We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smithland Self Catering Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Port Owen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed at various 'Smithland' units on several occassions in 2012 and 2013 and always been impressed by the overall experience. The booking is always efficiently done, checking in is always a pleasure even though I generally arrive earlier than normal check in time and always on a Sunday. The units are well equipped and clean.

Room Tip: I've stayed in 4 different 'Smithland' units and been very happy with all of them. The o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    46
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
14
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I recently hosted a group of 60 high school learners for a 3 day campus orientation and used Smithland as our accommodation for the event. The staff were friendly, rooms were tidy and the feedback from the students were positive overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarahF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed for just one night at this comfortable 4 Bed town house before starting our trip to the western cape. We chose this apartment mainly because of its proximity to the International Airport. The twin level town house is very comfortable, well furnished and clean. The complex is protected by armed response security and 24 hrs cctv surveilance. We also left part of our luggage in the car as we had to leave early the next morning and there was no problem at all.There is a good sized kitchen with microwave and fridge.The living and dining area was very spacious. The beds were very comfortable. Masterbed has as open bathroom !
The check in, check out process although at odd hours was smooth.
The only downside is the traffic to get into or out of Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmumbai09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Staff good customerservice take time to listen.Manager does not have good customer service saw us booking in did not say hello or wish us nice stay.
Rooms, heaters and stoves need maintenance, pots need thorough cleaning.General cleaning of rooms must be up to standards because in corners you can see dirt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Molebogeng M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
201 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in the three bed room town house prior to catching an early morning flt from cape town.
Since it was after hours we called ahead and the representative arrived in time to check us in.
On reaching we found the living and dining area in darkness none of the lights could be fixed by the electrician.
The wooden floor of the staircase is dangerously chipped.
None of the bathrooms doors would close( poor quality of wood used)
The car parking garage was locked so the car was parked in the open.
There was no temp control whatsoever so we were left in a very cold dark apartment.
Thankfully we left very early the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjemund Namibia
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband relies on his wheelchair. He could not shower because the shower seat was too low and the glass partitian was in the way of the shower. The toilet seat was too low. Handicapped people need a raised toilet seat. In the time we were there a group of students also stayed at the accomodation and they made a lot of noise and did not obey the 10 o clock silence rule.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

One of the best self-catering accommodation I've ever experienced in the Cape - friendly service, clean appartments, and a feeling of a second home in Cape Town. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to go visit the Mother city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parow
0.9 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
1.7 mi away
The New National - Lodge & Conference
5.5 mi away
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JR Accommodation
JR Accommodation
#6 of 7 in Parow
7 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 125 in Cape Town Central
500 reviews
0.9 mi away
iNkosi Eco Lodge
iNkosi Eco Lodge
#2 of 7 in Parow
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithland Self Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithland Self Catering Apartments

Property: Smithland Self Catering Apartments
Address: 29 Hans Strydom Street | Panorama, Parow 7500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Parow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Parow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithland Self Catering Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Smithland Self Catering Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing