We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Designed for being Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Paarl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Designed for being Paradise”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We are a german couple and stayed mid-february for 5 days in this wonderful Estate. We arrived late at night(horrable trip - nothing to do with this..) and Margarete and her Team took care amazingly. The Honeymoon Suite is outstanding, the whole sorrounding was breath-taking(what a wonderful wake-up after arriving so late).
Breakfast under the trees....and especially the Dinner at the same place was something, what never will be forgot.
Even that not everything is perfect (finding staff during the day...) this Place is designed for being Paradise!! Personnel is always friendly, the food (every dinner was different!) absolutely tasty and fantastic. The Sundowner on the Terrace was always the Highlight of the day......
So what should I say - next Time being in South-Africa - for sure in the Palmiet-Valley Estate.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    30
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
119
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It is an out of the way, quiet and beautifully created get-away with superb food and attention to detail.

The guava and lemon trees were just an extra touch of homeliness and gave a wonderful aroma.

The dining room was quaint with beautiful antiques and lent a romantic flavour to a wonderful evening.

The drinks upstairs close to the fire made it easy to meet other holiday makers.

Room Tip: Let it be a surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel in a beautiful setting but does not do enough to cater for guests once breakfast is past. If you require anything by way of refreshments or food during the day there never seemed to be anyone on hand. We always had to go looking for staff if we fancied a drink or food when relaxing by the pool. The overall impression was that there just weren't enough staff around during the day. I think the assumption was that guests will be out and about but in fact many of the guests did stay by the pool. Those lucky enough to have fridges in their rooms probably fared better as you can stock up but all the rooms do not have fridges so you are reliant on the hotel if you want a cold drink. Too many niggles to make us want to go back.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms which are the cheapest do not have fridges which is a big disadvantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alicedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We married here on 3rd January 2013 and had the most beautiful and incredible time. Everything we wanted in our wedding was achieved. We hired the whole estate for two nights and it genuinely was perfect. All our guests who stayed here complimented the venue and the accommodation.

Some of the rooms are out of this world and the Cape Dutch style really makes the whole place feel incredibly special.

Together with our guests we lounged around the pool, had a braai under the trees and just enjoyed the grounds.

I even got a peak at 3 of the 4 nesting owls - who wisely watched us in our preparations.

The breakfasts were brilliant and the way the staff did everything to assist was just wonderful.

The beautiful surroundings, the helpful staff, the delicious food and the divine wine! Everything worked so well and we could not have been happier with our choice.

Jowine was invaluable and was so helpful in sorting out a few of the inevitable teething problems (nothing to do with Palmiet) that comes with organising such a big and important event.

The only issue we had was that we stayed in the Presidential suite (I cannot begin to even exaggerate just how big it was) and my wife felt that it was not that equipped when it came to her getting ready. There was no full length mirror and the room was rather dark. So it wasn't quite perfect in that respect. However it didn't really detract from her preparation and we have some very lovely photos of her getting ready by the big bathroom window.

If you want an intimate, special South African wedding come here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MRB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Palmiet Vally is a truly beautiful place to stay or to be married as we were.
The scenery and surrounding landscape is breath taking and the attention to detail and service was outstanding.
The wedding package offered was first class and Jowine had every detail covered.
Glorious!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justjames123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've just had the most amazing break away from busy city life at Palmiet Valley Estate. My husband and I stayed the whole weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The location, buildings, furnishings and grounds are very refined and well maintained. The food was brilliant, especially the desserts, and the service was EXCELLENT, from very friendly people who really understand hospitality and enjoy their work.

It was such a pleasure to go somewhere so beautiful and come away so relaxed. Thank you again for this wonderful peace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jowine, Public Relations Manager at Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Johanna from Cape Town

It is always exciting to see a visitor from Cape Town express sincere appreciation of what we do at Palmiet Valley Estate. We a thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent a night at the wonderful Palmiet Valley Estate. A real gem! Everything of the highest standard with friendly, efficient, well trained staff. The food (dinner and breakfast) was excellent and sundowners gave us a chance to meet and chat to the other guests.
Highly recommended for a quiet, restful getaway - would go back again anyday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKvisitor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jowine, Public Relations Manager at Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear UK Visitor

Thank you for your short and to the point review. We appreciate your kind words. We do hope you can come and join us again for a relaxing weekend.

Best wishes,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paarl hotels
0.1 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
3.7 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Kleijne Bos Country House
4.8 mi away
Nwanedi Wine & Country Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel

Property: Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel
Address: Sonstraal Road | Klein Drakenstein, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmiet Valley is a producing Wine Estate in the heart of the Cape Winelands with fourteen romantic guest rooms in the historic Cape Dutch Manor House. All rooms and suites have en suite bathrooms and are furnished with the finest antiques. The setting is in a delightful garden with many tranquil spots to relax with a glass of wine and a good book. Many of the Cape's finest wine estates are a few minutes away as are some of the best golf courses. Visits, tours and tee off times are gladly arranged by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing