We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great Resort, good restaurants, nice staff, very nice grounds you forget your pretty much in the middle of town if your there very long. Red door spa is terrefic. Golf course is great. Main pool was wonderful with pool side bar service, I'd avoid it on the weekends though as it gets crowded with kids.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msanti42000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

How wonderful it is that you enjoyed your time with us so much. At The Wigwam we hope that every guest’s experience is memorable. We’re delighted you that you had a chance to explore some of the activities and amenities we offer such as spending some time relaxing at the Red Door Spa or taking in a round of golf on our championship courses. We hope that you will return soon for another visit as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a great resort for a work team conference. The food was delicious, restaurant experiences deserve a return visit and bar staff delightful to our crazy group. Conference rooms were accommodating and comfortable with outstanding service.

The downside was air conditioning in the room. AC was in part controlled by the neighboring room. Room was very hot and unless the room next door also had AC on the unit was deemed useless. The staff arranged a new room. The back of the resort new room temperature would not go below 70. In January this was tolerable, warmer months would be unbearable.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom2MGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of The Wigwam. We’re thrilled that your conference went well and that we could play a part in creating a memorable time for all. We greatly appreciate your compliments for our staff as well as our restaurant. It is however regrettable that you experienced some inconveniences with regard to the room temperature, we are truly sorry. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 4 days over Xmas. This is a delightful resort. It is old, built in the 20's, but the important things are modern and up to date. New flat screen tv's, great work out center and spacious rooms. Excellent pools that are heated to allow comfortable swimming even in December. You are taken to your room in a golf cart since parking near your room may not be possible. The grounds are beautiful with lots of rosé bushes.loved the old adobe style buildings. You expect to see Cary Grant and Carol Lombard walk through the lobby. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rgmugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

The Wigwam first opened on Thanksgiving Day 1929 and since then we have steadily grown while maintaining our authenticity and southwestern charm. We couldn’t be more pleased that your Christmas stay with us was enjoyed so much by you. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I attended a conference here. Rooms are somewhat dated but have a certain old time appeal. The service staff were excellent. I did not have a chance to golf or try the pools but the pools looked clean. Be prepared to do a lot of walking. They have attendants with golf carts to pick you up but when it is busy they can not get to you quickly. No bar in room. Room service is expensive. AZ is expensive anyway.

Room Tip: Taxi from airport is about $65.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodeIslander007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Wigwam and your gracious praise for our staff. Everyone here is committed to ensuring that our guests’ time at the hotel is memorable so we are thrilled that we could help to make your time with us for the conference enjoyable. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again whether it is for business or for leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family met at the Wigwam for a weekend birthday celebration. The customer service throughout the weekend was incredible. Staff went to great lengths to make things easy and convenient for us. We were impressed. As a plus, the property was beautiful and well maintained. We would all definitely like to come back some day.We also love dog-friendly places, which this was.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenaDulberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We are delighted that your birthday celebration weekend at The Wigwam was enjoyed so much by everyone. It is always our goal to provide exceptional guest services and to do whatever we can to help create a truly memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I booked a room to attend a jazz festival being held at this resort. I had stayed there before and had a good experience. This time was different. Although we were given our room key we were not allowed to go to our room, because it faced the lawn where weddings were taking place--one after the other. When we got to our room, our front porch opened in to the wedding reception on the lawn. The bartenders were practically on our porch. Staff helping with the weddings were very apologetic, but there was nothing they could do. As an accommodation, we were given a late check out-- 1 p.m. However the keys stopped working at the pool and exercise facilities shortly thereafter.
We went to have dinner at Red's Bar and Grill. Left the concert early to beat the rush. It was not crowded. After getting a sit immediately, we had to wait to order. We ordered the same thing as the table next to us, immediately after they order: A salad and pork chops. THe table next to us got their food in about 15 minutes. A half an hour later, still no food and no waitress, except she did give us the bill. I tracked someone down who was a bus boy who could do nothing although he tried. Finally, I found someone who told us it was our fault for coming when it was busy--mind you, some of the folks that came at the rush were already eating. We never saw our waitress. When we got the food, the hot dish was cold. It had obviously been sitting. trying to pay the bill was challenging, even standing at the bar trying to pay.
This is suppose to be a first class resort, but it was not when we there. Staff needs to be better trained and the resort should not be renting out rooms that people can't use.
On the plus side, the grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: Make sure the room does not face the Wedding lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azsunshinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are so very sorry for the delays and inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced less than exceptional service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers. We hope that you will visit us again so we can provide the service and experience that that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our third trip to Wigwam. Love, love, love the place. Took some friends and they feel in love with the charm of the Wigwam. Great rooms, great food, great service...only down side was the weather!

Room Tip: Casita rooms are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 119fresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We love, love, love your review. Thank you for expressing your fondness for The Wigwam. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with exceptional service with all the amenities to create many wonderful memories. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
23.8 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
19.4 mi away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
18.2 mi away
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
23.5 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,175 reviews
22.3 mi away
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range: $141 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing