We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Good Acquisition for Paarl”

Cattle Baron Grill and Bistro
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Cattle Baron in Paarl is a Company owned store. It is a modern, streamlined, more efficient operator than its predecessor. The store is currently owned by Ronnie Dick, CEO of Cattle Baron Steak Ranches and Franco Adams; who has been with Cattle Baron for over 13 years. He operated as head Chef and still functions as Projects and Development Manager for the Group. Franco will be the face of the business.The Cattle Baron caters for the discerning businessman and the family dinner. We also contribute to the community by providing a Senior Citizens lunch buffet at reasonable prices. Sunday's we have a family open day with a choice of a la carte or our famous buffet with a variety of delicious roasts. Renowned for our mouth-watering steaks - the secret of our success lies in the preparation of our meat. Our perfectly aged, grain-fed beef is wet-aged ensuring our steaks are consistently juicy, tender and full of flavour. At Cattle Baron we offer a unique menu with simple, home-cooked dishes that reflect traditional elements of food. We pride ourselves on delivering to our customers elegant dining and unsurpassed standards of service in relaxed surroundings.
Paarl, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Really Good Acquisition for Paarl”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This review applies to a dozen or so visits to Cattle Baron in Paarl, all of which have been top class. Quality and consistency ought to be hallmarks of chain restaurants but seldom are. This is different. The produce is universally excellent, and the consistency comes from the ever-present attention of the owners and the (clearly excellent) training that the staff have received. There are several 'special' offerings throughout the week, which can make for a very reasonably priced event. The space is plush and comfortable, and since it's so popular, it usually offers a nice vibe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    71
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suider Paarl, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Best steak western cape”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Cattlebaron in Paarl is a classy upmarket steak house. Franco and his staff have pride in their work and provide a warm welcome and excellent service. The kitchen is on show to customers and the food produced always hot and delicious. The restaurant has a great atmosphere .
Lunchtime there is a fabulous buffet menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuarthilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food,Great Service!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lunch buffet at Pontac was Excellent. Great spread of different dishes to choose from. Everything tasteful and delicious.Service was spot on. Will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJansen108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cattle Baron Birthday Bash”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just a big thank you to Franco,Vince and staff you all helped to ensure my birthday bash was one to remember.
The venue and outside ambience of this Restaurant will take a lot to better and the food as usaul was top notch.
All the guests left the venue having had a great afternoon and as very enjoyable meal

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quality food and service; no fireworks though.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Needed a place on short notice for a quick meal on Mother's Day, which was not related to the day's celebrations. Restaurants in Paarl either not open or fully booked. Phoned Cattle Baron; never been to one before. Vince was very accommodating when I requested a table and even realised who we were when we arrived. They were quite busy with two seperate buffet seatings. Starters consisted of stuffed mushrooms for my husband (very tasty though could do with a bit of garnishing) and calamari tubes for me. The latter had a lovely creamy lemon-garlic butter sauce. My husband had the rump steak which was prepared perfectly medium-rare. Pepper sauce however disappointed; lacked depth, tasted bland. My pork spare ribs were succulent and tasty; though be careful that the basting sauce does not become the gravy. Was a pleasure not to have had to request a finger bowl; Francheska the waitress brought it on own accord. Her service was efficient, friendly. Container with plastic bag on table which we presumed was for bones, is a bit out of place in this particular setting. Bring it only as and when required? Overall, CB was a good experience and suited our particular need for the day. Nice wine list too. A good option to have in Paarl.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrietWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattle Baron P, Owner at Cattle Baron Grill and Bistro, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for the response. Glad we could have been of assistance on such short notice. We will defintely look into the Pepper Sauce quality, generaly our most popular sauce. The baskets however on the table was an absolute once off, that we only implemented for those two servings of buffet, because we serve the prawns on the buffet, and being quite popular the space for all the left over shells becomes a problem on a day like that. The norm is to supply a small container for bones only if a customer requires it with the meal served. The tables were setup in this instance prior to service not knowing who will have buffet or a la carte. Thank you for your assistance in making us know of areas we can work on. Looking forward to seeing you again. Regards, Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattle Baron Grill and Bistro also viewed

 
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to Cattle Baron Grill and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing