We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Accomodation”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in the Leeuwenhof Hotel which is managed by hard working Dutch family. The dinner and breakfast was very good and we are serious considering to re-visit this location. Good location for making side trips in the area of Paarl.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arjan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    75
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
119
296
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great setting, comfortable and well designed rooms and living spaces with good food and friendly service. The breakfasts by the pool and the lovely gardens make this place very appealing. Recommended to our friends and hope to be back next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gini L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is a traditional farmhouse and the farm is still actively run by the owners, who moved to Paarl from the Netherlands a couple of years ago. Next to the nice surroundings including newly renovated rooms, a large pool, great food (breakfast and dinner), and an actively run guava and wine farm, the owners were what made this place special to us: They were always friendly and very helpful in organizing activities around Paarl. Also, they will share their experiences in what it means to move to South Africa with you and give you some insights into the life as a farmer in SA and the country's inhabitants. Ask for a tour of the grounds!
Only thing to add: If you are allergic/afraid of dogs, I can't recommend this place as they run around freely to keep away the baboons. However, they are really friendly, too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 204World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

In the past Tripadvisor has proved to be a reliable source of advice, however this did not prove to be so for De Leeuwanhof. This establishment is rated as 4 star, our room is described by the hotel as a ‘luxury room at the barnyard’. By no stretch of the imagination could the room, number 6, be described as luxurious, at best it rated 1 star. Daan, the owner, explained the condition of the room as maintaining the character of the original building. If you want discoloured and stained walls with hairline cracks, chipped washbasin counters, concrete floors where the painted covering is wearing away, then this is the place for you. As a picture paints a thousand words I have put photos on Tripadvisor - judge for yourself.

However not all was bad, the sanitary fittings looked new, although the wall behind the shower fitting had not been repaired. There was a nice courtyard in front of our room. The air conditioning was effective and the beds spotlessly clean and comfortable. But none of this could compensate for the deplorable condition of the fabric of the room and on-suite bathroom.

The communal facilities were good, the pool and the surrounding area were pleasant, as was the outside dining area. A very nice touch was that our car was washed before we left. The hotel provides a good breakfast and an optional fixed menu dinner in the evening. As we wanted to experience the food and wine at the restaurants and vineyards in the area we did not take advantage of the evening meal at De Leeunwanhof. Daan also arranges a BBQ evening which we did not attend because we had eaten a long leisurely meal at lunch time. The BBQ seemed to be a pleasant experience and was well received by those who did attend. Also, Daan is very personable and was always pleasant and agreeable when he spoke to us.

Judging by the room we occupied and taking all things into account, how this establishment rates 4 stars is a mystery to me. However, given the pleasant grounds and friendly staff we enjoyed our stay but the 1- 2 star room made this just an overall 3 star experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6 and check your room before accepting it. Owner says, if available, he is prepared to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We spend two weeks in De Leeuwenhof Estate Hotel in Paarl near Capetown.
For us it was the second visit. The hostess and host upgraded the Estate and added cottages and rooms and introduced also diner facilities compared to last year.
They did a great job and made us feel very welcome in a fantastic and warm environment.

De Leeuwenhof Estate Hotel is a 'must do' if you are spending your holiday or paasing by in The West Cape.

Yvonne, Tessa, Daan, Stefan and staff you gave us a great Holiday. Thank you.
T

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fred_de_Goede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights and had a barnyard room set out in authentic basic African style with a concrete (uncovered) floor. The pool area and dining area were both lovely and we ate both nights around the pool. The atmosphere was good and the hosts very attentive and personable. Food, although not large portions, was of a very good standard but was on the pricey side for South Africa. Overall we thought the room had basic but clean amenities and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColchesterJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We live in Hermanus so see many beautiful farms and types of accommodation. De Leeuwenhof was up there with the best. Fantastic, warm hosts who are happy to just spend some time chatting. Large well equipped rooms. The pool area is a beautifully planted walled garden with plenty of shade and sun for whatever suits you. The honesty bar is well stocked and the staff were friendly and helpful. Really excellent experience and fantastic value as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojospeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paarl hotels
2.0 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
3.7 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
3.2 mi away
Zomerlust Guesthouse
Zomerlust Guesthouse
#9 of 14 in Paarl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse

Property: De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Address: Sonstraal Road | Klein Drakenstein, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"De Leeuwenhof" was founded in 1698 by a French Hugenot who came to the Cape winelands to grow fruit and grapes. Nowadays the 4-star Cape Dutch Estate is restored to it former glory and offers 11 luxury guestrooms and two apartments, 4 self-catering cottages and a small restaurant with a nice entertainment area with two pools and safe parking. The Estate is family run and the personal touch will make you feel quite at home. Most guests come to rest and enjoy the food and wine and beautiful surroundings. "De Leeuwenhof" 11,5 Ha is still a working farm and produces 64 tons of grapes and 200 tons of fruit on a yearly basis. The estate is situated in the historic wine lands of the Western Cape, tranquilly situated on the foot of the mountains 5 min from Paarl itself.The offerings more specific: Rooms & family apartments: We can accommodate 36 people in total!Attached to main House (1698): Two family apartments , with two double bedrooms with queen-sized four-poster beds, kitchenette, terrace and bathroom, fully air-conditioned (cooled and heated) TV, DVD and local TV station. Minimum charge of two people per apartment. In adjoining historic building " The Old Barn"(1914 ) Four luxury rooms **** with queen-sized double bed and en-suite bathroom, coffee/thee tray, patio and linked to private terrace with pool. In The orchard we offer 4 self catering cottages with bedroom including en-suite Bathroom and separate kitchen, dining area with fire-place and outside terraceand we offer 6 luxury rooms in "The Old Stable" with en-suite Bathroom and private terrace.Also: - Secured private parking space on farm - Own private terrace with the apartments and outside terrace with the luxury rooms. - Air-conditioned ( heating and cooling ) - Swimming pool - TV, DVD in apartments and Satellite DStv and LCD flat-screens in luxury rooms - Internet facilities present (wireless ADSL ) - Laundry service on request. - Daily cleaning of rooms - Credit card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing