We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all aspects!”
Review of Grande Roche Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Roche Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent in all aspects!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We spend one night and rate it as one of the finest 'boutique hotels' I have stayed in. The rooms ( 2 floor suite) was spacious, well furnished, excellent wifi connectivity and underfloor heating. What gives this hotel the leading edge is the personal service and small but welcomed gestures ( complimentary bottle of champagne), a filled bath and rose petals on the bath floor! Breakfast was also great.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nassos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed one of our Duplex Suites and we hope that you are able to return in the near future and experience it once again.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    101
    38
    25
    11
See reviews for
58
300
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My 3 night stay at Grande Roche Hotel on the foot of the Paarl Mountains was truly exquisite. Safe and Secure, The Staff was incredible, always available and genuinely pleasant. The Hospitality was warm and comfortable, they catered for every need and I particularly loved the breakfast buffet. There is pleanty of Private spaces to relax like example the Herb garden with the aroma of Lemon trees, lavender and Rosemary. Grande Roche has the option of intimate dinning experiences avalaible private and truly special. Grande Roche is definetely a small little oasis I would love to return to.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tal2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It was also nice to hear how you appreciated our little herb Garden as well as our Breakfast.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
We do hope that you are able to visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

It is really difficult to find anything to fault with La Grande Roche (although the front of house staff are a little pretentious and up themselves!).
The rooms / suites are amongst the best I've stayed in and the grounds in which they sit are exquisite!
And then of course there's the restaurant! Bosman's!! There's a separate review for this, but it really is first class in every respect! The food is cordon bleu, the wine list as extensive as any restaurant I've visited - something like 48 pages! And the service is efficient yet discrete - close to perfection! The breakfast too lives up to this award-winning restaurant's reputation!

Room Tip: At this time (July 2014), the Rand - Sterling exchange rate is very much in favour of the UK travell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Gerry,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Our apologies that you think our staff was not living up to their standards, we will definitely look into this.
We hope that when the exchange rate is in favour of UK that you will be able to visit us again.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Fribourg, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Spending some days with my father in Paarl in the Grande Roche Hotel was really a perfect experience. Thank you to the very attentive and nice service people.

The thing that should be solved is the recurrent internet problems that we encounter in the room (but not in the Lobby).

As summary, I do strongly recommend this Hotel with probably one of the most beautiful view of the region.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmanuelKil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Emmanuel,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Thank you for advising us regarding the trouble you experienced with our internet, we will have someone take a look at this.
We do hope that we will welcome you back to the Grande Roche Hotel in the Future.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Leitrim, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed in this gem of a hotel with relations from Australia last April and from the minute I arrived to the minute I left just loved it and booking to go back again next April. The service was the best I have experienced in any hotel and believe me I have stayed in quite a few hotels over the years and the food served inside or outside was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Martin,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel, as well as that you will be returning to us next April.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to spend a night. Lovely old fashioned hotel in Paarl. Great breakfast on the terrace with the most amazing views. Excellent base for wine tasting! Our room was fantastic. Staff were great

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Malcolm,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
We hope to welcome you and your partner back to the Estate one day soon.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Having spent 4 days at this amazing hotel I have nothing but praise for the excellent service, friendly staff, amazing facilities and absolute 5* experience. Definitely worth another visit. Thank-you for everything!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view! What a dream to wake up to such beauty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyHeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Cathy
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
We hope that you are able to return again one day soon with your husband and two beautiful sons.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
177 reviews
13.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
14.4 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Roche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Roche Hotel

Property: Grande Roche Hotel
Address: Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Roche Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grande Roche, celebrated international hotel, famous for its exquisite location in the heart of the beautiful Cape Winelands as well as for its luxurious, cosmopolitan accommodation, award-winning cuisine and matchless service and hospitality. The immaculately restored Cape Dutch homestead at Grande Roche dates back to the 18th century, and offers guests a variety of sumptuous accommodation which include 35 luxury suites. The Banqueting Venue with an open-air amphitheater sits on the upper slopes of the estates, in the midst of vineyards and plum orchards, with a backdrop of Paarl Rock. Whether it's an international conference, a board meeting, cutting-edge product launch or high-profile company summit, The Grande Roche will take care of your needs... we know it is the little details that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Roche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing