We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Grande Roche Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Roche Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Facilities were very good. The gardens were absolutely beautiful. It was such a lovely and peaceful setting. The food was very good. The staff were very professional, efficient and extremely attentive during our stay. We loved every moment of our visit to this hotel. I would stay here again, if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza-Ruto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Grande Roche Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 493 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying over at the Grande Roche on 25 April 2014. Upon arrival at 13h30 we were warmly welcomed with a glass of ice cold sparkling wine by efficient and friendly staff who remembered us from a previous visit. We requested a table at the pool for lunch, as we had visitors joining us and were accommodated immediately without any effort. Our party of four were treated to a gastronomic feast from the starters to the desert all exquisitely presented. After an amazing afternoon we checked in. Our huge suite was tastefully decorated to recreate the old world charm of the estate and the manor house but with all the modern luxuries. Sundowners on our own private deck in the beautiful surroundings of the well kept gardens and the majestic mountains of the Paarl valley concluded a near perfect day.

The stay was a memorable occasion and we would like to congratulate the GM and staff for doing a great job! We would highly recommend this exclusive retreat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Fred,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was an impulse booking on an extended family stay in Paarl and we were grateful we did. We found the front of house staff to be excellent and flexible with the idiosyncratic requirements of a young family - with Julian and Onwaba both being outstanding.

Some reviews have seemed to knit pick certain aspects of the hotels character, but they seem to be missing the point. This is not a stuffy, starchy five star hotel, this is a hotel where you can relax and be made feel at home by the staff with five star attentiveness, views and food.

We shall return again to Grande Roche, our children are demanding it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Claire,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel/Bosman’s Restaurant.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have to admit I still have another 2 nights here, but it is a glorious spot. we have a 1 bedroom suite which is clean, comfortable and very spacious. The staff her are excellent and helpful and the views for breakfast and at cocktail evening are breathtaking. Paarl itself is lovely, but we are close to Franschoek and Stellenbosch and a multitude of other areas of interest. It was a very easy drive from Cape Town, less than an hour and the grounds are lovely. Worth the visit.

Room Tip: Lotus room was excellent, but I suspect they are all equally good.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a gorgeous location. Great view from the breakfast terrace, mostly genuinely friendly staff but what a disappointment.

Took a duplex suite which turned out to be rather dark. Internet is slow but working in the lobby area but mostly not working in the room. The shower is hard to enter for a man of 100kg + as a tiny pivoting door is a handicap... Water pressure equals that of a light drizzle.

And for whatever you, don't try to get a late checkout - i.e. as late as 2 pm for example (!!!) as you will be charged 100 Rand (or U$ 9.50) PER HOUR for that "extra" service. Sad sad sad... And the manager - nowhere to be seen...

The bright side are many other beautiful boutique hotels in the area that truly welcome and care for their visitors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Having just attended a function at this award winning hotel and seeing the new function venue, i have no option, but to recommend this wonderful gem. The setting, just under the famous Paarl rock is sublime and the staff and catering backs this up 100% Staying at Grande Roche is like home away from home with room service too! Normally a fussy person at the best of time, I cannot think of 1 negative of my stay there. I do advise to stay in a Terrace cottage as these seem to be much nicer as they are further away from the main house. As a hotel, well there are many other so-called luxury hotels that can take a leaf out of this book!

Room Tip: The Terrace suites are definitely good value for money
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Reuben,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Local Cape Town residents decided to drive out to Paarl for our 47th anniversary lunch, What a pleasant surprise. Lovely ambience, great staff and service. Food was top division and more reasonable than I expected.
The kicker was when our coffee was brought to us we also got a board with Happy Annivesray written on it and some divine chocs and sweets.
Well done to all. Will certainly be back. Oh by the way the view was to die for.
Paul

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Paul,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Bosman’s Restaurant.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
181 reviews
15.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
14.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
15.4 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Roche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Roche Hotel

Address: Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range: $207 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Roche Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grande Roche, celebrated international hotel, famous for its exquisite location in the heart of the beautiful Cape Winelands as well as for its luxurious, cosmopolitan accommodation, award-winning cuisine and matchless service and hospitality. The immaculately restored Cape Dutch homestead at Grande Roche dates back to the 18th century, and offers guests a variety of sumptuous accommodation which include 35 luxury suites. The Banqueting Venue with an open-air amphitheater sits on the upper slopes of the estates, in the midst of vineyards and plum orchards, with a backdrop of Paarl Rock. Whether it's an international conference, a board meeting, cutting-edge product launch or high-profile company summit, The Grande Roche will take care of your needs... we know it is the little details that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Roche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing