We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime Must”
Review of Cosecha Restaurant

Cosecha Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 93 Restaurants in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: cosecha is fresh latin cooking with vineyard views. The name, Spanish for "harvest", reflects our location next to the harvest area where grapes are sorted and crushed at Noble Hill wine estate. Ingredients are grown on the farm where possible, and we maintain a thriving pepper and vegetable garden which you are free to explore during your visit.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Must”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent food with great service.Try the wine tasting also.Staff very obliging and knowledgeable. Had a visit round the back of the restaurant at harvest time for an insight into the grape picking and wine production.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scroobydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    63
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small, cozy and full of charm!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We visited the Noble Hill winery during the Uncorked festival and were very surprised and delighted by this lovely restaurant. The Cuban and Mexican inspired food was delicious, the dessert (I forget the name, similar to doughnuts with side of strawberries and chocolate) was divine! Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noblehill, Manager at Cosecha Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments about Noble Hill! We also had a great time participating in Franschhoek Uncorked. The doughnuts are called Churros! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must on the wine route”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We visited Noble Hill wine estate in May during a trip to South Africa. What a wonderful surprise to find Cosecha Restaurant! What was supposed to be a quick stop for a wine tasting turned into a 3 hour lunch, followed by a much deserved (wine and food induced) nap under the trees.
I am not sure where to begin, the amazing wines, breathtaking scenery, or some of the best MexiSpanLatin x South African fusion i have had. Not being able to choose, we ordered about 6 dishes and ate tapas style.
The meal was not just served but became an interactive event when the server made our Guacamole right at the table. Excellent service and not a blink of the eye when we asked for a blanket to enjoy our coffee's (and nap) on the grass under the trees.

Best news yet, their wines are now available in the US!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aboutsomethingelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Food and service always great at Cosecha”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

As the temps go up, we look forward to spending more time at Cosecha at Noble Hill. The food is always good - last week my husband tried the soft beef tacos (yummy) and I had the pulled pork sandwich - with a generous healping of BBQ pork. Excellent. We each ordered a glass of the Estate Blend - robust and rich - perfect for a cool day.

The waitstaff at Cosecha are also great. Though they start off appropriately friendly and unobtrusive, if you take the time to strike up a conversation, you'll find that Jay, Morton and Edwin are all terrific guys. We enjoy catching up with them almost as much as we enjoy Cosecha's food.

On a warm day, try the white wine sangrita. Baie lekker, indeed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spanish themed restaurant in wonderful setting”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We really enjoy this restaurant. Spanish influenced food. Great setting with wonderful views of surrounding mountains and beautiful garden with a nearby dam. The restaurant although under roof is open to the elements ie wind and cold weather. They do have gas burners but I think they should consider canvas roll-down walls during inclement weather. This will have an impact on the view and ambience to a degree but the food makes up for it.
The food is very well presented and pretty affordable. My wife and I are regulars and the waiters recognize familiar faces. The restaurant is on the grounds of the Nobel Hill wine estate who have a few decent wines available to enjoy with your meal. They also grow their own chillies! Please don't all rush there as I am already battling to get a table. We used to be able to walk in and secure a table but the word is out and those days are long gone.
The only negative is during summer when the flies make an appearance. This becomes quite unpleasant as one tends to wolf down one's meal before the flies do. The owners have citronella candles on the tables but are ineffective.
All in all, a superb venue.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewW492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosecha Restaurant also viewed

 
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to Cosecha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing