We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Oak Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Tree Lodge
Ranked #8 of 46 Paarl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eardisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very comfortable and good parking, breakfast ample. Newly decorated bedroom nicely furnished. Central location to city centre and to neighbouring winelands as well as Stellenbosch, Franchoek and Spier.

Room Tip: SA Three star hotels and bed and breakfast are just as good as UK Five star ratings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Herefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
25
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in the Oak tree lodge on new years day , and we booked it as a last resort since there was no other accommodation available for us at that time.The location is great we already went to the wine lands before and it's always nice being there.

The lodge is located on the main road which runs trough Paarl, (once you exit the N1) you can't miss it really there are really big signs. On the other side of the lodge is a small complex which contains a supermarket and some restaurants, you only have to cross the road.

We had the choice between a 3 star room and a 4 star room. Because of the size of the room and having our daughter with us we choose the 4 star room next to the pool.

However it did not have the 4 star feeling. The bath was not clean (some hairs and some dirt) and the door to bathroom did not close properly (room number 30) it all the time opened. Also the door to the room itself got stuck quite a few times and could use some WD40. To give the rooms the 4 star feeling a mini bar and a fruit basket would be a nice addition.

When we asked if it was possible to warm up our own food in the kitchen (since it was new years day most restaurants were closed) we were not allowed to do so , eventually we ended up eating supermarket salads and bread outside it tasted well but a warm meal would have been better.


The breakfast was well prepared but not special compared to what we experienced in other 4 star accommodation.

Service in general was good,it took a while but there was also an extra bed made for our daughter.

Would we stay in Oak tree lodge again?
Yes we would, however we would rather book the 3 star room downstairs that our friends booked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_dude_1984_Kees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I spent a month in Paarl Aug/Sept 2010 on business. The staff was fantastic. While its over a mile from the center of town, it is quiet. The shopping mall is a short walk. My room overlooked the pool, a vineyard, and Paarl Moutain.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are quiet and have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAG_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in one of the 4 star rooms by the pool. The room was large and functional, inluding everything you needed including a fridge, but lacked any personal touch. The lighting was a bit gloomy, and the feel was rather Travelodge. Small things that let the establishment down for service included having WiFi but not advertising it anywhere in the info, so I found out just before we left. The breakfast was absolutely fine. I think Oak Tree Lodge is geared more to business than to tourism, so that may have influenced my scoring a little as we arrived here after staying in a series of lovely guest houses. If I was there on business I would probably stay again, but not as a tourist.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyAJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband and I were booked into a hotel in Tygerberg which was too far from where we wanted to be for our son's cricket festival. When we drove into Paarl we saw Oak Tree Lodge and decided to try our luck. The reception staff was very helpful and friendly, there was a room available at a very reasonable rate. Booked and paid for, we returned to the previous hotel and packed up our luggage, returning about 6.30pm. Gate was closed but we were let in and taken to our lovely, clean, comfortable room. We slept so well even though we were facing the main road the noise was minimal.

Breakfast was so good, started off with yoghurt and fruit, there was cold meat and cereal as well. Hot food was sausage, bacon, mushrooms, egg, tomato, yum! Toast and jam/preserves as well. The main street has plenty of restaurants and coffee shops to choose from when you want other meals.


We will definitely recommend this place and stay again when we come back to this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We booked this hotel on a whim as my father in law was in hospital in Paarl and we needed to stay close to him.

I based my choice of hotel purely on the person who gave me the best vibe on the the phone.

Our choice definitely did not disappoint! The staff was amazing, they were soo understanding about the fact that we could not give them a definite check out date. They were very helpful in a difficult situation.


Our room was lovely,we feared it might be chilly in the evening, but it was wonderfully warm and cozy. The bedding was great and more than sufficient given the cool weather.

We had full breakfast included, which consisted of a continental buffet and hot cooked to order breakfast. The service staff, who I think double as housekeeping, were just as welcoming as the reception staff.

We will definitely stay here again if we are ever in Paarl again, hopefully under better circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMEngelbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paarl hotels
0.6 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
483 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
De Kleijne Bos Country House
2.7 mi away
Lemoenkloof Guest House & Conference Centre
3.4 mi away
5 Konings Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Lodge

Property: Oak Tree Lodge
Address: 32 Main Street | Southern Paarl, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oak Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing