We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underrated”

Paarl Mountain Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.36*
and up
Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape...
Ranked #4 of 49 things to do in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Underrated”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a hidden treasure with a selection of wildflowers and birds to rival Table Mountain. There are easy walks and well kept picnic sites - too little time to fully enjoy so look forward to next visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trimley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    49
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outdoors on your door step”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's great to have a scenic and unique mountain right on your door step in Paarl. You can walk from the centre of town right to the massive granite monoliths experiencing great views and the wonders of the cape floral kingdom along the way. The birdlife is also excellent. We keep going back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenniferT1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Granite Rocks!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have lived in Paarl for the past 3 years, so I see these massive granite outcrops or pearls which give the town its name. Just because I live there doesn't mean I don't visit though, and it is a very well-kept park with some lovely walks which my wife and I would take regularly when we were still able. The big attraction though is to climb the granite extrusions themselves. Be warned, despite the chains and very rough stairs carved into the rock, climbing the largest one requires a fair degree of fitness. I've summited there 3 times and it's a great experience. If you choose a clear day, you can see forever across the Cape Flats to Table Mountain, as there are just a couple of little folds and bumps in the landscape between you and it. The view is truly superlative. A caution to the wise, each time I've been up, it has felt still in the shelter of the rock, but when you reach the exposed trig beacon, it can be quite windy, and once with quite a cool bite to it. Take something light but warm to wear. It doesn't beat wine tasting, but can be quite a spectacular distraction.
There's a fee to drive your car into the park along the road to get to the rocks, but if you walk in through the boom gate or from the picnic site in the shadow of the rocks, there's no charge. Nor is there a charge for using the picnic site with it's view of Paarl and barbecue facilities.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Russel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Day Out”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nice small restaurant with good food and pricing. Eat in or outside views are great. Tourist can purchase gifts at reasonable prices. Staff friendly and attentive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GroenewaldJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful walking”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

You can have a long energetic walk with some wonderful views. There are also some particular destinations with specific vegetation or scenic spots. A love adjunct to visiting the Taal Monument

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paarl Mountain Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Paarl Mountain Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing