We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved”
Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“loved”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at Thabile for a couple of days. What a wonderful break from the city. I feel like a new person returning and also a bit like i left my family behind. Between Len, Ma Gertraud and Henny every guest is spoiled and looked after. The meals are top class and the best ostrich fillet i ever had! The rooms are spacious and comfy with aircons. The views and sunsets were beautiful and its a special place to be. I fell in love with the dogs and this is definately a place i would recommend and return too. Oh and then you leave with a clean washed car too!! Thanks everyone at Thabile!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    33
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
213
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
furness vale
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Len's last week for 2 nights and didn't want to leave. It's far from the madding crowds with the most amazing views of the mountains. You won't miss the bars and restaurants. Len has a great little bar on site and has an amazing young chef cooking for the guests. When you are there you simply MUST try the ostrich steak. We also loved the lemon meringue. So light. Yummy. Len is such a great host making sure all guests feel welcome. He has such a great sense of humour. He really had us all in stitches most of the time. We met some lovely and interesting people during our short stay thanks to Len who ensured we all interacted. We loved our cottage which was simply but tastefully furnished to complement the surroundings. Len, come and visit us in the Peak District if you come to visit your friends in Manchester.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozartova1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are having the most exquisite and pleasant stay in a family kind surrounding being cared for in a calm and wondereful way that reallly makes you feel at home. Warm and friendly Len and his team make you want to stay forever ! The rooms are very pleasant and well kept. Thank you for everything !

Room Tip: All rooms in separate houses are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigiitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for 3rd time with a group of blind guests at the Thabile Lodge and was once again amazed about the personal touch to detail from Len and his team. A place where one really feels home away from home. Warm, friendly atmosphere to unwind and chill in a beautiful surroundings.
Chalets are decorated in with individual paintings and have their own terrace.
Neat, clean, spacious room with aricon, TV, coffee and tea station, hairdryer.
Dinner was served at main house and Hennie - the chef - did a perfect job.
The bar is stocked well with a wide variaty of all sorts of drinks.
On day of arrival and departure whole team including the dogs and cats came to wave welcome and good bye. Len manages lodge with lots of passion and ensured we had an awesome time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

You are welcomed to Thabile by Len who provides a great welcome and equally as important - a nice cold beer! Immediately you have a sense of calm with the quiet surroundings and lovely pool area. The rooms are not extravagant but do not let this put you off. Each room is spacious and has been well designed and built by Len himself. The rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay and a good night sleep. Each room also has a fantastic view of the mountains which is a great sight first thing in the morning.
Most time is spent around the farm house and eating with Len and the other guests is recommended. This is a lovely relaxing place to stay and we will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

When they say - "Good things happen to those who waits patiently", they must be referring to the journey to Thabile Lodge.
It was a long drive to Oudtshoorn. We left Capetown at 9AM, and only arrived at about 4pm. After that long drive, as the GPS machine indicted that we are just 2km from Thabile Lodge, we came to a lil gravel road. From the experience we had driving in New Zealand, these kind of roads usually meant a risky short cut or a closed road. But we decided to trust the machine and braved through the bumpy road. After about 2km, there it stood serenely amongst the ostrich farms and majestic hills... Thabile Lodge. We were first greeted by a sweet old German lady that we dearly call her Ma. Next came Pepsi, a big dog with sweet trusting eyes and such gentle aura, I can't help but immediately reached down for a big hug.
As we settled down, Len, the owner and creator of this uniquely quaint lodge came with some juices and a slice of heavenly apple crumble and we started chatting away. As we got to know each other better, I was too distracted by more dogs coming out to greet us. Then... Came a hugeeeeeeeee big fat cat who looks exactly like Garfield, also named Garfield! How cute is that?!!?? I was immediately smitten with all the friendly trusting furkids Len has. There are 6 dogs in total living here, they are Ben, Annabelle, Clanky, Tommy, Coco and Pepsi. There is a also a nice lil pool with the view of the mountains, a Jacuzzi and a little gym area. I enjoyed some quiet time reading by the pool with Pepsi taking a nap beside me. This Lodge also comes equipped with a cosy living room for reading, and rustic looking bar and a gorgeous dining room. My favourite area is the outdoor dinning on the patio. There's a BBQ pit, and we had a braai that night. Len BBQed us some very delicious ostrich meat, lamb, chicken and some sausages too. Ma made a German potato salad and the most delicious dessert so far on this trip. Chocolate cinnamon brownie, the kind with some crust at the edges just the way I like it, served with ice cream! Dinner was superb in every way. The yummy tastings meat, the velvety smooth glass of red I had dessert and we capped it off with a shot of Springbok. A combination of peppermint liquor and amarula. An amazing sight that we were lucky enough to witness is the lil after dinner entertainment treat that the dogs put on for us. As Len stood up to clear our plates, all the furkids starts getting all excited and tailed him really closely in to the kitchen. My curiosity got better of me and I followed them, and there it was - 6 dogs sitting in a semi circle, staring up at Len with excitement. He the fed each one of them the bones from our plates and they munched silently. I noticed Clanky taking hers outside very protectively. Such a sweet sight. Another amazing observation is how Pepsi the big giant dogs is so caring towards Garfield the cat! They are like a pair of lil lovers! Thabile Lodge is something that I will label as a magical place. It was such a perfect place to stay, coming from Capetown where we had many full days of excursions, being here at Thabile Lodge gave us the opportunity to recuperate and recharge for the next city. The serene and peaceful ambiance, the friendly people, the good food, the pool, and most of all, the loving dogs - all these in itself already made our trip to South Africa seems so worth the money and time. Len, you should also pitch this lodge as a retreat for dog lovers! Will definitely want to come back here some day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaMayWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Råde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The most beautiful place. I fell in love with this place and the owner. There is an warm, and cosy mood here. You always feel welcome. The food is lovely.The view is amazing. Sunrise is worth getting up early for. Hope I will be back one time. Thank you Len.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buskeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
12.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
22.7 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
177 reviews
12.5 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
886 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
844 reviews
10.6 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Property: Thabile Lodge
Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing