We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed fantastic location.”
Review of Grande Roche Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Roche Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a superb hotel in the Cape Winelands. Great service, food and luxurious accommodation. Well done to Anja Bosken, the General Manager and her Staff! I highly recommend the Grande Roche Hotel and looking forward to my next stay at the Grande Roche.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 656Nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. We know that every small detail makes a memorable holiday.

We do hope that you visit again soon.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 497 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

I found this lovely place a wee bit stuffy. The food certainly lives up to the hype, but I didn't find the rooms especially charming. It is all what you expect from a 5-star, which kinda makes it average. I didn't feel particularly pampered, but the staff was warm if not overly so.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennJennUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and helps us improve our services.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your culinary experience at the Hotel.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough - it is amazing! The staff are superb...always smiling and stopping to have a chat. Although the hotel itself is fabulous, it is the staff who make it truly exceptional.
We loved our room, which was one of the duplex rooms. It is beautifully furnished, clean and quiet!
A few tips: definitely book a table for dinner. The food and service is fine dining at its best.
If you wish to do some wine tastings and don't want to drive, the hotel will drive you (in and around Paarl) at no extra cost.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you had such a memorable experience.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Well done Grande Roche Team!

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had booked the honeymoon suite for 2 nights and had several problems with the room. The heating in the bedroom did not work and we spent over a hour with the technition fixing it. We finally had a shower when he left and found there was no hot water!!!!! So generally very annoying, having said that the staff were very polite. They transferred us for the evening to another room and offered it free of charge.After all the hassel they at least they made up for it! The tasting menu in the restaurant was fantastic, we enjoyed all of it accompanied by lovely South African wines.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessandro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Grande Roche is an old Dutch Cape style hotel with white-washed buildings and thatch roofs. It is very well maintained. The grounds are beautiful, with vineyards combined with lawns and beautiful plantings. The rooms and suites are in separate buildings that sit a short distance from one another. I had a suite called Dynasty. It was in a building with 4 rooms side by side, each with a terrace out front and looking to the mountains of the Stellenbosch area which are very dramatic and beautiful. The bathroom was newly updated and lovely. The bedroom had great light and was good for sleeping. I asked the hotel for a guide for two days on the history and wine. The guide was superb -- very knowledgeable and worked to do things that I was interested in. This was a highlight of my visit. The fine restaurant Bosman's is excellent and the sommelier did a wonderful job finding me a small glass of excellent and limited production wine for each course and explaining where the wine was from and who made it. The people could not have been nicer and more accommodating -- old fashioned, first rate service.

Room Tip: If having a view is important to you, be sure to ask for a slightly more expensive room. I had a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Grand Roche is a spectacular property with some of the highest accolades in the area. Emphasis on service and attention to detail were evident by a personal greeting from GM Anja Bosken upon check-in. Rental car was unloaded and parked while we sipped sparkling wine in the reception area. We were later taken to our villa and greeted with a welcome gift, courtesy of the property, commensurate to our occasion. The villa has a thatched roof that did give a musty aroma to the room which may have been a turn off to some but we found with air circulating, it was not overpowering (This could have been an isolated condition to our villa, we did not mention it to the staff). Furnishings were nice although the bathroom did start to have some evidence of being dated. Floor heat was a nice touch for the bathroom and bedroom floors. We ordered room service for an afternoon snack to eat and drink wine outdoors on our porch. The views of the vineyard and the sweeping valley up to the distant mountains were a nice back drop to enjoy our time although the food was walked passed us a few times before it was delivered (maybe a new employee who didn't know all of the room names, as there are no numbers). Carpaccio and a pasta dish were decent for room service however the one thing to keep in mind for travelers is the restaurant on property is touted as one of the best in the region...but only cooks the finest dining Thursday through Sunday evenings. The other days will provide you a three course meal served from the bistro kitchen. Advice: If you stay Monday through Wednesday nights, you would be better served finding a restaurant in the region instead.

We spent time at 5 different properties during our 2 weeks in South Africa and I do not want to mislead people with the review. Very Good is a great review and from our trip, this property was the third out of five experienced. We would return here if given the chance but not to go out of our way to do so.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldwide G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and i stayed at this hotel about ten years ago and it is without doubt one of the best we have ever stayed at. On our many trips to S.A. we have stayed at the Marine at Hermanus, the Plettenburg and the Mount Nelson. The Roche stands head and shoulders above all the rest.
A small hotel in the Dutch style and a still functioning winery. The suites were magnificent as was the food which came served outside on the stone terrace with amazing views of the surrounding mountains.Service was first class and the hotel truly desrves it,s five star plus rating.
Our regular suite is in a thatched cottage in the grounds which is often booked for honeymooners.Very romantic and utterly indulgent.
Planning to return next year when i retire.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
189 reviews
15.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
13.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
14.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Roche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Roche Hotel

Address: Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range: $189 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Roche Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grande Roche, celebrated international hotel, famous for its exquisite location in the heart of the beautiful Cape Winelands as well as for its luxurious, cosmopolitan accommodation, award-winning cuisine and matchless service and hospitality. The immaculately restored Cape Dutch homestead at Grande Roche dates back to the 18th century, and offers guests a variety of sumptuous accommodation which include 35 luxury suites. The Banqueting Venue with an open-air amphitheater sits on the upper slopes of the estates, in the midst of vineyards and plum orchards, with a backdrop of Paarl Rock. Whether it's an international conference, a board meeting, cutting-edge product launch or high-profile company summit, The Grande Roche will take care of your needs... we know it is the little details that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Roche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing