We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stunning visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alba House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 48 Paarl B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Can't begin to tell you what a nice place this is, we have done a fair bit of traveling in our time and can honestly say that this is place is something else - so good we keep coming back. Almost like home from home, the hosts are delightful and helpfully point us in the direction of lovely days out when asked. The pool is fantastic, a real retreat from the main house and the world! A lovely place to while away the afternoons. If you like golf speak to the owner who is the President of the local club!

Room Tip: The master room opening on to the front patio has a fantastic view of the mountain especially in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 297RickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 91 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Arrived at Alba House with a confirmed and paid booking for 6 people, only to be told that there was only space for 4 as a result of an administrative error.

The purpose of the trip was a family wedding and I was quite upset that we weren't able to all stay together. Luckily the owner made arrangements that the remainder of our party could stay at her friends guest house down the road.

It later emerged that other guests at the guest house also had encountered the same "administrative booking errors" during their stay, and to be honest it seemed like the whole guest house was overbooked to help a new start up guest house fill their quota. To make matters worse the owner had the cheek to ask us to please "pay in" additional funds for the new booking after they made the mistake on the original booking.

I probably wont stay at this guest house again because I'm a seasoned traveller and I am used to much better service, specially once my booking is confirmed.

If you decide to stay at this guest house you will enjoy spectacular views of the Western Cape mountain range, just be sure to confirm your booking, then confirm it again...and again to avoid disappointment!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaPaarl, Owner at Alba House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your review of Alba House, when you stayed with us nearly 6 months ago.

It was their booking company, NOT ALBA HOUSE, who made the booking administrative error. They booked two rooms not three. When the guests arrived, we showed the evidence of this, which they fully understood. We immediately made arrangements for the additional two people to stay in a near by 4 star guest house, which has been established for 8 years!- not a start up Guest House. This guest house is 3 minutes walk from us.

They were NOT asked to pay additional accommodation charges. They ONLY paid for the three rooms that they occupied, which is clearly evidenced on our invoice provided to them.

There were no other quests, who had encountered the so called administrative errors.

Regards

Alba House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Alba House for 10 wonderful days, set in the picturesque Paarl mountains, Alba House has a beautiful garden and pool. Bedrooms are lushious, comfy with aircon and a mini bar that is stocked regularly.

Breakfast was superb, everyday, we had exactly what we wanted, from fresh fruit to a full English Breakfast.

Ivana and John are the perfect hosts.

If anyone is looking for the perfect place to stay, ALBA HOUSE is truly the place to go, with so many areas to visit, and not 2 mins away from great food and restaurants.

Thank you Ivana for looking after us, we will definitely be back!

Becky and John

Room Tip: Any room at Alba House can be recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just returned to The UK after another wonderful week staying at Alba House. John and Ivana are such great hosts and make you feel that the house is your's ! We had a lovely room and fantastic breakfasts ! The views from the communal lounge is simply stunning. There are so many good restaurants in and near Paarl. It is the perfect location for all the wineries and there are other great attractions like The Croc farm that we visited this year. It is also only an hour to the nearest beach at the lovely Gordons Bay if you fancy a contrast ! Albs House must have the best swimming pool of all B and B's We spent many a happy hour relaxing there after a day out. We will be returning !
Gavin and Sue Masterton

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baricott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What he writes is true. I witnessed the behaviour of the landlady's husband and indeed he was very rude to his German guest. His wife Ivana, is not to blame, but she had a lot of difficulty with the machine when my partner wanted to pay the bill, thus enabling me to watch her husband's rudeness to Guenther in the thirty minutes I was waiting on the couch in the lounge area.
The garden is beautiful, there is a nice big pool and breakfast is good, except for the Sunday, when it was just tolerable.
The room was small but comfortable with a nice, well-equipped bathroom and a small outside sitting area.
The reason I react is that I have never met before in a South African Guesthouse with such uncivilised behavior and also the correct departure time was 11:00 hrs and not 10:00 hrs.
Rose

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having recently spent a month in South Africa watching Cricket and touring the wine lands we
sought Guest House accommodation and stayed in Cape Town(Newlands), Paarl, Franshoeck,
and Somerset West and found all the places we stayed at suited our needs.Offering a friendly welcome,helpful advice, along with clean ,comfortable accommodation
However I feel I must write to advise fellow tourist of what we discovered inPaarl it was
Alba House, words cannot describe our joy when we arrived To see the fabulous views from our room and the residents lounge, along with picturesque gardens and the so inviting swimming pool.
Next morning breakfast outside on the patio was a delight so lovingly prepared and presented
by Evie the cook
Not having hired a car for our stay in Paarl our hosts John and Ivana were so helpful they
arranged Taxis and offered advice on places to visit (what a pity I didn't take my Golf Clubs)
We look forward to returning in the not to distant future,Final advice to would be travelers
book early , To John and Ivana don't change a thing you have the most idilic place

Brian & Betty Shaw West Yorks. England

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent 4 wonderful days at Alba House in Paarl beautiful guest house great hosts,great selection at breakfast, out on patio, loved Paarl lovely restaurants recommended by Ivana .
Love Cape Winelands . Thanks for great stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERMElginScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paarl hotels
4.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
1.4 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
6.6 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
2.1 mi away
Nuwerus Lodge Paarl
Nuwerus Lodge Paarl
#1 of 48 in Paarl
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge
Oak Tree Lodge
#10 of 48 in Paarl
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 Lille Street | Courtrai, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Paarl
Price Range: $87 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alba House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO 4* ALBA HOUSE BED AND BREAKFAST: Situated within the golden triangle of Paarl, Stellenbosch and Franschhoek at the Western Cape. Surrounded by world renowned wine estates. Cape Town International airport 40 minutes drive, Cape Town only 30 minutes. Alba House offers spectacular views, en suite air conditioned rooms with king size beds, own private entrances and patios, huge salt water swimming pool with fresh water solar heated pool shower, beautiful garden. The picturesque town of Paarl, is one of the 3 oldest in South Africa. Ideally suited for Cape Town visits. The Cape Peninsular and the sea side towns near Cape Town easily accessible from us. We offer airport transfers, holiday planning and visits to local attractions.Special discounted "Play and Stay" golf packages at Paarl-Boschenmeer and Pearl Valley Golf Estates arranged. The amazing Val de Vie Polo Estate within easy reach. Walk to wine farms for wine tasting and leisurely lunches under oak trees. Paarl area produces 1/3 of South African wines. Great restaurants, cafes, shops, galleries, museums, mountain trips with picnic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Alba House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing