We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Caring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Our first 2 nights of our first 3 weeks vacation to South Africa. If "First Impressions" matter, then "De Leeuwenhof" set the scene for many more such trips to follow.
After a horror flight to CT we arrived at "De Leeuwenhof" at approx. 11 pm and were welcomed by our hosts and staff. Our luggage was still somewhere 'en-route' and required quite a bit of communicative attention to retrieve. This effort was taken over by our hosts Dan & Yvonne so that we were free to enjoy our first day in Paarl. Thanks to their persistent e-mails & phone calls to airlines, couriers and our next guest house (Die Eike, Rawsonville), the luggage arrived in good shape 2 days later.
Needless to say that we felt this level of care and attention throughout our stay at "De Leeuwenhof". Thank you Dan & Yvonne.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deleeuwenhof, Guest Relations Manager at De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. Running a guesthouse is more than serving meals and making beds. Solving hassle and giving good advice makes or breaks a holiday and we give it our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 578 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2011

I've been to De Leeuwenhof at the end of March till the beginning of April with some friends. This was one of the best stays I've ever had.
The rooms look great, are very clean and the view is magnificent! The beds are also very nice.
The location is perfect, all nice spots are close, so you don't have to be in your car for hours and hours!
One of the things I loved most about my stay is the staff, they are all so generous and they make you feel like you are home. Everything is possible and they want to help you with everything. But if you don't want help, and just want to be on your own, no problem, they won't disturbe your vacation!
If I ever go back to South Africa, I will defenitely come by again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimHouberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I visited Paarl end of March with three friends. We wanted to really experience the area in our short four day stay, so we booked at the Leeuwenhof guesthouse. Due to it's unique location we were able to visit every location we wanted, without having to drive long distances. Our stay was very pleasant, the rooms are beautifull and the staff really friendly.
It's a certain level of personal attention and service which makes you feel like your coming home and ensures that you enjoy your stay in this fantastic guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freek-Padding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed at De Leeuwenhof for 3 nights as a family - only wish we could have stayed longer. The owners Daan and his wife were so friendly and helpful. The setting is perfect - swimming in the pool and relaxing with a chilled bottle of the estate wine! What more could you want. Excellent facilities to have your own Bar B Q which was so nice after a day out sightseeing. Rooms airconditioned which was also ideal. Staff very friendly. We got to see the resident owls close up - amazing. The children loved it.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area you have to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belindathomas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed for the third time at The Leeuwenhof and they made us addicted!!
We can recommend it to everyone who wants good service and all the other things you
need and don't forget the sence of humour!!
See go there and see for yourself!!
PS: be warned!!
Chris and Sjanie from The Netherlands

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

A great place to stay!
With a wonderful vieuw from the large terrace.
The lovely rooms are perfect, in every way, which I think is important.
The breakfast is a feast, with great thanks to Memmy, who boiled the eggs excactly right.
Every stay at The Leeuwenhof B&B feels good, Daan and Yvonne make you feel very welcome!!!!

I intend to come back soon, very likely with my family,
after all, I want to see the whales in Hermanus!!!!
Daan and Yvonne, you're doing a great job!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanjaHuizenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

After travelling through the Western- and Eastern Cape, it was a warm bath being received by Yvonne and Daan!
Their Farm (Wine Estate) gives the visitor everything to enjoy an unforgettable stay in Paarl!
We certainly are coming back the next time, after visiting Soth Africa for more than 2 times.
Wishing the couple good health and business.

Pieter Korving & Yvonne Steinbusch.
Vaals
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterKORVING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
496 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
189 reviews
3.7 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,907 reviews
3.7 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
18.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse

Address: Sonstraal Road | Klein Drakenstein, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range: $109 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"De Leeuwenhof" was founded in 1698 by a French Hugenot who came to the Cape winelands to grow fruit and grapes. Nowadays the 4-star Cape Dutch Estate is restored to it former glory and offers 11 luxury guestrooms and two apartments, 4 self-catering cottages and a small restaurant with a nice entertainment area with two pools and safe parking. The Estate is family run and the personal touch will make you feel quite at home. Most guests come to rest and enjoy the food and wine and beautiful surroundings. "De Leeuwenhof" 11,5 Ha is still a working farm and produces 64 tons of grapes and 200 tons of fruit on a yearly basis. The estate is situated in the historic wine lands of the Western Cape, tranquilly situated on the foot of the mountains 5 min from Paarl itself.The offerings more specific: Rooms & family apartments: We can accommodate 36 people in total!Attached to main House (1698): Two family apartments , with two double bedrooms with queen-sized four-poster beds, kitchenette, terrace and bathroom, fully air-conditioned (cooled and heated) TV, DVD and local TV station. Minimum charge of two people per apartment. In adjoining historic building " The Old Barn"(1914 ) Four luxury rooms **** with queen-sized double bed and en-suite bathroom, coffee/thee tray, patio and linked to private terrace with pool. In The orchard we offer 4 self catering cottages with bedroom including en-suite Bathroom and separate kitchen, dining area with fire-place and outside terraceand we offer 6 luxury rooms in "The Old Stable" with en-suite Bathroom and private terrace.Also: - Secured private parking space on farm - Own private terrace with the apartments and outside terrace with the luxury rooms. - Air-conditioned ( heating and cooling ) - Swimming pool - TV, DVD in apartments and Satellite DStv and LCD flat-screens in luxury rooms - Internet facilities present (wireless ADSL ) - Laundry service on request. - Daily cleaning of rooms - Credit card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing