We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Don't get me wrong, this hotel is the nicest hotel that Litchfield Park/Buckeye is going to offer you, but it's not worth the price of $200+/night.

Things they do well:

- Great first impression on initial check in / tour to your room.
- The nuts they put in your room, although I'm sure expensive, were tasty.

Things they don't do so well:

- My room had no soap for the bathrooms
- My toilet seat was broken
- One of my coffee tables was "sticky"?
- There was dust everywhere, they only clean on things you can see, if you lift something up, you'll get a nice little surprise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank optize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Although we appreciate your comments, we are truly disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We were happy to read about the things that you liked while staying at our resort and we thank you for mentioning them. Please accept our apologies for the issues that you experienced. We do encourage guests to share any concerns with us at the time of the stay and regret that we did not have the opportunity to make your stay exceptional. Your comments will be shared with our management team so that we may continue to improve our service. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
There are newer reviews for The Wigwam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We attended the Special Olympics NIT Golf Tournament. From beginning to end the service was fabulous. The staff was great, very attentitive and accomodating. They always had a smile and offered assistance. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The beds are sooo comfortable! Each room has its own little patio outside and is a great place to enjoy the early mornings. The golf staff did a fantastic job with so many moving parts to the tournament and always with a pleasant attitude. Would definately return again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmniTucsonNational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We were thrilled to have been able to host the 2012 Golf National Invitational Tournament at The Wigwam this September. It was a truly great event that our staff enjoyed being a part of. We're delighted you had such a good time and were so comfortable in your accommodations. We hope that you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a beautiful property. Beautifully restored buildings and impeccable landscaping. Spacious rooms and very clean. Comfortable mattress and assorted pillows. Our room was quite large and poolside. The pool was clean and the pool bar served fantastic margarita's. Had drinks at the Wigwam bar and a light appetizer while we listened to a very talented man named Steve Colby sing our favorite songs. The food was outrageously good. We only live 5 minutes away, but are already planning another weekend at the Wigwam. Great price for locals too. This was one of the top 4 places we have ever stayed. Absolutely cannot find one negative thing to say about the Wigwam resort. We highly recommend it~!

Room Tip: Just ask the staff. I told them what I wanted and they put us in the perfect room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We are extremely appreciative of your high recommendation and glowing review of The Wigwam. It is a huge compliment for us when our guest is a local resident and after staying with us has decided that they would like to come back for another weekend getaway, thank you. We're thrilled your getaway was so much fun and we are looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Wow! Always a great stay at the Wigwam... One of the things we like most is the way the rooms join in the casitas... great for getting a group of friends together for a weekend getaway. Love the pool, the golf, the spa, the dinning... It's a family tradition.

thanks for the great time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for making The Wigwam a part of your family tradition. We're delighted you enjoyed our pools and so many of the other amenities at our resort. We hope that you can return soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent immediate nonjudgemental service no matter the request. Clients are highly respected and served from solid quality employees with years at the Wigwam. The Wigwam service and attention to detail in all realms from private accomodations to meeting rooms makes clients feel special and relaxed. Very highend but relaxed non stressed atmosphere of excellent meeting rooms, anticipated buffet luncheons, immediate service for seminar speakers, clean fresh air ventilation, clean restrooms, everything is constantly serviced with friendly attitude and KNOWLEGE no matter the job. Sloppy "just good enough" attitude does not exist at the Wigwam. It is not only a great place for seminars but the superior friendly service and attention to detail filters throughout the resort to the vacationer looking for a quiet relaxed time. Southern Arizona Dental Hygienist Association continues after at least 12 years running to anticipate with much excitement their yearly convention at the Wigwam to indulge in tasty healthy buffets, quiet well furnished meeting rooms, elegant overnight accomodations and all with unbeatable service. Want to be lifted up and feel esteemed? Have your function or vacation at the Wigwam.
Nancy Newman RDH BSDH

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Wigwam. We enjoyed reading about your impressions of our resort and our staff members. Our guests are a top priority for all of us and we find great pleasure in creating the perfect experience for everyone. We were thrilled to welcome back the members of the Arizona State Dental Hygienists Association and look forward to the conference's return next year. Thank you again for all your kind remarks and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Wigwam the last few days of August 2012 for a work trip. Not only were the prices at this time of year amazing, the service and atmosphere could not be matched! I have stayed at big concierge hotels and they did not compare to the Wigwam. It was my birthday, and the Wigwam staff made three custom cupcakes, with delicious, soft consistency and fresh icing. They even left me a card! The large Oasis rooms - HUGE. It was like having my own apartment. I even had a shower separate from the huge soaking tub. The cleanliness was unmatched. Everything was shiny, clean, and even the little Southwestern touches of the blanket on the bed were wonderful. The bed was VERY comfy. I have not slept like that in a hotel in a long, long time. The pools are amazing. The Oasis pool is a bit warmer than the family pool. We even went down the fun waterslide. The drink specials in the Litchfield bar are great! Try the prickly pear margaritas or the pomogranite martini drink. Out by the family pool there is another bar and the mojitos were fabulous. Everyone asked if we needed anything, anywhere we walked. We were especially happy with the service when we arrived - the valet guy will take you to your room on a golf cart and carry all your luggage to your room and put it away. They will drive you all over the resort if you call. We loved walking the grounds though, there are fun little recreation corners and catalog looking sitting areas everywhere! Laura at the front desk laughed with us and talked to us about home. Jess and Dennis brought wine and pizza to our room and helped set us up! They were SO nice! Finally, try the breakfast burritos in the cafe area. Delicious, authentic tasting Mexican cuisine. Kudos to the Wigwam. I am already talking to my husband about going back for a couples trip.

Room Tip: Try the Oasis for spectacular pool views. They are also bigger rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Once again we would like to wish you a Happy Birthday! We would love to see you and your husband come back again for a romantic couple’s getaway. Your many kind comments about our staff members, accommodations and amenities are sincerely appreciated; thank you. We're glad you enjoyed our pools and had the chance to try out the waterslide! Please come visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Wigwam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I (we) have been coming back / staying at the Wigwam since we first arrived in Arizona in 1989. We used to drive up rom Sierra Vista about twice a year for those "get away weekends"...then it was more frequently after we moved to the Phoenix area in 1993. Why do we keep coming back...the answer is easy -- it starts with that feeling of warmth and 'class' when you drive in to check-in; then it's the smile and personalization at the registration desk; followed by the 'peaceful / serene' walk through the manicured flowered landscape to your room. Open the door to your room and their is a southwestern warmth you don't experience anywhere else. Whether its a round of golf, a dip in the pool or a relaxing trip to the spa - followed by a visit to the lounge for a drink before dinner at Litchfield's...you know you're about to experience a wonderful, relaxing stay. Check-out comes toooo soon -- but we know we'll be back!!

Room Tip: We like the rooms/suites near the pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordo2012T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We can't thank you enough for sharing such a glowing review. Making happy memories while feeling relaxed and at home is exactly what a stay at The Wigwam is all about. We were all so touched by your review and we're all looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
23.8 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
19.4 mi away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
23.5 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,166 reviews
22.3 mi away
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range: $135 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing