We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always the best”
Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“As always the best”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a perfect stay at Thabile yet again. this must be our 20th visit never disapointed!
One need not look any further!
Great place we used as a base to tour the amazing klein Karroo. My son and I toured all over on our Adventure bikes, got to be the best way to travel. The nice thing about staying at Thabile is that it is perfectly situtated to get all the places and when you get back there is always a warm welcome great food and good wine.
Ian Meaker

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    33
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
213
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zwickau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Dear travelers,

if you want to stay in a lovely made lodge with owners which can make you lough, that you feel like almost dying than you have to visit this place! The side-effects are a Jacuzzi with a stunning view over the ,,Klein Karoo", very nice and clean rooms with everything inside you need (and for sure a nice view as well), really extraordinary good and self made food and on top a whole dog family you would like to adopt immediately ;-)

So enjoy your stay there, it is really an advantage!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at Thabile Lodge for two days and wished we could have stayed for longer. Our lodge was spacious and comfortable, decorated with simple charm and attention to detail from the choice of soaps to the individual welcome letter. Our host Len was unstintingly generous and the food cooked by Hennie was delicious. All the dogs and Garfield the cat made us feel at home. Every lodge, the garden and pool and jacussi and the stoop where we ate had stunning views of the red mountains of the Little Karoo and the rising sun. We will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2suffolkandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went together with my new husband and his family. They are all from germany but this was no problem! The Germans were well taken care of, and I have even some regional Afrikaans I could talk to!
It was beautifull, simple but beautifull. Very nice design and the food! Wow.....breakfast and the meals were fantastic!
Wonderfull views! A good place to drink a nice wine and watch the mountains and the sunset again and again!

Room Tip: All Rooms have the same cut. Those rooms further away from the main house, are ofcourse most exclude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefB523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

At the end of the season, again I had the pleasure of staying at Thabile Lodge. The lodge is centrally situated to comfortably visit all the attractions the area has to offer - yet away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The very gracious host Len makes one feel extremely welcome, whilst Hennie the chef spoils you with excellent cusine. The dogs and Garfield all add to a very homely and relaxed atmosphere - in fact - peace and harmony come to mind when thinking of Thabile Lodge. It's name: "Place of Happiness" is very abtly chosen and one is reluctant to leave at the end of a tour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincs
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Located well outside Oudtshoorn, this is a lovely, welcoming unpretentious place and we had two nights here staying in lodges in the garden. There is a nice outdoor pool with separate sauna, spa pool and small gym.
Bar and sitting room in main house, meals taken on the stoop with uninterrupted views, food excellent.
One very large cat, a parrot called Eric and several dogs for company along with Len your host.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same in twin cottages in the grounds, well spaced out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilaj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Went on the recommendation of a friend on the return journey from the Garden Route to Cape Town, and was very pleased. I was only there for one night, but if you really wanted to decompress and stay for longer it would be a great place. The setting is beautiful, and the dinner and breakfast outdoors on the covered veranda was delicious. Visitors from Europe and North America, so the crossing of cultures was great. The rooms are very nice, as there are only 2 per cottage. Thanks Len, for a great stay. David

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
12.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
22.7 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
12.5 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
894 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
860 reviews
10.6 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Property: Thabile Lodge
Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing