We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Way to Celebrate a Birthday!”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cave Creek, Arizona
1 review
“Fantastic Way to Celebrate a Birthday!”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband & I spent my birthday weekend at the Wigwam Resort at the end of August and we couldn't be happier. Our room was fantastic; the food & drinks were top-notch; and the staff was superior and willing to go the extra mile to make sure we were happy. We will definitely be back and will tell all of our friends to stay here. Whether you are celebrating a special occasion or just want to get away, the Wigwam has everything you need to have a memorable time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetkaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Happy Birthday! It is an honor that you and your husband chose to celebrate your birthday at The Wigwam. We always enjoy reading about our guest's experiences, their delight with our resort and the superior service they received from our staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your story and for the fantastic review and recommendation. We look forward to your next visit to The Wigwam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    282
    80
    30
    27
See reviews for
413
334
30
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Very Good (OVERALL PROPERTY AND STAFF):
The Wigwam is a beautiful property with lush/green grounds, large rooms, and gorgeous pools. I received wonderful service at check-in and check-out, both clerks where efficient and friendly. I also enjoyed a delicious and quick breakfast in the lounge, the server was prompt and the quality was top-notch.

The So-So (ROOM 605):
While the room was very spacious and adequately furnished, the carpet was stained (a permanent rust colored stain approximately one square foot near the desk area), tile in the bathroom is need of re-grouting (dingy), and the old “tube” television (not broke, just picture quality) is in need of replacement with a newer high definition television. The room was clean (despite the permanent carpet stain, the carpet needs replacement), had a very nice bed with quality linens, and a wonderful balcony with a view of the pool. What I found very strange was the very high-tech touch screen computer terminal on the desk for ordering room service, reviewing hotel amenities, etc while the television is dated back to the 1990’s. Why have this nifty device and not upgrade the televisions?

Room renovation priorities seem amiss, plus more "art" is needed in the room. The very large room had a total of three 10"X10" historical black and white prints. The walls where just "screaming" for something, a nice dessert landscape painting, mirror, etc.


The Bottom-Line:
For a $100.00/night the Wigwam is perfect. If I had paid $250.00/night I would have been very disappointed and would have ending up writing a seething review.

Room Tip: Just ask, the staff at the Wigwam is great and will do thier best to get you a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and the attentive service you deserve. Earlier this year, The Wigwam unveiled a $7 million dollar renovation and upgrade throughout the resort, blending the historic characteristics with the luxury and modern amenities of today. With feedback received from our guests and locals, we were able to incorporate aspects of what they enjoyed most at the resort and what they would like changed. The results of those efforts and feedback have been so wonderful. It is regrettable that the accommodations were not up to your expectations. It would have been our pleasure to address your concerns during your stay to ensure a more enjoyable stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback and suggestions on the room decoration. We hope you will return for another visit to ‘Make Some History’ with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have stayed here previously always great service attentive staff great activities

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy18018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
It’s always nice to hear from our returning guests! Thank you for sharing your kind words about our staff and amenities with everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wigwam and hope it’s soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Valet and bell staff provided Immediate greetings upon arrival. Front desk staff could not have been more professional and efficient. lobby rooms are finished with a real western motif. Casitas/rooms are spacious. quiet, and comfortable. Room service, tee time, and reservations ordered from in room touch screen monitor. Fitness center with nautilus equipment. For a nominal fee they have poolside cabanas that include bottled waters, fresh fruit and refuge. The poolside bar and attendants are extremely attentive. (A+ on the adult beverages) providing Great guest acknowledgent with such a positive presentation in guest relations. Dinning staff was exceptioal for each and every meal enjoyed. All attendants at pro shop and golf course very helpful and knnowledgeable. Just a real treat and hideaway! keep up the Great work!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetsuitsdrymartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
The Wigwam has had a $7 million renovation and we’re glad you noticed! Many of our returning guests have a long history with our resort so we wanted to maintain the character that they have grown to love while still up-dating and modernizing to provide the best of amenities to our guests. Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words for our staff, dining, and accommodations. We hope to continue to welcome you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at the Wigwam for the weekend. As we live here in the valley, we like to take advantage of the summer resort specials. I was so pleasantly surprised with our stay. The rooms were spacious and lovely. Perfect for my two little ones to run and play. The bathrooms were large, with lots of counter space...I was able to keep our bags in the bathroom strategically out of reach of my kids! Perfect!

Many of the valley resorts offer "family" deals in the summer months, but when traveling to other "five star" resorts with 2 preschoolers, sometimes we can't help but feel like we are bothering other guests and staff....not here. Everyone was super friendly.

The Radio Disney Pirates and Princess weekend was a lot of fun for our kids, as was watching the Princess and the Frog in the pool and making s'mores. The grounds were so beautifully maintained...lovely flowers everywhere and green grass in 110 degree AZ summer is an impressive feat!

I had one of the most delicious breakfasts at Red's....the flatbread with pistachio cream cheese, smoked salmon, pancetta, pine nuts and a fried egg!!! Along side an impressively strong and spicy bloody mary...heaven!

The only negative that I can think of is the pool servers...the "water girls" were zipping around making sure everyone had full pitchers of ice water, but the food servers were slow as snails. I have worked in the food service industry for years, and if one of my employees walked that slowly while being THAT busy they wouldn't have a job! He could have sold/made $100's of dollars more if only a little pep in his step. it was beyond frustrating. Lastly, while we sat there and debated what to order for the kids, he sat silently. When I asked about portion sizes he mumbled something about kids eat free...oh, fantastic! Make sure you know this BEFORE you order.

Also...don't even consider that awful sushi restaurant across the street from the resort! It has a really cool, loungy feel....but godawful sushi! If you like that Krab stuff you might like it, bc just about every roll had it...and one roll came out with a huge mound of that stuff all shredded (confetti style) on top! GROSS!!!

Overall, the Wigwam is a true family vacation spot I the midst of all these resort specials!! I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Extend your Sunday checkout to 5pm for additional $25!! Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
We try to provide a variety of activities so that the whole family can fully enjoy their time here at The Wigwam. It’s nice that our family friendly environment made your stay-cation more comfortable and we hope you’ll come back to check out all the other fun programs we have for the kids this summer. We will address your experience with our pool service staff and apologize for any inconveniences. We hope you’ll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here for one night. The reviews on yelp.com are pretty accurate. This place is almost really nice that you feel like you're being teased a little bit.

Things we liked:

The saltwater "Oasis" pool
The margaritas
The really nice staff
The workout room
The rooms were clean, although a little rough around the edges in the bathroom

Things we didn't like:

The bed! One of the most uncomfortable beds ever with a big dip in the middle
The patio to our room was dirty and stained
The q-tips outside our front door that no one bothered to clean up
The resort fee even if you're not using the services that it supposedly pays for ($18.00 per day)
The fact that if you want to use the fridge in your room, it costs $25.00
The really old tv that has a shaky image ( we used our MacBook to watch a movie)
The fact that they have these fancy monitors you can use to make appointments or order food, but no menu on paper in the room and the old tvs (weird)
Dessert we ordered wasn't good

If you can afford it, you should spend about $60.00 more per night (in the off season of July) and check into the Four Seasons in Scottsdale. You'll be glad you did! And the only thing that is more is the room fee, but no resort fee, and the food and spa costs are the same.

We won't be returning to the Wigwam unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelintuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
It’s disheartening to learn we were not able to create an experience that would inspire a return visit. We would have liked the opportunity to address these points mentioned during the time of your stay when it would have mattered most. Thank you for giving us your feedback and sharing your perspective. We will still hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to earn a better impression and provide the experience that many have come to enjoy at The Wigwam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2011

First trip to Phoenix. Our daughter's wedding was the occasion. Spent two nights at the Wigwam and loved both nights. The room was spacious, great bed, balcony view of the pool. Staff was friendly and helpful, as well as patient. The rates were very good. The food at the restaurants was good value for the price. The grounds were beautiful, with constant care being given to lawn, flower beds, etc. Great old time atmosphere with modern amenities. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Congratulations to you and your daughter both! What a wonderful reason to visit Phoenix and it sounds like you enjoyed your time here at The Wigwam. We hope this won’t be your last time in Phoenix as we would love to welcome you back for a longer stay at The Wigwam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing