We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful , historic , family-oriented resort”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have been coming to the Wigwam for several years and we will always try to return at least once a year. Having stayed at resorts all over the world , the Wigwam is our favorite and the main reason for this is the staff. The staff at the Wigwam Resort are the most friendly, helpful and professional staff we've encountered anywhere. They always make you feel welcome, from the front desk to the pool staff, security , housekeeping, bar and wait staff all seem to really enjoy taking care of the hotel guests. This is a rare find in the hospitality industry today. We've had several large family gatherings there and have always felt welcome to have fun and enjoy all the resort has to offer. The resort itself is classic American Southwest and the rooms are very nicely done, clean , spacious and well appointed. ( our only improvement would be small refrigerators in the larger suites)
The pool area is very nice , great for families and adults. The Wigwam bar with service inside or outside is really nice with fire pits and large comfy whicker rockers. And the addition of two bocce
courts is awesome. We were even given bocce lessons by Amy Beth at the bar. The restaurants are nice with good traditional southwest fare and the usual superb Wigwam service. We will always look forward to our stays at this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmhkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

We will always be looking forward to your return visits to The Wigwam. Our guests are so special to us that we tend to think of them more as an extension of our family so we enjoy seeing and taking care of them. Your many compliments of our resort and staff members are sincerely appreciated; thank you. We hope your next visit to The Wigwam will not be too far off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
There are newer reviews for The Wigwam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Four older couples with husbands who love to golf spent 5 days at this beautiful. resort. The set up is ideal for families or a couples romantic get away. Property is spacious,different styles of accommodations to suit all needs. We enjoyed the pool near the lodge didn't even make it to the other one which is more secluded.The husbands played each day and once a T time is set could do 18 27 or 36 holes. Our rooms were older .very large and each had a big patio overlooking the tennis courts. Roses were in bloom everywhere, grounds very well maintained. Food is a little pricey but very good. We did go out to nearby restaurants a couple of times. One drawback is the lack of a small refrigerator in the room to keep water cold. Ice machine was nearby for cocktail hour.

Room Tip: The resort is set up so that you feel like you are in a small private neighborhood. Great pathways t...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieS907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

It is always a treat for us to read a guest’s review and learn of their experience at The Wigwam. We loved reading about how the husbands in your group played golf each day on our championship golf courses and about how much you enjoyed the pool and our grounds. Thank you for your review; we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This review is to follow one about 6 months ago (bad experience). The management contacted me, discussed the plan for the issue and offered us an opportunity to come back and try the Wigwam again.

This time was very different. The staff very friendly and helpful. The whole experience relaxing - a great "oasis" if one wants a couple days relief from daily stress. Also, "Litchfields" (in the Wigwam) is a very good restaurant, using (for the most part) only local ingredients.

Room Tip: If one wants a "classic" old world experience (with modern amenities) as for one of the ca...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1BlueSkyTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

It truly makes us happy to know that your return visit to The Wigwam was one in which you were able to escape life's daily stress and enjoy your time with us. We’re so glad your meal at Litchfield’s was pleasing. As you mentioned, our menu is crafted from farm-to-table and locally sourced produce harvested at The Wigwam for the freshest and most delicious cuisine. We hope that you will be back again soon as we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The atmosphere and calming energy of this resort is spectacular. It is a beautiful gem set in the quaint city of Litchfield Park, AZ. The staff at the Wigwam provided SUPERIOR customer service ensuring our stay was comfortable and pleasant.

We attended the annual AZ Jazz Festival that took place on the resort property. It was a fabulous experience! The event was well organized and logistically sound. My only criticism was the food. There was not enough variety in food selections and the quality was mediocre at best.

Overall... FABULOUS!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

It is such an honor to be thought of as a beautiful gem and we are elated that your visit to The Wigwam was a fabulous one. Thank you for your many kind words; we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Based on the rate we paid, I was expecting something much less polished than this. The place is beautiful - everything is extremely well maintained, the grounds were immaculate and the room was huge (it was the biggest bathroom I have every seen in a hotel!). We had a 2nd floor room with a balcony overlooking the secondary pool - very nice, the balcony had a lounge chair which was great for reading and sitting outside. The main pool area is great - waterslides, lots of available pool chairs, hot tub and attendants who bring jugs of water. Me and the boys even played bocce in the court beside the pool. I was also sort of thinking that this place is more isolated than it actually is - there is every kind of dining available in the Goodyear/Litchfield area within a 5 to 10 minute car ride. And there are restaurants right across the street, where you can get decent food at "not hotel" prices. My only issues are 1) the room could use a microwave, it has a decent sized fridge though and 2) the whole issue of resort fees is somewhat silly to me, considering they are mandatory - why not just make them part of the rate. However, these are minor, and we were left with the stron impression that we would definitely like to go back for another stay.

Room Tip: I had the sleep quality only rated as average - and this is a complaint that I have with a lot of ho...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

It’s wonderful when expectations are exceeded and a good time is had by all. We’re elated you had such a wonderful stay and experienced many of the activities available at The Wigwam. Our custom built regulation masonry Bocce courts allow for hours of enjoyment for our guests and we’re so glad you and the boys had an opportunity to play. For future stays we would like to let you know that microwaves are available upon request, so please do not hesitate to speak to our staff if there is anything you should need during your next visit to The Wigwam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I have returned 3 years in a row, for relaxation, golf, spa, base to tour other things - Grand Canyon, Sedona. It is old school luxury, if that makes sense. Beautiful grounds....I literally stopped to smell the roses (literally) every single day. Oozes with history, yet not dated in amenities, facilities, etc. First class service without the pretension of Scottsdale...Excellent value, including the golf courses (3). Also, Lichtfield has every restaurant/shop anyone could want...very close.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMNTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Everyone should take the time to stop and smell the roses, literally or metaphorically. Reading your review brought us a great amount of joy as we learned of your appreciation for The Wigwam and our staff. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your husband back to The Wigwam and we hope that we can do it again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

What an excellent place to stay. Awesome rooms, clean. The food was excellent. The hotel staf were always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: No tips, just call them.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjhill50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review of The Wigwam. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed the rooms, staff and food so much. We hope you will return again soon for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
23.8 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
19.4 mi away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
23.5 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#22 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,166 reviews
22.3 mi away
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range: $136 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing