We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful,historic property, with top service but a bit of a tired room”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Overall, this is really neat resort. The property grounds are beautiful, full of flowers and amazing attention to detail throughout. The staff are some of the best ever; absolutely enganged in their job and often calling you by your name. Definately, a positive Arizona experience if you are in the Phoenix area. It's on the very west side of the Phoenix valley area so it may not be that convenient for some, but if you have a car it's a wonderful destination that you can easily get to where you want by freeway.

The room is the only downside. We booked an Oasis Terrace guest room. It was the most expensive available at the time of booking. The room itself seemed a bit tired and the decor was really lacking. Almost not pictures on the walls and the carpet looked dirty. Really out of place for the rest of the resort. Maybe it was just this room. It wasn't worth changing rooms as we spent the days at the pool, but the resort itself is so perfect in every way I wonder why the room was sort of "less than"?

Anyway, still a big recommended on staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScipioAfricanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation of The Wigwam and your many wonderful compliments of our staff and property. We sincerely regret that your room was not as you had anticipated. On your next visit we hope that you will let us know if there any concerns so that we may address them immediately. Thank you again for your review; we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

We spent our last night at the Wigwam, after spending 4 days in Sedona/Grand Canyon, and sure wish we'd had more time to relax here, as it was absolutely wonderful. From the time we checked in, until the minute we left, we felt very welcome. As other reviewers have said, the grounds are absolutely beautiful. The thing that will stand out in my mind is the vibe in the outdoor courtyard near the Lodge pool. Our family played Bocce ball, while other guests tossed bags, enjoyed wine around the fire pit, dined, or lounged in the pool, all while enjoying live music. I can't recall another hotel I've stayed in recently that had such a "community feel", and it was truly heartwarming. We literally spent 12 hours poolside, it is that fabulous. The pool is amazing, with a separate area for kids that included waterslides. The hot tub is very large and surrounded by beautiful flowering plants, which makes it even more relaxing. The room we stayed in was simple, but very large, with a patio and HUGE bathroom divided into 3 areas - closet/changing area, double sink with very long counter (helpful for mom and 2 teenage daughters to get ready together) and shower/toilet. The beds were very comfortable, plentiful amenities, a flat screen tv, and something else I've yet to see - a desk with a touchscreen monitor to easily access hotel and local info. I am so happy with my choice to end our vacation here, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

We too are happy that you chose to stay at The Wigwam and wish that you could have spent a little more time with us. Our guests are more than visitors; we feel as though each and every guest becomes a part of our extended family that just continues to grow all the time. Thank you for your many generous comments about our staff and resort grounds; we sincerely appreciate them. We hope that you will all return again soon to The Wigwam for more fun in the pool and a friendly game of Bocce ball with the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights while visiting family in the area. Hotel and grounds were lovely. Service was fantastic and the pool areas are beautiful. Room was well appointed and the bed was really comfortable. We were impressed with the hotel and would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockieReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

We’re delighted that you enjoyed so much about your stay at The Wigwam and were able to relax in comfort. Everyone at The Wigwam will be anxiously awaiting your return as it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Had the opportunity to spend 2 nights at the Wigwam. Stayed in one of the bungalows.At first arrival the service was fantastic. The crew at the valet area ensured you were taken care of.They run you and your group along with bags to your doorstep via the limo golf carts.The kids loved that part.The property is so large that you need them to get you around to the restaurants located at the pro shop.Pool is a great place to spend the afternoon with the waterslides and poolside service.The hotel is furnished with mostly reclaimed furniture and western antiques from the surounding area.Photos depicting what things were like there in the early days.Very cool.You really do get the resort feel when you stay here.We will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

We’re elated that your stay at The Wigwam was one that was enjoyed by everyone. Our photographic archives that line our walls are loved by many guests as they often find themselves swept away on a journey back in time. We are all looking forward to your return to The Wigwam and hope your next visit can be a little longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

What a wonderful resort. The grounds are just beautiful and well maintained. It was so much better than staying in a regular hotel where you constantly hear people walking up/down the hallways. We didn't even know if anyone was in the room next to us - it was so quiet. Will definitely stay here again when we vacation in Arizona! Definitely recommend to families with kids as there are activities for them to do besides swim - bocce ball, tennis, campfires.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you so very much for the many wonderful compliments. We love hearing from our guests and we were so pleased to see that you mentioned the variety fun activities available at our resort for children. While our Lodge pool with its twisting water slide and dancing water fountain play areas is a big hit, there are a range of other fun activities available for our younger guests such as the bocce and tennis courts you mentioned. Everyone here at The Wigwam would love to welcome you back again on your next vacation in Arizona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend and had a great time. If you are a baseball fan interested in spring training games this is a great location as several of the stadiums are within about 20-30 minutes from here. The pool was beautiful, and they have music at night out by the pool.
We had facials and massages at the Red Door Spa which was fantastic. The atmosphere in the spa is so relaxing and enjoyable as were all the staff.
The restaurants on site had great food but the service was a little spotty.
We played a round of golf on the gold course. The course is fun but not overly challenging. The fairways and greens were in great shape. Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jode1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Spring training in Arizona is always a fun time and we’re so happy you chose to experience it while staying at The Wigwam. Goodyear Ballpark, Surprise Stadium, Glendale Stadium, Maryvale Park and Peoria Sports Complex are all less than twenty miles from The Wigwam allowing guests to very easily attend the games they want to see. We’re delighted that you had a great time and that you had the opportunity to indulge in some of the many amenities available to our guests. We do hope that you will return again soon to The Wigwam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I just returned from a week long business trip in Phoenix where we stayed at the Wigwam. The grounds are breath-taking, the staff was so courteous and kind. We ate at all three restaurant's and could not pick which one we liked the most, they are all excellent. I did not come with my children but I was happy to see the area especially for kids, the pool, slides and place where children could order beverages, I thought that was a sweet touch. The room was so comfortable, it was hard for me to get out of bed for the meetings! Day and night it was pleasant walking the grounds. The history that is displayed throughout different area's of the hotel lobby almost brings a magical touch to the resort, like for awhile you are transported to a different time/ era. It was a wonderful stay and now since I have friends who recently moved to the area I know where I will be staying during my visits!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

How absolutely wonderful it is that you first came to The Wigwam for business but your plans to return are for pleasure. We love that you enjoyed so much about your stay with us; from the comfort of your bed to the history of our resort. Thank you for all your kind words. We’ll be looking forward to welcoming you back again to The Wigwam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
23.8 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
19.4 mi away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
18.2 mi away
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
23.5 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,174 reviews
22.3 mi away
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range: $141 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing