a shirt and she offered to close the shop for 10 minutes to run to the storage room next door and check stock for me. She returned with the item I was looking for.The facility was clean and well maintained, the king room was overly spacious. We shared our experience with several friends we visited with on our trip and one of the couples is considering planning a weekend coming up for their anniversary. We will definitely stay there on our next trip back to Arizona. Thank you Wigwam for exceeding our expectations and creating wonderful memories for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Happy anniversary! We cannot thank you enough for your lovely review and for your recommendation of The Wigwam. Learning about your stay with us for your 27th wedding anniversary was truly heartwarming. All our associates really care about our guests and strive to provide top-notch personalized service to ensure many fond memories are formed. We love finding out how much you enjoyed your stay and about the staff members that helped create a special experience for you. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently held a 3 day conference at the Wigwam and we were very impressed with the entire hotel and the staff. The people there show a genuine love for this historic, yet fully modern, property and for delivering high-end service. From landscaping to housekeeping, from banquets to bar service, everyone was attentive, responsive and engaging. Highly recommend it for business or personal (as I was there for 4 days in advance of my program and found it delightful during my stay for that as well).

Room Tip: Pool views are lovely but I saw many rooms as was checking on them for our arriving guests and all w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your recommendation and for sharing a truly wonderful review. It pleases us greatly to learn that you enjoyed your time at The Wigwam during the conference as well as your four days prior to the event. Our guests are our top priority and it is our desire to provide an exceptional experience for everyone. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Staying in the Adobe Traditional rooms is a great way to have that added privacy to a hotel stay.Great location for large family or group gatherings with plenty of outdoor space for gatherings. No elevators or hallways to deal with just lots of open spaces surrounding your ground level rooms. We have stayed numerous times and have reservations to return for Thanksgiving

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a lovely review. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed staying at The Wigwam time and time again. Our resort stretches over 440 acres and offers a variety of accommodations including the rooms, casitas and suites crafted in the Territorial Adobe style that you recently stayed in. It means so much to us that you had a fantastic time here and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back for Thanksgiving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose the Wigwam for our outdoor wedding venue because it was the site of our grandparents 60th wedding anniversary. The link between the past and the future was important to us. But what we found really impressive was the calm assurance from the professional staff that everything would be taken care of: from the reservations, logistics in transportation, flowers, cake, audio, Litchfield's accomodations, everything was handled efficiently and to our satisfaction. With so many details in planning the wedding, it was nice that they took an active role in making sure everything went smoothly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HealeyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Congratulations on your recent nuptials. All of us here at The Wigwam have a special place in our heart for our guests and it is always our desire to care for them to ensure that many wonderful memories are made. We are delighted that we could help with everything from the reservations to the accommodations so that you could relax and enjoy your day. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. We hope that you’ll come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Wigwam while visiting family. We were not disappointed. The room was huge and the bed comfortable. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. My family enjoyed both pools, and the tennis courts looked very nice. The price for all this was very reasonable, and this will be my go to place when I visit again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wannabefoodcritic17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your visit to The Wigwam. Thank you for telling us about your all the aspects of your stay that your family enjoyed. Our commitment to our customers is our highest priority and we are happy that everyone had such a great experience and we are honored to be your go to place when visiting the area. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We chose the WigWam because it had golf and a spa but wasn’t a “traditional” hotel and it had great reviews on Trip Advisor for most everyone. We were not disappointed! Our 4 night stay at the WigWam from the moment we checked in until we left was just wonderful. The pictures on their website truly represent what it looks like in person. The staff was friendly and accommodating but not intrusive. We had wanted a room with a king bed and they were unable to give us one for the room & package we had booked so I asked for an upgrade with a room with a king bed. We were upgraded to a VERY LARGE suite. The food was excellent from guacamole & chips to fish taco’s to steak & wine at Litchfield’s. The 3 golf courses were very well maintained and offered different levels of golf. The pools were just beautiful and the Elizabeth Arden Spa & pool was wonderful, the spa blended in with entire feel of the facility. I highly recommend the WigWam for a full week vacation or just a staycation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your review and recommendation. Guests of The Wigwam can enjoy playing a round of golf on any or all of our three championship courses; they can also refresh and cool off in our pools, and rejuvenate at the Red Door Spa. We are glad that you had the chance to explore so much of what we have to offer during your visit. Thank you again for your review, we hope that you will have the chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#15 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 East Wigwam Blvd., Litchfield Park, AZ 85340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing