We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mrs L Greyling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sante Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sante Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mrs L Greyling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel and Spa with lots of potential. Service friendly and good. My only complaint was that there was no barfridge in the roons. We need to keep our water and coldrinks cold as well as the milk. But other than that. Nice place. Spa is great. Food is good. We will return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Feelgood295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Mrs Greyling,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the food, the spa and your time at our hotel. Thank you again for your suggestions, we will take them into consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sante and we trust that you had a safe journey back to Potchefstroom.

Warmest regards,
The Sante Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    37
    41
    29
    27
See reviews for
23
88
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The resort is set in an amazing space, the hotel should be world class with 360 views, big rooms well furnished. Unfortunately the hotel is poorly managed, the hotel is is need of some TLC. All the staff are very friendly but service is just poor, if somebody can sort out the management this could be a world class hotel. The SPA side is better run.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for highlighting areas that we are busy training and recruiting for. Senior group management is actively engaged on site for a month to train on front line and service standards. We wholeheartedly agree that Sante is a fantastic property in a picturesque setting and we have committed the resources to ensure that she lives up to and exceeds your and every other customers expectations.

Warm regards,
The Sante Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

What an aaaawsome place!
Have visited many spa resorts, but not one like this !
Would highly recommend leaving kids with grandma as its an excellent getaway for couples. Recharge, recouperate, breath and enjoy yourself in a well manicured spa environment.
The staff are highly professional and friendly. I have explored getaways for couples to the east & west of the world, but OMG, right here on our doorstep in Cape Town.
This definitely is Cape Town`s best kept secret, a destination that will not be a secret for too long. The entire Sante has a relaxing atmosphere.
Didnt want to leave.
Do you perhaps need staff ? Will work for free !

Room Tip: Any room will be a good choice. You wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Andre,

Thank you, thank you, thank you… Your wonderful and sincere review is highly appreciated and will be passed onto all staff involved in making your stay a memorable one. The Hotel and Spa is definitely a relaxing place to rejuvenate the mind, body and soul.

We truly hope to see you back soon at “Cape Town’s Best Kept Secret".

Warmest Regards,
The Sante Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is totally secluded, rented car is recommended for one to be able to visit around the Strawberry Farm and surrounding Wine Estates for tasting etc. Do not recommend for parents with children as Ii did not see any kids activities. The rooms are SPACIOUS with private balconies overlooking the pond and mountain, you can select a room with a fireplace. Dinner is a la carte and breakfasts are what you expect of 4****. The spa facility such as steam rooms, sauna can be used by guest after hours, enjoyed the indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. the hotel get scold so ensure you have warm clothes for the unpredictable Paarl weather. The gym is fully equipped and the guest service is average to good. A lovely place to unwind away from the Cape Town city buzz. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: choose room with fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel, the restaurant and the spa. We will pass on your comments during our staff meeting.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,
The Sante Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is a stunning building, with gorgeous facilities, in a beautiful location.....but that is more or less where it ends.

Inside, the hotel cries out for proper management and care. The rooms have dirty carpets, curtains are torn, the room TVs does not work properly and the balconies/ verandas are dirty. Simple things like toiletpaper does not get checked each day whilst cleaning the room and the guest have to end up asking for this....

The hotel's restaurant is chaos during dinner and breakfast time - dirty dishes does not get taken away from used tables, the waiters are on duty, but spend most of the time in the kitchen - there is not a F & B manager in site....

Dinner menu in the restaurant was average and the food tasteless - once again no restaurant supervision was evident.

The Spa section seems to function better and their facilities are wonderful.

With proper management, this hotel can become one of the best in the Western Cape.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel room - the Spa suites are old and delapidated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Jan,

We thank you for your visceral and direct comments, we take these very seriously and make them a focal point in our HOD meetings. We agree whole heartedly that Sante can be one of the best hotels in the Western Cape. We have just stabilised the hotel operations after a somewhat rocky start and believe that there is room for improvement and honestly agree that a lot of our management needs on the job training and skills development.

We hope to see you back soon and live up to your compliment and our true potential.

Warm Regards,
The Sante Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place was Heaven, just what Hubby and I needed. Been married for 7 years, and first time we went away without our kids. Best Anniversary Ever, and oooh the Buffet Breakfast deserves a 6 star rating :) Already Recomended this place to others, been 2 weeks since our stay and cant stop talking about it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaakira_Allie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Shaakira,

We are so glad that we were able to provide the perfect backdrop for your wedding anniversary. We will pass on your kind comments in our staff meeting to all those who helped make your stay a memorable one.

We hope to see you and some friends back soon and by all means keep talking…

Warmest Regards,
The Sante Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
261 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Confused about the bad reviews below as I, yet again, experienced nothing of it.

Spend the night in one of the hotel suites on this beautiful estate. We found a wonderful spacious room with own private balcony. Huge bath and twin basins inside main room with separate toilet and shower. Huge bed with descent bedding, lounge chairs, plasma TV, mini bar fridge, safe, ample cupboards, coffee making facility etc etc.

Facilities at the spa is great (although treatments quite pricey). Staff friendly and efficient enough. (Even though no one offered to assist with luggage upon check in or check out).

Breakfast had everything a normal hotel buffet would have on offer and more. Did not have time to try the on site restaurant but seemed to had fine dishes catering for all tastes at reasonable pricing.

Room Tip: Hotel suites are great and conveniently close to restaurants and spa. Villas spacious but short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Stefan,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are very proud of the property and our staff. We hope that we will be able to continue to meet and exceed your expectations in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Sante Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.9 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
6.9 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Zomerlust Guesthouse
Zomerlust Guesthouse
#9 of 14 in Paarl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
14.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sante Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sante Hotel & Spa

Property: Sante Hotel & Spa
Address: La Bella Vita Wine Estate | Simonsvlei Road, Paarl 7646, South Africa (Formerly Sante Winelands Resort)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sante Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by the majestic Simonsberg Mountains in the picturesque Franschhoek Valley, Santé Hotel, Resort & Spa is situated on a working wine estate. Only 40 minutes from Cape Town International airport, Santé has it all - a luxurious hotel, outstanding conference facilities and an award-winning Spa & Wellness centre. The hotel’s fine dining restaurant serves gourmet meals with international flair and inspired by local delicacies - many sourced from its own organic gardens. The rooms are stylish and luxurious, with marble finishes, deluxe bathrooms and offer sweeping views of the mountains, lakeshore and vineyards. Three types of accommodation are available: Manor rooms – in the main hotel, Spa suites, and the Villas. Santé means ‘health’ and this simple message is carried through every aspect of the guest experience - from the décor of the luxurious and spacious rooms, through to the rejuvenating spa treatments and the thoughtful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sante Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sante Hotel, Resort And Spa
Sante Hotel Paarl
Sante Winelands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing