We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay, but the wine prices are a joke!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grande Roche Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Roche Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay, but the wine prices are a joke!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Grande Roche has to be one of the finest hotels we have stayed in anywhere. It is luxurious but intimate, superbly managed, and without doubt peerless of its kind in South Africa.
Interestingly enough, we managed to get accommodation for a room there more inexpensively through bookings.com than from the hotel itself. The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The gardens have justly won many awards and are a particular pleasure. We also ate at the hotel restaurant which is named "Bosmans". The food was expensive, but they justified the top price (R250 for duck!). What are NOT justified are the outrageous prices for the wines on offer. $95 for a local wine? Forget it. So my advice is - stay there, eat there, drink water. Or eat elsewhere in Paarl (there are several delightful, more modest restaurants).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteklat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel & Bosman’s Restaurant. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and helps us to improve on our services.

We do hope that you will visit us again soon.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.

Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    98
    39
    23
    11
See reviews for
58
291
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Grande Roche hotel has an impressive reputation which is richly deserved. The accommodation is of the highest standard, the service impeccable and the ambience outstanding with peace and quietness all around. It is set in a delightful area and has the most beautiful grounds. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived and could not have wished for more during our stay. The staff have a very friendly approach without being deferential - they all seemed to treat one as if you were the only person in the hotel. The front desk offers helpful advice about local amenities and attractions. This is a special place which provides a feast of memories. We can only hope to return at some time as it can't be faulted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.

We do hope that you will visit us again soon.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.

Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We could not have made a better choice for our 44th wedding anniversary than spending the weekend at the Grande Roche. Anja, Onwaba and their team really went out of their way to make the experience unforgettable. The table on the stoep overlooking the valley was beautifully decorated. While we were busy with our desert Onwba sang a beautiful lovesong, and then we were served a heavenly chocolate cake specially decorated for us. Back in the room we had champagne waiting in a room ful of rose petals. All this would have been lovely in itself, but the friendlyness of the whole staff for the whole weekend made it just so very special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. Thank you for sharing your special day with us.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.Well done to Onwaba and the Grande Roche team.

Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife Sarah and I got married at Grand Roche on the 2nd of November and from start to finish we found the stay and the experienced to be beyond our expectations.
The hotel in itself is beautiful and the location gives stunning views over the nearby mountains. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully furnished. The gardens are amazing and maintained to perfection and the staff seem to go the extra mile to make sure that your stay is special.
This is an exceptional wedding venue in terms of setting, service and accommodation.The food was delicious and the wine that we chose on a previous stay back in March with the help of the resident sommelier was excellent.
The experience was made more special due to the work that Onwaba and her events team put in to make the day flow from beginning to end,and the positive feedback from all of our guests is testament to the whole team at Grande Roche.
If you are looking for a special hotel to stay at in the Paarl area, then in our opinion, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. Thank you for choosing the Hotel for your special day and we are happy that we could deliver on our promise to impress.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. Well done to Onwaba and the Grande Roche Team!

Kind regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is in the Small leading hotels of the world, and it deserves to be so... it starts at your arrival when you are asked to enjoy the views from the terrace with perhaps a glass of bubbly, red or white sir? whilst we take care of your check in..

you are then shown to your room which is absolutely fantastic, and the dinner just does the rest of the place some justice.... on top of that we enjoyed an spontaneous rendition of the "click" song, a traditional Xhosa song.

We were only lucky enough to stay one night at the Grande Roche, but even then we got memories to last us a life time. we hope you can stay for longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlvaroGlezR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us and for the special mention of the rendition of the Xhosa song "click".

We do hope that you will come and visit again soon and stay for longer if time allows.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.

Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Three nights at the Grande Roche were the final destination on occasion of our visit to South Africa with my father and his wife.
When we arrived at Grand Roche, were shown to our rooms Dauphine and Victoria it was clear that this choice of SLH had been the right one. Peaceful surroundings, immaculately presented grounds and calm efficiency of the ever smiling staff was a joy. The rooms are well equipped and spotless. Breakfast, on the terrace looking out over the vineyard and distant mountains or in the restaurant. With close attention to detail (candles lit every night, a bottle of champagne for my father – incl rosepedals – for his birthday.
Dinner at the Bosmans was excellent, the restaurant manager’s attention outstanding – as well as all the staffs service.

The only criticism we have is that Wifi was primarily available in the lobby. What is available in the rooms requires repeated logins – which is really quite annoying. We will always come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timm1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. We know that it is the small details that count when you are on holiday and we are happy that we could make your stay such a pleasant one.

We do hope that you will return to South Africa soon and stay at the Hotel again.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.

Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The Grande Roche Hotel is a very special place situated beautyfully in a historical farm house in the middle of the Vineyards of Paarl. From its terrace you have a gorgeous view over the entire valley. The rooms are located in various houses across the estate which is in fact a beautiful garden surrounded by vineyards. The staff and its service are outstanding. When we arrived we were greeted with a sparkling wine on the terasse while the check-in formalities were carried out. Meanwhile our luggage was brought to our room and we were guided around the estate and shown the young owls which were breeding in the hollow trunk of an old tree. We had a Duplex suite with a small appartment below and an en-suite room upstairs. We were a bit disappointed to learn that the famous Bosmans Restaurant was closed, but the dinner from the Bistro was excellent and the suggestions from the sommelier were entirely convincing.
The only criticism we had was that some of the installations in the room were a bit worn out and when trying to close the door of the bathroom I held the door knob in my hand. Having said that, the problem was immediately taken care of and the door was mended while we had dinner.
In a nutshell, this remains an excellent hotel, with a great Restaurant, outstanding service in an unique setting. We will always come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KMK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.Your feedback is highly appreciated and it helps us to improve on our services.

We know that it is the small details that make a difference when travelling and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will visit us again and experience Bosman's Restaurant next time.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.

Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
14.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
13.4 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
14.4 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Roche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Roche Hotel

Property: Grande Roche Hotel
Address: Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Roche Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grande Roche, celebrated international hotel, famous for its exquisite location in the heart of the beautiful Cape Winelands as well as for its luxurious, cosmopolitan accommodation, award-winning cuisine and matchless service and hospitality. The immaculately restored Cape Dutch homestead at Grande Roche dates back to the 18th century, and offers guests a variety of sumptuous accommodation which include 35 luxury suites. The Banqueting Venue with an open-air amphitheater sits on the upper slopes of the estates, in the midst of vineyards and plum orchards, with a backdrop of Paarl Rock. Whether it's an international conference, a board meeting, cutting-edge product launch or high-profile company summit, The Grande Roche will take care of your needs... we know it is the little details that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Roche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing