We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Southwest Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Classic Southwest Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a charming southwest resort with terrific customer service. The grounds and the pool area are beautiful. The Spa and golf are perfect for meeting both my needs and my husbands needs.
It is a little gem. We use the Wigwam anytime we return to Litchfield Park. The rooms are neat and clean with lovely linens. Soon the rooms will receive and update which will make this the experience 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review and kind words for The Wigwam and our staff. We love that you and your husband both found the perfect activity to meet your needs and make your stay special. Everyone here is looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    269
    75
    30
    25
See reviews for
395
322
30
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This Resort was everything we had hoped it would be! My daughter, mother and I met up with my sister and her kids for a mini getaway in June 2012. We had a poolside room with a sliding door that opened up just steps away from the pool gate. The rooms, pools & staff were all superb! We made use of the cabana's during the day that were just feet away from the pools edge to sit and watch the kiddos swim and slide down the water slide. The poolside bar & snack bar were quick and the food was piping hot. We spent a quick three days visiting and enjoying being in a great area. There are sites to see that are close by but we were there for relaxation and lounging. Summer time in the desert offers discounted rates that make this resort affordable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMD431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
How wonderful that your family could meet up at The Wigwam to enjoy a relaxing getaway. We are thrilled that everyone enjoyed the poolside room just steps away from the refreshing water where the kids spent time playing about in the pool and on the slide. Thank you so much for your many compliments; we hope that we can welcome you all back again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This Resort is laid out like a village. There can be a lot of people in residence without it feeling overrun. The staff are outstanding!! Truly, they are there to attend to your every wish and desire and they do it with a smile. They remember your name and what you like! They make me feel at home. The accommodations are also wonderful. I NEVER leave home without my pillow. After my first trip here, I leave it at home now!!! That is saying something about the quality of their bedding. The rooms are super clean, quiet, and the beds are extremely comfortable. I always look forward to my stays at the Wigwam!

Room Tip: Try all the restaurants. Each one has something different, and Litchfield's is delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lytledawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We can’t thank you enough for your wonderful review of The Wigwam. It is always our pleasure to take care of our guests and create a memorable experience for them. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt at home during while here. Thank you again for your gracious praise; we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back again. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the suites (402) beside the golf course. This gave us quiet, a park-like setting, a large patio for sitting outside, and plenty of room for my 3 year-old niece to run and run and run on the soft grass that was between the buildings. Pricing for the accommodations was very fair for a resort setting.
Only dislike was the loud outdoor pop music piped over the patio dining areas that drown out the sounds of the birds and trees rustling in the desert breezes.

Room Tip: The homemade yogurt, dates from trees on the property and fresh roasted peppers were excellent. Appr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moclipian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
A memorable visit is our goal for every guest so we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Wigwam. We love hearing about our guest’s experiences and what a joy it was to hear about your niece having fun running about on the grass. It is however regretful that the music in the dining area drowned out the sounds of nature that surrounds our resort and hope that it did not greatly impact your overall stay. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
29 Palms
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My best friend and I stayed 4 days over Thanksgiving and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We were in a suite near the front of the property and it was just as quiet as it was in the back of the resort. The concierges were very helpful with assisting us with a refrigerator, playpen, and an extra robe. The cleaning staff was early so if you do not want to wake up early to knocking, put the "do not disturb" sign on the door, Arizona does not change its clocks in fall and spring. The resort was kid friendly, my son enjoyed himself in the pool and even made a friend. Before I even sat down, ice water and cups were set down near my lounge chair and the pool staff would check on me to see if I needed anything else. I visited the jewelry store on site every night and purchased many new pieces at such a great price with the help of the ladies that ran it. I would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The property was equally proportioned so any area would be good. The grounds were beautiful so the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StraightBlue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It is always wonderful to learn when a guest enjoys their visit to The Wigwam. We are so happy that everyone had a great time while visiting over Thanksgiving and our concierge was able to assist you with your needs; our associates are always eager to help. We hope that your return to The Wigwam will be soon as we would love to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed for three nights in a suite in mid-November, number 268 to be precise.

the pros:
the room was quite large, with a good bed and linens, and two nice flat screen TVs. We also enjoyed the gas fireplace in the evenings. The resort grounds are quite nice with beautiful roses bushes throughout.We ate at the restaurant one night and while the service was a bit slow, the food was good and fairly priced.
the cons:
the room was kind of like stepping into 1981 in terms of style. And the bathroom in particular should be gutted and re-done. The tile is old, the grout is peeling, same with the caulking. The sinks were stained and my wife completely freaked out after seeing a 2 inch cockroach on her tooth brush on our escond night. I informed our housekeeper who spoke next to zero english she said she would phone it in. I heard her on the radio shortly thereafter and there was laughter, not sure about what. One last annoyance was that each night we found that someone decided the best time to program the sprinkler system for the grounds outside our room was between 9 and 10PM thereby making it impossible to return to or leave the room without getting wet. Dumb. How about 3AM instead?

In sum it seems there is something of a lack of pride (except for the grounds) which is a shame because the potential for this place is very high. There needs to be investment in renovating/updating and a greater focus on pest control and overall execution.

Room Tip: I was told that the casitas were recently updated but I didn't get a look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robg9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Although you have shared an appreciation for our resort grounds and the amenities provided in your room, we deeply regret that we were not able to fully impress you during your stay. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered due to the sprinkler timers and we will gladly pass along your suggestion to management. Please be assured that our resort has very strict standards and protocols in place including pest control. In the unusual event we are made aware of any concern, we respond immediately and take all appropriate steps to ensure each room is ready for the next guest. Thank you for your review and suggestions. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were at the Wigwam for a 6 nights on biz and pleasure. This historic property is absolutely beautiful with tons of history. It is also located away from the freeway, so it's very quiet. We didn't get to eat at the main restaurant, but it looks awesome. We did eat at the golf course (Red's), and the food and service were excellent. The room was a nice size and very comfortable. The only negative is the bathrooms sorely need updating. The lobby has been renovated, and the property is very classy. Once they update the rooms, it will be a first class resort. But right now, it is an excellent value for what we paid and we really enjoyed our stay - highly recommended!

Good golf courses too........not target desert golf, so you can actually find your ball if you don't hit it perfectly straight every time. Play them after they have been over seeded in October. Nice golf shop with excellent merchandise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "500 Building". This is in the back of the resort close to the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation and review of The Wigwam. It’s great that you had a chance to combine business and pleasure while staying with us. Red's Bar & Grill, overlooking the Gold and Patriot golf courses, combines casual atmosphere and soul-warming cuisine; we are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience. All comments are appreciated and we thank you for sharing your thoughts on the lavatories within the guest rooms and pass them along to our management team. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay and hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing