We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Relaxing”” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
““Relaxing””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and kids traveled with me on a business trip to Arizona, and recently stayed at the Wigwam. The staff was very polite and took pride in their work to ensure we were taken care of throughout our stay. The room was very spacious and had comfortable beds. We utilized the pool area every day, kids had a blast. While the kids played in the pool and on the slides, my wife and I relaxed enjoying the pool side amenities and music. Game room area was also enjoyed by the kids during the stay. Enjoyed the stay so much we have made arrangements to return in July on our way through Arizona. My wife and daughter are already looking forward to a another visit to the spa. This was a very relaxing stay and we look forward to the next time, definitely recommend the Wigwam resort.

Room Tip: Utilize the web page to choose the right room for your needs. This was a big help in getting the rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken33026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation for The Wigwam. It was very exciting to learn that you will be returning soon for another stay with us. Each guest that walks through our door is special to us and it is our goal to provide everyone with exceptional service to create a memorable visit. We were happy to hear that the kids had so much fun in the pool and that your wife and daughters enjoyed their time at the Red Door Spa. Thank you again; we’ll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    269
    75
    30
    25
See reviews for
395
322
30
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I took my two Granddaughters here for a weekend and it was a perfect spot for a short getaway. Hotel staff was uniformly polite and professional and quickly met all our requests. The room was large, clean and comfortable and the beds were top quality. The Spa was nice and our massages were top notch. The pool was where we spent most of the days; it large and included a slide which I love. The Main restaurant at the hotel had good food and some unusual dishes. We sat outside and had a nice relaxed evening. The Hostess was very helpful in finding us just the right table and did not seem the least bit annoyed when we kept changing our mind. This is a trip we would gladly repeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
How wonderful it is that you and your granddaughters enjoyed your weekend getaway at The Wigwam! Our staff’s number one priority is our guests and making sure their needs are cared for so that they can relax and have fun. We are delighted your accommodations, spa experience and meals were all enjoyed. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We only stayed for a night but it was the perfect little getaway! The rooms are made to look like your own little home and the room was excellent! The bed was beyond comfortable and the bathroom was stunning! We only really got a chance to go to the pool and it was so relaxing! The pool was the perfect temperature and it wasn't horribly crowded!
I would for sure go again to try out more of the facilities and spa!

Room Tip: We chose the basic adobe with a king size bed and it was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so happy that you loved your getaway at The Wigwam! It is always our desire to provide all the comforts of home plus a range of services and amenities to make your stay memorable. We hope that we can welcome you back soon so you can relax and enjoy the spa as well as the other wonderful benefits we have to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I have had many "staycations" around the Phoenix area over the past 10 years but this past weekend we had the opportunity to stay at one of the valley's oldest resorts originally built in 1918. Don't let the Wigwam's age fool you, it's a superbly modern resort with a rustic feel that is quite unique! The amenities were great and so was all the resort staff.

My wife and I originally planned a single night get-a-way for our 9 year wedding anniversary. We were so impressed with the resort and what it had to offer that we extended our stay an additional day and went home to get the kids and brought them back to enjoy the place with us. The resort is very kid/family friendly and is quite and intimate enough for a couples get away. For those of you who are in party mode (non-kid/family, would rather party with my friends) the Wigwam is great for that too. They had some live music being mixed by a DJ at the Tower pool on Saturday. Great atmosphere... so much so, That we've book another stay for our family in August! Looking forward to another weekend at the Wigwam!

Room Tip: We upgraded and stayed at a room by the Oasis pool. Very cool to look out onto the pool and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
One of the highest compliments any guest can give us is that they are planning to return for another stay at The Wigwam. Your review has given us great pleasure and we are so glad that everyone enjoyed their time here. We cannot thank you enough for all your positive feedback and comments. We’re all looking forward to your return in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my second visit with my husband on vacation but my husband stays here for work too. May is hot so it's not packed (except for remembrance weekend) but its still full enough for a nice vibe. The staff and service are great. We book rooms by the oasis pool as they are nice rooms and if you want a quiet pool it's perfect) the 80's music by the main pool after a few days can grate on your nerves a bit - might be one for the management to think on changing isn't the volume and the tape).

The bar has happy hour I'd recommend the prickly pear margaritas and the pork sliders, however the desserts need improving upon as they were nothing to write home about. Their salads are fresh and large and if you really need a shot of chocolate then order a chocolate martini not on the menu but ask and they'll mix it for you. Reds at the golf club is great for a big breakfast my husband loves the corned beef hash, whilst I normally have the buffet so I can have fresh fruit and a small plate of crispy bacon and eggs with potato.

The resort its self is beautifully maintained and I love the old school design it's so relaxing. I've no doubt we will return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzanneb933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We love hearing from our guests and learning all about their stay! Thank you so much for your review of The Wigwam; it was such a pleasure to have you and your husband stay with us. We must concur with your recommendation for the prickly pear margaritas and pork sliders, they are both very tasty. All guest feedback is welcomed, compliments or otherwise, as it allows us the opportunity to improve the experience for future guests and we will happily share your suggestions with our team. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had heard of stay-cations, but really never paid them much mind. My husband finally committed to taking a whole day off work and we stayed at the Wigwam Resort on a Sunday and Monday night. Loved it! He got some much needed rest, we ate out, went to the movies, I went swimming every day....we couldn't have asked for a better mini-vacation, knowing all the while we were less than 30 minutes from home.

Room Tip: We were the next ring out from the pool and it was perfect. Close enough to walk, far enough to be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
How absolutely wonderful it is that you and your husband decided to take a mini vacation at The Wigwam. Stay-cations are great since you don’t have to spend a lot of time traveling and can get right to having a relaxing time. Thank you very much for your review, we are thrilled that you both enjoyed your time with us and got the rest you needed. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I recently made the trip from Amsterdam to Phoenix and had a great time again at the Wigwam Resort. Indeed, rooms did not change to much during the last 10 years (except for the TV set probably...), but they are spacious, clean and with a comfortable bed. And, let's be honest, with the great (but sometimes very hot - 112 degrees) weather in Phoenix and a wonderful balcony or patio you don't want to spend much time in the room. Specially for longer stays, there's a good discount on the room-rate but yes,.....there's a resort fee however parking, WiFi, a newspaper and free oranges are all included!

Room Tip: Book a room near the Oasispool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you staying with us again. Thank you for sharing your comments and letting us know how much you enjoyed your time at The Wigwam. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing