We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Old Hotel”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Grand Old Hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Wigwam is a Historic Hotel of America. The grounds are extraordinary! The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a bar area with both inside and outside seating. The pool is nice with seperate areas for adults and a waterslide for kids. Unlike other old hotels, the rooms are not small and cramped, but are very spacious. I was in a suite, which offered a large living room with a fireplace and small bar area. The bedroom also was large with a very comfortable king. Both rooms had large flat-screen televisions. Even though my suite was by an area used for outdoor functions, it was quiet and offered a great night's sleep. The bathroom was nice, with a jacuzzi tub/shower, but was somewhat dated. This was the only flaw in my experience at The Wigwam. I spoke with other guests, who said their rooms were wonderful also. We all agreed that The Wigwam was worth a return visit! I wish I could give this hotel 4 3/4 stars because other than the bathroom, this is a five star property.

Room Tip: This is very close to two spring training venues and within 15 minutes of three others. Have dinn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
It is always wonderful to learn when a guest enjoys their visit to The Wigwam. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room and the many amenities offered to our guests. We certainly understand how important it is to be able to get a great night’s sleep when away from home and it brought us great pleasure to learn how well you slept while staying with us. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    282
    80
    30
    27
See reviews for
413
334
30
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The WigWam is perhaps a golfer's paradise with more than one course to play, amazing landscaping, and endless sunshine. But we were there for baseball, and the resort was the perfect rest and recovery spot between games. The staff is amazing, they drive the guests around on golf carts, remember your name, and genuinely help with everything you need. There are two pools, complete with slides, fountains, and poolside services (ice, food, drinks, updates on basketball game scores). There is a fabulous fitness center, and several onsite dining options. There was free nightly entertainment, a Sunday concert, complimentary oranges, and a great daily breakfast. The room was HUGE and very comfortable. The WigWam is in the middle of several of the baseball parks - we got to two of them, each less than 20 min away. And we felt much at home amid baseball fans from all over the country and those zany get-up-at-the-crack-of-dawn golfers. This was spring training done right.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many major league baseball teams practice in the phoenix area during spring training and at The Wigwam we are fortunate to be near several of the venues they practice at. We are delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed the many amenities available at our resort. Your compliments for our hotel and staff are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We love historic hotels and this one has a lot of character. The arcitecture was very 1930's Southwest.

Our room was a suit and it was HUGE. If we'd brought the kids it would have been perfect as well since it was two large rooms, a living room with a sleeper sofa, fireplace and TV and a bedroom, with a TV, walk-in closet and a safe. The room also had seating on the front and back patio areas. The bed and linens were some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on! The carpeting and bathroom is ready for some updating, but over all it was very nice.

We attended one of the wine dinners on site. The food was excellent and they worked with us on some allergy issues. It was a great value for all the courses, wine pairings and the quality of the food/wine. We met a lot of really nice people during our dinner as well, mostly locals which is telling when the locals eat there too!

The spa is gorgeous and the treatements we had were relaxing. Enjoyed the private spa.

We didn't use the pools, but they looked very clean and had some nice features for kids. The spa had an adult only pool. They were all heated.

We would go back again in a heart beat and would probably bring the kids next time too.

Room Tip: They have some condo/townhome type rooms and those were not in the casitas which have all the origin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurousFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Exceptional guest service and customer satisfaction is our ultimate goal and top priority at The Wigwam. We truly appreciate all your lovely comments and are thrilled you had such a great time while staying with us. The Red Door Spa you enjoyed while you were here is a haven of healing and balancing treatments. They not only offer relaxing massages but also a full-service salon and expansive fitness center to complete your wellness experience. Thank you so much for your review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were very impressed with the Wigwam resort- we stayed a week at the begining of December 2012. Plenty of open space and large choice of restaurants and pools. Our room was maybe a bit old fashioned but very spacious and comfortable. The staff couldnt do enough for us. It was a very quiet time of the year but everywhere was decorated for Christmas and at night the lights in the trees and cactuses gave the place a magical feel. Would definitely stay again if we return to Arizona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienedixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Your comments have brought smiles to our faces, thank you. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us in December. We are very happy that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room in addition to our restaurants and pools. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wigwam the next time you are in Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been going to the Wigwam for the last 4 years for baseball spring training. They are constantly upgrading. The lobby, pool area, and bar (inside and out) are awesome, very Arizona type. The hotel is a very old adobe type hotel.The rooms are in need of attention,which I think they are aware of. In the past 4 years they have replace the carpets, TV, and this year they put in refrigerators while we were there. The rooms are very clean, so the oldness does not bother me. The adobe type rooms are really cool and great for families. I think the next thing that I would like to see done is for them to replace the mattresses.
I would continue to go back and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kates0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your continued loyalty, your review and your recommendation of The Wigwam. Our staff is always thrilled to welcome back familiar faces and provide our guests with an outstanding stay experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimbres, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice space, quiet, laid back atmosphere. We did not bring pets but were happy to see they are pet friendly. A little more attention could be paid to details and the lack supplying higher quality toiletries is reason for only 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Wigwam for your recent stay in the area. We were very happy to learn that you enjoyed a quiet and laid back stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding toiletries and will share your suggestions with our management team. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed one night at the Wigwam, having scored a great rate from their online specials (less than half what they quoted me on my first phone call!) Arrived to discover lovely, green grounds, a very large resort, with a good selection of restaurants and after dinner, we enjoyed live music outside at night, with 'fairy lights' in the trees and an outside gas fire which made for a cosy nightcap. Room was very large and had a nice patio as well. We didn't need to go anywhere else, which made ao a relaxing time. Didn't get to swim in their pool or use the spa, but the gym facility was also great! Definitely more of a place for 'mature couples' to golf/play tennis etc (we traveled as two female friends) but still had a nice time. Only real complaint / surprise is their restaurant didn't offer any non-dairy milk options for coffees (eg. soy or almond milk - just regular/skim).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBennetts_RVLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Your kind review is sincerely appreciated and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at The Wigwam. Our resort is situated on 440 lushly landscaped acres and offers guests the opportunity to play golf on three championship courses, take in a game of tennis on two professional-grade clay courts and six concrete courts plus we have four pools on site and a variety of activities to enjoy. We are delighted your visit was such a great escape and we hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing