We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here in Paarl”
Review of Noop

Noop
Ranked #2 of 102 Restaurants in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Noop. We hope you feel at home here, because that is how we think of our restaurant. After all, we spend more time here than we do at our homes. Our beautiful heritage building breathes warmth and hospitality. We know many of our guests by name; some of them have become our friends.As for us, we were customers before we became owners. Noop was established in 2005, and we had an affinity for the restaurant when we took it over in 2012. It's still as popular with returning locals as it is with visiting tourists, and we've kept everything people love about it while also making it our own. There's plenty for you to choose from, and we're sure that you'll find something you like. The meals are all fresh and so is the inspiration on our specials board. If you have special requests, we'll try our best to accommodate them. Whatever you order, you can enjoy it knowing that we make the same kind of food here as we do at home. Unpretentious. Often spontaneous. Always delicicious.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Good decor, good service, good value and, most importantly, excellent food.

Only criticism is that if you think the specials change daily they don't appear to here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noop Restaurant W, Owner at Noop, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear John S,

Thank you for your review!

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and more importantly, your time with us. It is always nice to hear such compliments!

We make use of our blackboard / specials board to establish what new dishes are popular with our customers and what is not. It helps us to make an informative decision for when we re - do our menu at the end of the year.

I am sad to hear that you did not experience it this way.

Kind regards,

Mariette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 455 of 711 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Went here for lunch with a friend on a weekday. Ordered the fish and chips from the 'in and out' menu and was not impressed at all. Fish was cut in small and thin pieces fried in a beer batter which was thick and oily. Fish was so full of bones that I could not eat it. Even the chips was soggy and not crispy. My friend ordered the duck salad which she thoroughly enjoyed. The service was good, attentive and the atmosphere is great. Lovely décor as well - unfortunately all these things can not make up for the fact that the food was substandard. This was an overall bad first experience for me at the much talked about Noop. Rather order something 'save' next time such as the pasta or burger. Will think twice before returning for rather 'usual' food since there are so many other places in close proximity offering better value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travelchick030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noop Restaurant W, Owner at Noop, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Travelchick030,

Thank you for writing your review; without feedback we will not know when a guest is unhappy or where we can improve.

I am delighted that you like our décor and that our service was up to your standards. I will make sure to pass this compliment on to the staff.

I am, however, not so happy to hear that you were disappointed with your food. I will make sure that the kitchen gets your message.
Fish & Chips in general is an easy, comfort food. But at the same time it is very difficult to live up to everyone's idea of what it should look and taste like. Some people like it the way we make it and will return for that specific dish. Other people do not like it and will not return for that dish. Luckily everyone is entitled to their own opinion and also entitled to voice it.

Once again, thank you. Feedback from our customers is the only way we learn!

Kind regards,

Mariette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a fabulous dinner, the waiters are very friendly and offer great service. Really enjoyed our meal and the home made chocolates are a nice treat at the end of the meal. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noop Restaurant W, Owner at Noop, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Steven S,

Thank you very much for your kind review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and I hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Mariette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have eaten at Noop in Main Road, Paarl on a number of occasions now, and have never been disappointed. This is absolute service excellence, from the time you walk in the door, enjoy 5 star dining, be it lunch or dinner or a drink at the bar or sitting outside. The menu is divine. The choices are amazing. The taste is definitely going to lure you back time and time again. Well done to all the very attentive staff and extraordinary talented chefs - Be sure to make this your next choice for a stunning place to enjoy yourselves.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gilly-Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noop Restaurant W, Owner at Noop, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Gilly-Lulu,

It is always heart warming and simply great to hear that a customer enjoyed our food and appreciated all the hard work it takes daily to make our Restaurant a success. Thank you for taking the time to write the review and give us your comments!

More than half our Chef's studied at Warwick's Chef School in Hermanus, including both the owners. I believe that this is what gives us the edge; they all have the same background and principles in the kitchen. They also have the same game plan and mission for the future. I will definitely make sure that they read your review!

If ever in Paarl again, please do visit us, it would be great to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Mariette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A dinner with good friends is always something special and Noop restaurant provided a super location for a very enjoyable evening. The evening blackboard of specials made decision making very difficult, but all made their choices and were not disappointed. The lamb neck, off the bone stuffed was simply scrumptious and a new unknown red wine from Paarl was simply great.
The new young owners have a well trained and attent front of house crew ( not always the case in SA) and the atmosphere and ambiance excellent. On leaving, complimenting the owner was just reward and we shall be back to enjoy more culinary delights from this well run and great food restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANother2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noop Restaurant W, Owner at Noop, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear ANother2013,

First of all, we hope that you had a great time in South Africa and especially in Paarl!

We have a great love for food and the restaurant industry and it is always heart warming to hear that our patrons notice not only our hard work, but also the hard work of our staff. Thank you for that!

I will be sure to pass on your message.

If ever in Paarl again, please do visit us again!

Kind regards,
Mariette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noop also viewed

 

Been to Noop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing