We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful experience”
Review of Sante Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sante Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

When we first arrived on the dirt road we were a bit skeptical as to what we will find when we reach our destination. We wondered will this truly be as beautiful and amazing as the pictures have shown. And my were we blown away when we pulled up at the front. Our expectations were met immediately. The scenery were breathtaking even more in person.This was gonna be a great trip. The friendly staff were welcoming and we couldn't wait to embark on this adventure. We stayed in one of the beautiful spa suites. We got pampered in the spa and at the end we didn't even want to leave!! We definitely will be returning as this was a beautiful experience and we hope that time we will be staying even longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delmaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orionsante, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Delmaine,

Sante in its simplest form means "health". Our customers come first and making our guests experience the true enchantment that is Sante is our number one priority. We live by a simple mantra "Our customers arrive as guests but leave as family", in this case we feel the same. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

We hope to see you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    37
    41
    30
    28
See reviews for
23
90
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Firstly I must admit I was a bit sceptical after reading some of the reviews posted here, that idea was soon forgotten the moment we stepped foot at the Sante Resort hotel and Spa. We were warmly welcomed by Salma at the hotel reception, she was very efficient and informative setting a great tone from the start and a great impression on the hotel.
We stayed in Spa suite 211.(See room tip below for a little bit more on that).
We then spent the afternoon exploring Franschhoek quite close to reach from resort, so great for those of you wanting to explore the surrounding winelands. We returned to the hotel to enjoy a lovely dinner and they had offered us the buffet which was available for that night, great value for money,quite a nice decent variety even though we would've been happy with the ala carte menu.
We ended our amazing stay for our 1st year wedding anniversary with a lovely breakfast and proceeded to the spa, where we we were warmly welcomed by the friendly and helpful team at the spa, enjoyed the lovely big spa facilities which included a heated pool,jacuzzi,steam and sauna before my husband and i were both treated to a great and amazing facial with URSULA. She is fantastic and definitely is the highlight or star of our stay, not lots that beats spa experiences (well for me at least! hehe) We then left to explore the surrounds before returning home to normal life, only regret is that I wished that I didn't wait for the last minute before i booked our stay that way we would've enjoyed at least another few days there. I would definitely recommend Sante in a heartbeat for anyone looking for an amazing breakaway from the normal city life for some peace,serenity and relaxation not too far away from Cape Town and I can definitely see myself back there. Most of all thank you to all the staff at the Sante for making sure that we and many other guests have a memorable and excellent experience at there resort, after all you are the ones who puts in the hard work. Loads of success! Oh and to think I found this as a deal and sometimes we don't know if we will be treated as well as if you were paying full price, Well, think again!

Safeera and Flo Neacsu- Cape Town

Room Tip: We stayed in Spa suite 211. While I am not aware of any other room, I would definitly recommend this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orionsante, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Safeera and Flo Neacsu,

We are delighted that you chose Sante to celebrate your 1st year wedding anniversary. Thank you for your encouraging words on both the spa and our hotel staff. Salma and Ursula will both be made aware of your fantastic compliments (every word of encouragement is worth its weight in gold)

Thank you for taking the time to write such a long and beautiful review on Sante, we are very proud of our staff and indeed our property.

Warm regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent the afternoon in the magnicicent spa enjoying treatments followed by sessions in the steam room,sauna, jacuzzi and heated swimming pool.
We checked into the wonderfuly decorated and HUGE Manor Suites befor meeting for pre dinner dirnks and dinner in the restaurant.
The service staff were friendly and efficient. Dinner was really good and chef made a quick adjustment withour disrupting flow of service.

I definitley will be returnign and recommend this property. Christine

Room Tip: Manor suites are very large and all have balconies and beautiful mountain and vineyard views. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orionsante, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Christine,

Our job is made worthwhile by hearing back from happy clients. The title of your review sums up what our end goal is: "VIP- Very Important Person". Every client is important and if we can make the client feel valued, cherished and a little spoilt, we are doing our job right...

Thank you once again, hoping to see you back at Sante soon.

Warmest regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

On the way there i had my reservations.......Turn off the highway you are suddenly in a rural area. Then you hit the dirt road, all seems lost. Luckily the dirt road while dusty is only a short drive. As you park in the parking lot and get out your car you are immediately stuck by the beauty of the surrounding vista's of the mountains. I arrived at sun-rise, need I say more. the staff are wonderful and the rooms beautifully appointed. I will be going back often.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orionsante, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your kind words and positive report.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have had a pleasant stay at Sante. The hotel and grounds are generally well kept and the staff we came in contact with were friendly and helpful.

We stayed in a spacious spa suite with two extra length double beds (not sure if king size beds are available in other spa suites - enquire about this if it is a requirement). The linen and mattresses were of good quality. The large bathroom has a bathtub and shower. Coral fleece gowns, slippers, and suffice, good quality towels are available in the bathroom along with shampoo, conditioner and bodywash. The only gripe with the room/ suite was the size and older model of the television which was disappointing.

The hotel/ resort’s location on large grounds outside of Paarl is great. It is close enough (a couple of kilometres/ short drive) to wine farms and shops (in Paarl), yet far enough to feel a sense of space, peace and tranquillity. The hotel and spa does get busy at times though - especially when they offer special rates/ offers.

The breakfast buffet was satisfactory with a good selection of hot and cold food, tea, coffee and a variety of fruit juices. Special coffees will be charged for extra. We were offered cappuccinos as we sat down leading us to believe it was part of the offer, however, it came at an additional cost (to the breakfast included in the rate). This was not a problem although clarity around this would have been appreciated. It may be worth your while to check first if anything is offered.

It seems Sante regularly offer special deals (e.g. Groupon/ Daddy’s deals) and also cater for larger groups. During our stay there was a large group in the breakfast area, and during a previous visit to the spa, a large corporate had their year end function at the hotel which became a bit of a nuisance - noise etc. When I asked for an earlier check in (which happened - thank you) I was advised that a large group was checking out and they needed to clean. If it is peace, quiet, rest and relaxation that you are after, be sure to check with the hotel whether any large groups will stay over or whether any functions are planned during your stay.

Overall, we have enjoyed the stay and will definitely take advantage of good deals that Sante may offer in future. Considering the reduced rate we paid as part of a special offer, it was good value for money! At full price I will consider other options as well. The Franschhoek/ Paarl/ Stellenbosch area is beautiful and there are a fair amount of options to consider depending on your needs/ requirements.

Room Tip: The spa suites are situated in free standing builings. There are four suites per block, two on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel-CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orionsante, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for your wonderful write up on Tripadvisor... We always appreciate hearing what our customers have to say. When rebuilding a properties name and reputation we unfortunately have to sometimes run special packages with online discounters. Thankfully, we no longer rely on this to generate the meat of our business and the property has settled in nicely and is doing splendidly. Some of the thanks needs to go to you and indeed other customers that have got the word out about our "picturesque" and "best kept secret in the winelands".

Hoping to see you back soon at Sante.

Warm regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Special thanks to the management and staff of Sante Hotel for their hospitality and hosting our 3 day corporate strategy meeting. Service was excellent, and the chef excelled with the menu. Venue is definitely to be recommended!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orionsante, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sarie,

Great to hear from one of our Corporate supporters, we love hosting business events at Sante and hope to be able to provide more services to you and your company in the future...

Sincerely,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassy Park, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and i celebrated our 20th anniversary at your hotel and it was totally amazing, the peace and queit, the professional manner in which your staff welcomed us, makes your hotel one of the finest in the Western Cape. The rooms were spectacular with beautiful views all round. What i enjoyed and loved the most was just sitting out on the wooden bridge leading to the most breath taking lake and mountain views. Coming back on my trip out to Paarl and finding your room decorated with candles and rose petals was the ultimate finish touch. Keep up the excellent service management and staff of Sante Spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismailessop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orionsante, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Ismail and Nazley,

It is always a special privilege to hear back from our valued customers, there is nothing more pleasing to us at Sante than to see a happy couple forge memories at our humble location.

We wish you many years of continued happiness and success In your marriage and life. Sante's door will always be open to you and hopefully we like your anniversary will become a stable fixture in your life.

Warmest regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
8.9 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
175 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
6.9 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Pontac Manor Hotel
Pontac Manor Hotel
#11 of 14 in Paarl
39 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
50 reviews
13.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sante Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sante Hotel & Spa

Property: Sante Hotel & Spa
Address: La Bella Vita Wine Estate | Simonsvlei Road, Paarl 7646, South Africa (Formerly Sante Winelands Resort)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sante Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by the majestic Simonsberg Mountains in the picturesque Franschhoek Valley, Santé Hotel, Resort & Spa is situated on a working wine estate. Only 40 minutes from Cape Town International airport, Santé has it all - a luxurious hotel, outstanding conference facilities and an award-winning Spa & Wellness centre. The hotel’s fine dining restaurant serves gourmet meals with international flair and inspired by local delicacies - many sourced from its own organic gardens. The rooms are stylish and luxurious, with marble finishes, deluxe bathrooms and offer sweeping views of the mountains, lakeshore and vineyards. Three types of accommodation are available: Manor rooms – in the main hotel, Spa suites, and the Villas. Santé means ‘health’ and this simple message is carried through every aspect of the guest experience - from the décor of the luxurious and spacious rooms, through to the rejuvenating spa treatments and the thoughtful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sante Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sante Hotel Paarl
Sante Hotel, Resort And Spa
Sante Winelands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing