We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Grande Roche Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Roche Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A very cold and rainy weekend turned into an unforgettable experience at the Grande Roche Hotel. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during one of the coldest weekends of a Cape Town winter, but the excellent service, high quality and beauty of this hotel really made us feel all warm and fuzzy.

The room we stayed in overlooked the vineyards so we woke up with this beautiful view every morning. The under floor heating in the room really made us forget that we are in the middle of winter and we could comfortable walk around our room barefoot and with short sleeve shirts. The room has a spacious bedroom, bathroom with bath and shower and a lounge. They also provide limited complimentary wifi and a minibar.

Dinner and breakfast at Bosman's Restaurant was unbelievable. The food was delicious and the friendliness and service of the staff makes you feel at home.

Compliments to the management and staff of this beautiful hotel for giving guests a true 5-star experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacoNrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.

We do hope that you visit again and experience the hotel in summer.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 496 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Im just back for a 2 night stay at the Grande Roche and absolutely loved it. The property is beautiful, very well maintained and the service is very nice without being intrusive.
Being a member of the SLH, I got a good offer and really enjoyed the tranquility of the hotel and its premises.
We had dinner one night at the Bosman's and we really liked it (very affordable) the wine selection is amazing and the sommelier was very nice and friendly.
I found Paarl and the whole area very beautiful and relaxing to spend a good few days.
I cannot wait to come back! Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.

We are looking forward to your next visit to the hotel too.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Grande Roche in a Terrace suite. What a wonderful hotel, beautiful setting with resident squirrels, guinea fowl and a nightly owl. Perfect weather made it all the better. We had a lovely suite with a marvellous view of vineyards and mountains with spacious green lawn and gardens in front of our patio. Everything seems to run like clockwork, even the gardens are maintained on a schedule so you know when to expect the sound of clippers and lawnmowers. There are two swimming pools, one I believe heated, a lovely little chapel which is worth a look and plenty of history.
Our room was decorated in a contemporary style and while I may have preferred traditional Cape décor everything was done very nicely. Unfortunately while there was a lot of counter space there was no actual desk or chair where one could sit if one wanted to use a laptop or do some writing. This was rather odd as I noticed other rooms with desks.
The food was very good. Breakfasts were served out on the front terrace which was lovely and the food selection was excellent as was the service. We ate dinner at the hotel each night and meals were all very good. There are two restaurants in the hotel and there is a system to change the nightly meals from one restaurant to another at certain times. The second restaurant, being a fine dining restaurant has many accolades and whilst the food was excellent it may not suit everyone.
Housekeeping was a little slack in the rooms, used glasses sat for ages before being removed as was a small milk jug which sat for 2 days before being taken away. Our bathroom floor was never swept the whole time we were there and bits of grass and squashed millipedes remained there. Also found the rooms cleaned very late in the day, which was difficult if we came back after lunch and they were not yet done but I guess you should be expected to be out all day!
All in all an excellent stay and we would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: Terrace suites for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fordaleDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granderoche, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear fordaleDubai,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Grande Roche Hotel.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with happy memories.

Be assured that I will use your constructive criticism to implement the necessary policies and procedures ensuring that it does not repeat itself.

Should you plan to return to the Winelands, please contact me as I would be honoured to assist you with your booking and meet with you during your stay.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked this venue for our sons 21st birthday party and it was a huge success.We had no hesitation to use the Grand for a small family wedding which was conducted in the old slave chappel with drinks and a celebratory meal afterwards .Again it was a fine experience and met our expectations very well .More recently we have visited for a casual refreshments and really enjoyed the location,ambiance and quality

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonioandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Grande Roche for these special occasions and we hope that you will continue to visit us.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our favourite hotel in the world.

Great rooms (Letitia is our favourite) each with a balcony and sitting room.

Bosmann's restaurant is outstanding and another favourite.

Staff, service, pool, grounds, walks, wines, food, all are excellent.

Breakfast on the terrace is just magical, exceeded only by the view of the mountains at sunset.

Room Tip: Ask for Letitia, the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent out 33rd wedding anniversary at Grande Roche. Besides the extreme beauty of the location in the middle of wine lands plus the most pleasant accommodation, the warm welcome by Samantha and Wentzel the hotel staff continued to exceed our expectations.
Dinner presentation and quality were most commendable, the wine list very impressive, not to mention the remarkable knowledge by the sommelier, Kayeton Meissner.
The staff applied so many special details during our stay and arranged the room in a style that really created a memory of a lifetime for my wife and myself. I have travelled a lot internationally and must admit that Grande Roche is a very special venue when visiting Cape Town and the African region.

Room Tip: The rooms with views into the Paarl Rock mountain and at the same time onto the Wemmershoek (Hotten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.Thank you for choosing the hotel to celebrate yor 33rd wedding anniversary.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Well done Grande Roche Team!

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

What an amazing time. The grande Roche hosted my wedding in march this year. It was amazing. The staff cannot do enough for you. The whole estate is beautifully manicured. The rooms are beautiful and clean all with gorgeous views of the rolling mountains and vineyard. The food was divine, a braai, then wedding breakfast and then a buffet. All food was served with great attention to detail and flavour. All of my guests had an amazing time and they came from uk, SA, Australia and Ireland! Thank you for making my day so special!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 5Star-LottieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.Thank you for sharing your special day with us.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
189 reviews
15.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
13.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
14.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Roche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Roche Hotel

Address: Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range: $189 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Roche Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grande Roche, celebrated international hotel, famous for its exquisite location in the heart of the beautiful Cape Winelands as well as for its luxurious, cosmopolitan accommodation, award-winning cuisine and matchless service and hospitality. The immaculately restored Cape Dutch homestead at Grande Roche dates back to the 18th century, and offers guests a variety of sumptuous accommodation which include 35 luxury suites. The Banqueting Venue with an open-air amphitheater sits on the upper slopes of the estates, in the midst of vineyards and plum orchards, with a backdrop of Paarl Rock. Whether it's an international conference, a board meeting, cutting-edge product launch or high-profile company summit, The Grande Roche will take care of your needs... we know it is the little details that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Grande Roche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing