We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at this paradise in Oudsthoorn with my future husband, We were welcomed graciously and had a wonderful time. The highlight was the delightful dinner which rates amongst the best dining experiences I have had in the Cape. And I am not easily pleased! I hope to return soon, Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTB250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Thabile Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 454 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2010

Tranquility place. Len and his helpful team are going the extra mile to make you feeling at home and to fulfill almost every wish. Hard to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This was my third time that I had the luck to stay at Thabile Lodge. What can I say - Len and his staff are absolute professionals - but with that special family touch that makes you feel at home from the very first minute.
Absolute fantastic food with a stunning view over Swartberg Mountains, and the beds are just the best!
I hope to be there again soon and hopefully this time again with Family and/or friends.
Thank you so much!
Joe

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Thabile Lodge was a gem of a place to stay. No better place to unwind with excellent wine or our discovery here of Savannah cider mmmmm. Our service was superb - beyond 'the job' and our every need was catered to in a manner that was efficient but seemed relaxed. The food was superb -- special thumbs up for Norbert's veggie pizza :-) Len & Norbert became like old friends over the couple of days of our stay. The room were comfortable, clean and had the best shower ever; the grounds were beautiful with a lovely pool. A great place for pet owners missing their own animals at home, as Thabile has a host of canine & feline residents :-) We even left with our own copy of Susan Boyle's CD courtesy of Len, which became the soundtrack to the rest of our stay in South Africa. Can't say enough about this place and our hosts - lifelong memories from here

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hershellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

If you come to Oudtshoorn Thabile Lodge is a MUST! It seems to be the most peaceful, relaxing and beautiful place in the world. The host Len is just lovely. On arriving we received a very warm welcome from Len and Norbert (and the dogs Anabel, Coco, Thommy and two more), had a few cold drinks on the terrace, another drink in the Jacuzzi (also a great view from there) and finished the day with a delicious three course menue (Len's Bobotie is the best in South Africa!) along with a bottle of very good red wine.

Unfortunately, we only stayed for one night. We would have loved to stay longer (at least three nights) but the next hotel in Stellenbosch was already booked. When we said goodbye to Len and Norbert it felt like leaving friends behind - it was quite sad. We will definitely come back and stay at Thabile Lodge for a couple of nights.

If you read this, go straight to Thabile homepage, book a few nights and make sure to stay for dinner (ask Len about his special South African shot)!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidivp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

What a gem of a place, we stayed in 7 places in all on our honeymoon in South Africa and this is one of the most memorable place. What a wonderful find, we are so happy we made the detour off the garden route to Oudshoorn where we found waterfalls, Cango caves and the wonder Prince Albert pass but most of all we found accommodation at Thabile Lodge to be one unforgettable place. For us it was the shier beauty of the place and the owner, From the Lodges that are designed in a beautiful South African style, with the powerful showers and a bed you could sleep forever in.
We were arriving late, Being Irish we stopped for “one” Drink in a bar over an hour away, We rang to let Lenny know we would be very late and we would stop for food at a petrol station, only to be told by Lenny there was no need and he would be more than happy to cook for us,
When we arrive to Thablie lodge about 3 hours later in the dark we were greeted by Lenny and the lovely Nober. They served us an amazing 3 course meal with a lovely cool bottle of wine. We sat on the veranda wondering what we had done or ha to do.. (ha ha).. to be given such a lovely welcome.
And from there it only got better, each day we drove around Oudshoorn, (you’d need two days) and returned to swim in the pool each evening, chat with the animals while the boys went for a walk around the farm to see all the milking cows.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Wonderful lodge with nice rooms, great food, superb views on the mountains. There is even a jacuzzi and a sauna! Len is the perfect host, we had a blast with him!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulRdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
12.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
899 reviews
16.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
31.0 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
9.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $104 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing