We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, busy ambiance and good food and wines”

Restaurant at Glen Carlou
Ranked #6 of 88 Restaurants in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Consistency, expertise and a commitment to always deliver beyond expectation is what we strive for with every bottle of Glen Carlou wine - we also aim to do this with every plate of food at Restaurant at Glen Carlou. Enjoy innovative dishes inspired by the seasons whilst taking in the breathtaking landscape from inside our architecturally designed building or from the shaded terrace deck.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
457 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great views, busy ambiance and good food and wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ate here with a larger group, so we had the set menu. Tasty, but did not leave a lasting expression. The restaurant is quite big, set in a large room with great views over Paarl. Maybe seats for around 80-100 people. We had both a wine tasting and lunch, people were pleased with experience. A bit rushed and factory like, not the place for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yef70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    55
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The view from this building is amazing and well worth a visit just for this.

The building has been modernized, the whole place has a slightly over commercialized feeling, with the wine tasting being in the restaurant. The food is imaginative and good. Friendly, overworked staff. Good rest room facility.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank berty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Super view for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family recently went to Glen Carlou for lunch.

The service was probably the best we have experienced in a long time with the waiter getting full points.

The food in my opinion was pleasant and presented well. The creme brulee was by far the best I have ever tasted.

The wines were also exceptional with a few members buying after.

All in all a definite stop when you in Paarl for lunch or even wine tasting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
261 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sunset Tappas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

A number of the Western Cape wineries offer sunset Tappas. Glen Carlou boasts spectacular views and very pleasant service. The Tappas menu includes a mixed platter of 8 Tappas for R160 for two, including a glass of wine each! Excellent value, good quality and generous servings including: tender squid; bouillabiase (we felt it was a bisque!); salt cod pate; bressola (sliced too thickly therefore very tough); lamb ribs (too fatty & could be cut in half for more elegant serving)! Other offerings include a cheese platter and a desert selection. A full wine list is also at hand, but unfortunately the tasting facility closes at 17h00, whereas the sundowners continue until 19h00. A lovely place to unwind after a busy day at the office or in the winelands!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not just a lovely view...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

A great place to have lunch.
I had the vegan starter, an amazing beetroot salad that was totally fantastic. For my main meal I had the vegetarian gnocchi and it too did not disappoint.
The desserts are truly inspired, so detailed and unique, what a refreshing change from the usual offerings everyone else seems to serve.
Our waitress was friendly and attentive. I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Glen Carlou also viewed

Paarl, Western Cape
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to Restaurant at Glen Carlou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing