We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B with great personal atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
1 review
“Great B & B with great personal atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great location for visiting Paarl and the great golf courses in the area.
The owners have achieved a very personal hands on environment and are happy to spend time outlining the history of the region with regard to fruit farms and vineyards.
Good value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    78
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
120
298
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Peninsula National Park, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spend a few marvelous days at “De Leeuwenhof”.
What a wonderful place to spend some truly quality time in comfort.
We have a 3 star Guest-House ourselves and every now and then we treat ourselves.
And what a treat this was, the immaculate accommodation with everything you can wish for, the scrumptious breakfast and in the evening Daan’s famous braai. One of the items on the menu is Daan’s secret recipe chickens on the grill, really to die for. Whilst sitting around the fire with other guests reminiscing about the days past. Yvonne and Daan are fantastic hosts and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. We picked up some very good ideas during our stay which we are going to implement in our own Guest-House. That is meant as a compliment off course. We will soon be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise and Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eemnes
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

we stayed here for the third time,and it was,again,wonderful.There is nothing the owners won't do for you.One should stay here for more than one night,then one can truly appreciate their wonderful hospitality and the atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sjoerd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Yvonne and Daan established a fantastic Bed & Breakfast location near Paarl in South Africa. With their hospitality they create an unforgettable Holiday.

Leeuwenhof is a small paradise. A fantastic location, great facilities and a excellent staff. Paarl is close to many sights to visit and the wine and food in the area is great.

We will return for shure at The Leeuwenhof

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

De Leeuwenhof is a lovely little retreat in the South African winelands. Daan, Yvonne and family are most welcoming and go the extra length to make sure you are well cared for. The place is full of comfort with a touch of luxury. We enjoyed both the estate and pool area as well as several day trips that Daan helped us plan. The days always began with a delicious hot breakfast and coffee on the porch. If possible, try to arrange a visit over a Sunday as the Estate tour, wine tasting and African Braai really complete the experience providing additional historic context as well as a true taste of bbq in S. Africa. Absolutely worth it!

Room Tip: No need to worry about room reservations - there is not a bad room on the estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at De Leeuewenhof Guesthouse for 4 nights. We would recommend this accomodation to anyone. The spacious rooms are decorated lovely, and the estate is beautiful, surrounded by winefields and fruit trees. The Dutch owners, Daan and Yvonne, will do anything for you you make you feel at home. There was a winetasting and traditional "braai" as well, which we would recommend to any guest who will stay at De Leeuwenhof. The price is very reasonable according to the quality. This accomodation will be added to our top ten list for sure!

Corine and George van de Vorst

Room Tip: We would advice to book one of the family rooms, they have a veautiful terrace at the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corine en Geor... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochem, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

although we arrived late we were welcomed and offered a good bottle of their own wine. Beds are comfortable end everything is available, pool, drinks, wifi as the town, golf courses and access to the main road are within minutes. a place to return to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
487 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
178 reviews
3.7 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
50 reviews
3.7 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
18.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse

Property: De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Address: Sonstraal Road | Klein Drakenstein, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"De Leeuwenhof" was founded in 1698 by a French Hugenot who came to the Cape winelands to grow fruit and grapes. Nowadays the 4-star Cape Dutch Estate is restored to it former glory and offers 11 luxury guestrooms and two apartments, 4 self-catering cottages and a small restaurant with a nice entertainment area with two pools and safe parking. The Estate is family run and the personal touch will make you feel quite at home. Most guests come to rest and enjoy the food and wine and beautiful surroundings. "De Leeuwenhof" 11,5 Ha is still a working farm and produces 64 tons of grapes and 200 tons of fruit on a yearly basis. The estate is situated in the historic wine lands of the Western Cape, tranquilly situated on the foot of the mountains 5 min from Paarl itself.The offerings more specific: Rooms & family apartments: We can accommodate 36 people in total!Attached to main House (1698): Two family apartments , with two double bedrooms with queen-sized four-poster beds, kitchenette, terrace and bathroom, fully air-conditioned (cooled and heated) TV, DVD and local TV station. Minimum charge of two people per apartment. In adjoining historic building " The Old Barn"(1914 ) Four luxury rooms **** with queen-sized double bed and en-suite bathroom, coffee/thee tray, patio and linked to private terrace with pool. In The orchard we offer 4 self catering cottages with bedroom including en-suite Bathroom and separate kitchen, dining area with fire-place and outside terraceand we offer 6 luxury rooms in "The Old Stable" with en-suite Bathroom and private terrace.Also: - Secured private parking space on farm - Own private terrace with the apartments and outside terrace with the luxury rooms. - Air-conditioned ( heating and cooling ) - Swimming pool - TV, DVD in apartments and Satellite DStv and LCD flat-screens in luxury rooms - Internet facilities present (wireless ADSL ) - Laundry service on request. - Daily cleaning of rooms - Credit card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing