We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a midsummernight's nightmare”

Ristorante Pappa Grappa at Wilderer Distillery
Ranked #9 of 91 Restaurants in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cape Town
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a midsummernight's nightmare”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a garden restaurant best suited to groups, preferably parents who would like to let their barefoot young children loose to create as much noise and running around as possible. It is awful for couples, needless to add. Pity. Because the food is good. Not that the children cared either way, as long as they got their fish fingers and ice cream. We were there on a beautiful summer evening last week and it was sheer chaos. When we left, we commented on the complete disregard of the parents for other diners, and were told in no uncertain terms that these were 'good, regular clients' ...... so now we know. And now you know.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank working-suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    37
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paarl
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely evening venue in summer”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Scared to write too good a review as we really enjoy this little restaurant - too many good reviews and we won't be able to just arrive without making a reservation as we usually do. Good choice of dishes and all are good value. Wine prices reasonable and list offers wines of most surrounding estates. Summer evenings under the trees especially recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank carstairs323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“HOSPITALBLE”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a warm reception and a pleasant evening. It is a nice place for a casual meal. Of course there is the Wilderer Grappa that is special if you into that type of thing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lita520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Pizza in Cape Town!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hands down, Pappa Grappa makes the best pizza in Cape Town- very authentic Italian pizza with unique toppings! I love the Suppli as well! With a large variety of Grappas- they provide the perfect finishing touch to the meal!

Even staying in Cape Town it is definitely worth the drive up to the R45 to sample this delicious food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Uninspiring Sunday lunch”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Aalthough Sunday lunches should be leisurely affairs, this this was ridiculous.

4 simple meals took 1 1/2 hours to arrive, and there weren't more that 25 people in the restaurant. My pizza was really good, they always are, however the other meals were not brilliant.

Although management was apologetic, we will not be returning on a Sunday lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pappa Grappa at Wilderer Distillery also viewed

Paarl, Western Cape
 
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to Ristorante Pappa Grappa at Wilderer Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing