We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Afrikaans Language Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.12*
and up
Cape Town City Pass including Two Oceans Aquarium and District Six Museum
Ranked #3 of 51 things to do in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kenilworth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Historical Heritage. lovely restuarant. staff very informative and friendly. stunning views. would have been nice if there were trails to do from the Monument.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taalmonument, Owner at Afrikaans Language Monument, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit to the Afrikaans Language Monument. We do have a short 1.2km walking trail at the Taalmonument, suitable for everyone, as well as access to the walkings trails in Paarl Mountain Nature Reserve - permits and gate keys are available at our Visitor Centre. You are welcome to contact us for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    120
    36
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful monument in a great location”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This amazing monument is well worth a visit to enjoy the striking architecture in a fantastic location. The views across the plain to Table Mountain are breathtaking.

One of the girls in the info centre acted as our guide & she was both charming & informative. We stayed for a drink & lunch at the small cafe & it was most enjoyable. If you're in the Paarl area then do visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Both amphitheatre and garden excellent for music concerts”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Apart from the actual monument celebrating the Afrikaans language which is set among stunning gardens with magnificent views over the valley and Du Toitskloof mountains and beautiful views of Table Mountain on the other side, the area is also a perfect spot for music concerts. The two concerts attended so far this year are Jimmy Dludlu in January at the amphitheatre and Die Heuwels Fantasties in the gardens (March). With the Heuwels concert it was a perfect balmy and windless evening and the moon hung high up in the sky. Be aware though that it can get cold up on the mountain once the sun has gone down or if the wind is blowing. The sound at the amphitheatre is of the best we have ever experienced. For concerts at the amphitheatre there is plenty of parking, but with concerts in the garden, there is not enough parking inside and you will need to park along the steep road and walk the rest of the way. For garden concerts, you can usually bring your own drinks and a picnic basket, but usually for the amphitheatre ones, you can bring eats, but not drinks. Security is excellent and the concerts are well-organised. There is also a restaurant and little information centre. For both venues there are clean toilets. Well-worth a visit whether to view the monument and experience the gardens and do a bit of bird-watching or to attend concerts.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrietWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie on the road
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pay to go in”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have to admit that when we got there and realized you had to pay to go we didn't bother. Figured we could read about it and saw enough from the outside. Driving up the highway thought it stands out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tbgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

very interesting place. the design of the monument is very interesting, especially when you get to know the symbolism you realize it is designed by an architect with a vision in the 70s.
Check for the activities, as there are full moon picknicks for instance. Just do not drive by, as we did at our first visit to the area. it is worth a visit!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2maan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afrikaans Language Monument also viewed

 

Been to Afrikaans Language Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing