We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil haven”
Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

WE had a wonderful stay with Len and his staff in September. We were participating in the Karoo to Coast and our children had to stay there for the day and had an absolute ball watching TV in the homely and comfy lounge and in the warm Jacuzzi. The view from the stoep is heaven and both dinner and breakfast was a treat. We felt welcomed like special family members. We will definitely return! Liezl Kritzinger (Durbanville, Cape Town)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liezl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 456 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Len and his team offer an amazing experience!
Nothing is to much trouble and they make you feel like you at home.
Comfortable rooms, beautiful views, charming company and exceptional food. We can't wait to return with our whole family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Thabile Lodge was so much more than what I was expecting. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean. The meals were delicious and portion sizes more than generous. The absolute highlight was the company of our hosts throughout the duration of our stay. We had such a fabulous time and will definitely find an excuse to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeidreR1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What an awesome stay. The accomodation was absolutely divine. Beautiful and spacious rooms,very warm atmosphere and friendly people is what you're after. The friendlyness of Len and the scrumptious food of Hennie and Arnold will want you to return. The butternut soup is to die for and the ostrich steak is sought after. If this is not enough, Garfield the very friendly cat will make you feel most welcome. Come to Thabile Lodge and experience Karoo hospitality and value for money. The pool is a welcome cool down for the very hot Karoo summers. The dirt road leading up to the caves are in very good condition and will have you at the caves in 40 minutes.

Room Tip: From all the rooms you experience a beautiful sunrise. Alll he units are far apart so no noise is re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What an amazing break away! We had the pleasure of staying with Len, Arnold, Hennie and the brood (especially Ben the basset, and garfield the cat) for 3 nights over the long weekend a few weeks back. From the moment we arrived, we were met with smiles, laughter and warmth! The lodge not only has a fanastically peaceful setting, but is gorgeous and its hosts make it memorable beyond words.
I think Len was slightly nervous when we arrived with our active 3 1/2 year old son (on his bike!), but what a joy! Every day they went out of their way to make him feel at home, and even went as far as to make him his very own "kiddie friendly" meals for brekkie and dinner.
As a family we loved every second, and would highly recommend a stay, whether it be as a stop over, a family holiday or a romantic getaway!
Len - you are a star, and we cant wait to get back to be spoilt in your beautiful lodge. No more self catering for me :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for one night in this amazing lodge and wished to stay more...Lenn, Hennie the Chef ,dogs and cat, made you feel at home from the beginning. The view is wonderful, the food (dinner and breakfast) is splendid. The rooms are simple but very well equipped for a cold winter night. We warmly recommend Thabile Lodge and are already planning our next visit…

Room Tip: Have Dinner!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were privileged enough to stay at this beautiful lodge on a recent trip to Oudtshoorn. The lodge is amazing on it’s own, but the staff really made the stay extra special! Len made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The view from the porch is really spectacular, and the 3 course dinner is a MUST try!!!

Whether alone or with your significant other I highly recommend a stay at this wonderful lodge!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lan759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
12.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
501 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
910 reviews
16.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
9.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
184 reviews
31.0 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $100 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing