We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rolbaken Country Guesthouse & Cape Mountain Zebra Reserve
Ranked #45 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2012

If there's one thing i'll remember from my holiday in south africa it's the stay at this wonderful place.
Great location if you want to get away from the humdrum of the city life, with excellent hospitality and food. We thoroughly enjoyed the great conversations over meals with Dick and Mary, who manage the place so meticulously. Clean rooms, warm and friendly service are just a small part of this magical locale. Plus the fun swimming at the dam

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anshulgoswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Rolbaken Country Guesthouse & Cape Mountain Zebra Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 82 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

Due previous reviews on TA me and a friend spontaneously decided to stay at Mary and Dick's for two nights on our way through SA. Firstly we found previous reviews to be fully credible and simply have to write, that our stay was the best stay during our journey and enriched our holiday by very special experiences. If you should be travelling the Klein Karoo or even driving along the Garden Route, as we were, it is highly recommended to stay with Mary and Dick for at least two nights for the following reasons (amongst others):
1. Mary's ways with food are admirable. You are very likely to find the best food throughout your SA stay right here and never ever be hungry. Breakfast, Dinner, Cookies, ... Mary's food is just a treat!
2. Dick is a former conservation ranger and will provide you with loads of knowledge about SA, farming in SA, animals and anything you might imagine to be worthy to know about the Klein Karoo. You should make extensive use of Dick's knowledge as you are unlikely to find matching detail in knowledge with your everyday National Park rangers on tourist duty.
3. Dick and Mary will take you up a abandoned or rather a non existing track to a secluded overhang full of Kheosan drawings. Dick and Mary will even make the effort to provide you some snacks at the overhang and can tell you the storys behind most drawings. This experience is honestly special, because the place is magnificent and you will not find this place on your own and not many persons have ever seen this place at all. A must do trip.You can find the drawings and the overhang mentioned in the book 'Water, Stone & Legend - Rock Art of the Klein Karoo'
4. From Rolbaken you can do overnight hikes which will give you a unique experience of the Klein Karoo and its wildlife. Going with Dick makes sure you will learn about Flora and Fauna all the same.

In summary it has to be said, that your SA stay will benefit from a stay at Mary and Dick's in any way and you should not be scared away by the remote location and be assured, that the location simply contributes to the great experience a stay will provide you with.

To Mary and Dick:
Love and all the best in all your adventures.

In appreciation of everything.

Robert

Room Tip: Three rooms available. Any of the same good quality.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frame_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We arrived after a long drive and even after getting lost. It was all dark and we were really tired.
Mary and Dick waited for us with dinner, and as soon as we arrived we knew it was worth it.
The guest house is comfortable, with a beautiful garden and the hosts really make you feel like you are at home.
Our kids played with Gunter the dog, picked strawberries and rode a donkey.
Please take into account that it is secluded but well worth it!
We left the place feeling like we have made new friends. Thanks Mary and Dick!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rutiarazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

After a warm welcome of tea and biscuits we relaxed until dinner, where we had such an enjoyable evening with Mary and Dick. Mary is a fab cook and went out of her way to make my vegetarian meal as delicious as the meat eaters. We chatted until late and felt like we had had a really personal experience of South Africa. If your journey takes you near Oudshoorn, make sure you visit Rolbaken and definitely stay for the fine dining and charming company of the hosts.
Thanks again Dick and Mary,
Love Michelle, Pete, Lou and Conor x

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank goodbanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

A real feeling of residing in the Karoo, with the most hospitable and friendly, helpfull owners being at your service - discover what it is like living away from the mad rush and noise. Go for hikes in the Karoo veld and discover the small wonders that you do not see in cities. Just enjoy being where there is peace and do what you feel like doing. Very worthwhile
Niekie Rust

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niekie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The guesthouse is reached via a well- maintained dirt road (please don't be put off, it is easy to travel with a normal 2- wheel drive and the scenery along the way is worth it! Dick and Mary are fantastic hosts, welcoming and informative about the area. The guesthouse we stayed in was a restored schoolhouse, the rooms spacious, the bathrooms up-to-date with the softest towels. The living area includes a bookcase with a variety to read, should you wish. The veranda offers breathtaking views over the farm. The service offered is more than 5*, we opted for dinner as well as B&B and Mary's cooking was absolutely delicious - came away with a recipe or two. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakarandaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is really in the middle of nowhere and that was exactly what we were looking for. An oasis in the hectic of modern life. Imagine a beautiful stylish building with a spacious common living (to share with maximum 4 other guests), 3 ensuite bedrooms, all with bath and separate shower, a great porch on both sides to watch the landscape and the "rolling mountains". Listen to the numerous birds, lay back and relax. Enjoy the art of cooking of Mary and listen to the thrilling stories of Dick. One wishes this would last forever. We stayed 2 nights and on both nights we loved the dishes Mary cooked. This is a B&B where the host and hostess eat diner together with their guests. Check the website and do not forget to book both the breakfast and diner. One has to provide the stuff for luncheon on their own. Do that for the whole period, as the nearest shop is in Oudtshoorn and that means over 20 km dirt road! We stayed the whole day just enjoying and doing nothing but talk together and play domino with the other guests from Capetown.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alessandro1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
19.8 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#23 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
896 reviews
9.8 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
5.2 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolbaken Country Guesthouse & Cape Mountain Zebra Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolbaken Country Guesthouse & Cape Mountain Zebra Reserve

Address: Daskop Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $30 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolbaken lies in the southwestern foothills of the Kammanassie Mountains. The farm nestles in a long valley, only 40kms from Oudtshoorn, and has magnificent views of both the Swartberg and Outeniqua Mountains. The guesthouse is situated on top of a hill and has its own garden which is safe for children and pets. Rolbaken is the perfect farm getaway for families and friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing